5/30 Bisse AMPS 290

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bisse

Member Since 2014
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=119429

Yeah! Another nightwatch (5/28) with Bisse. And I am not being sarcastic! Nightwatch=good numbers.
Give me more sleepless nights, please.

5/28 AMPS 290
PMPS 279
+1 290
+2 227
+3 158
+6 74 went Down to 68 but went up fairly quickly without food.
+9 157

5/29 AMPS 347
+3 304
+6 331
+ 11 337
PMPS 335
+3 347

5/30 AMPS 290

Chris and Wendy, thanks for advice.
Wendy, I have reread your advice like 10 times, but am not sure I completely understand. (Not sure if I should continue previous thread or start with new numbers).

I agree with Chris on waiting a bit for the bounce to break to increase. That could either be 6 cycles or if you see a long string of blue then probably the bounce is gone and it's OK to increase. If Bisse doesn't come down into green again in those 6 cycles, I'd increase up to 2.75. Normally we don't like to hold onto a dose quite as long as you have. The goal is to get rid of those higher numbers on Bisse's SS and eventually get him spending as much time in normal numbers as possible. A little more juice will help get you there.

He did come down into green again in the 6 cycles (the 4th) and so I obviously won't increase yet. But as you say the goal is to get rid of the high numbers so I would think I should increase at some point. It seems right now he is showing blue or green every 3-4 cycle so maybe the increase in lowish numbers show his body is getting used to insulin/lower numbers and it will regulate itself and (magically) keep moving into better numbers?
On the other hand he had such a good run from 11-18 and then it stopped. The only change I can think of is that my husband went off on Holiday, but Bisse tends to ignore him, so I don't think he would pine....
So I am unsure of at what point to increase, because also as you say
we don't like to hold onto a dose quite as long as you have
.

I'll stop here because I am not even making sense of my thoughts :lol:
I'll post everyday and see how his numbers goes.

Greetings from Denmark with fantastic sunny weather, have a great hopefully green weekend, all.
 
Hi Helle, sorry no one got back to you earlier. It is good to see those occasional green numbers, but the goal is to get Bisse to spend a lot more time in healing green numbers. Sometimes adding a bit of insulin can help flatten out the higher numbers and get them some more green time. From the protocol sticky:
Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
Since you are seeing some green, and you've been more than 10 days since the first green, you can increase by .25U. I'd do the increase when you can monitor and be ready with high carb food and plenty of strips in case you need them. And print off a copy of the Handling Low Numbers sticky just in case you need it.

We don't like to do an increase while a bounce is breaking, because there can be some downward momentum that really drops the numbers. Waiting until you see a lower PS would be better.

One last note, I noticed on the World version of the SS you have some * in some of the entries. I presume that's when you are feeding? Those don't transfer over to the US version of the SS so you'll have to go over there and manually replace those entries.
 
Hi wendy
Thanks for clarification, it wasn't urgent like the low numbers kitties.
I started adding the feeding times because i saw it in another ss, but it became too complicated as the colours change where both numbers and * are added. So i'll just put it in comments instead.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top