5/30/20 - Gideon Blue - Still a VERY Colorful Chart!

Shiloh567

Member Since 2020
I was hoping for some better news on my Gideon, but this morning his BG was 570!!!! He did very well yesterday, and I was VERY surprised by this number. He is eating only wet foods with 9% carbs or less. His treats are Stella & Chewies both Cat treats & dog treats, CatManDo Flakes, or Life Essential Freeze Dried Chicken. I will not give up, but am wondering if I should increase him back to 1 unit. He is at 0.75 unit of Lantus twice daily now. I have to go to bed now (worked all night), but will try to wake at +2 to test him again. Should I remain steady for a few more cycles with 0.75 units BID, or increase to 1 unit BID now?
Thank you all.
 
I don’t think there’s any right or wrong answer here. You could wait a couple more cycles. I usually am conservative about in reading but I’d be inclined to go up to 1.0 now provided you can test more if needed. I don’t think you will see any big drops but he is a cat and they are unpredictable.
 
I am going to write my vet and tell him I am considering going back to 1 unit BID. He did tell me to hold steady at 0.75 units BID, but I think it has been long enough. I might do the increase in the AM tomorrow. 1 unit will certainly be easier to "eyeball". Gideon is doing well and getting to places (window seats, beds, and Hmmmm....counters). He is much more mobile than when he first had his left front leg amputated on April 10, 2020. Our days are filled with kisses and head butts from Gideon, when he is awake. Thank you!
 
Back
Top