? 5/3 Yum first lime green advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

MJW

Member Since 2017
Yum has just had her first lime green at AMPS + 6: 65 on an Alpha trak 2. I encouraged her to eat some extra food. I will test her again in 1 hour. (Is that too long? Not in my opinion, but please let me know if others disagree.)
I will have to decide whether or not to give her a dose decrease at her PM shot.
She doesn't always repeat lows as she goes through 10 cycles of a new dose.
If she falls more this afternoon I will certainly decrease back to 4.25u.
If 65 is an isolated point, I will be tempted to keep her at 4.5u. I did read one sticky recently that said to test the limit 3 times before doing a dose decrease.
 
What kind of food did you give her? At least at the +6 she may already be on the up-swing. I would test in at least 30 minutes (though, maybe check in 20). You just want to make sure she isn't still falling.
 
I gave her Fancy Feast low carb Turkey and Giblets pate. I will add honey if she has dropped further in 30 minutes.
 
I agree-- don't wait an hour to test if she's already at lime green. Have the high carb (or, as you say, the added honey!) at the ready-- technically, the drop into the lime green should have been an automatic trigger on that, but since she's had the pate already, let's wait and see what she has in mind for the rest of the day!
 
You need to test in 20 minutes after the last test. As a newly diagnosed diabetic a .25 reduction has been earned when using AT. Congrats.
 
She came up from 65 to 66 (AlphaTrak2) after 30 minutes. I gave her some old HC food from the cupboard---the stuff that probably made her diabetic in the first place.
I will check her again in 60 minutes, since the gradient was flat---unless you folks say 30 minutes. She has no symptoms--she was stalking a lizard when I told her we needed to do another test.
A dose decrease this evening! Very emotional milestone.
 
Okay. 74 at AMPS+7.3. Turned the corner. Thanks for the quick response support!
 
Great! Now you want to see if she can hold those numbers without food. It's kinda late in the cycle, but she hasn't moved a lot even with the LC snack and the HC she just got, so you want to stay vigilant and keep testing for a little while. Sometimes when kitties request a dose reduction, they do it emphatically!
 
66 @ AMPS +8. alphatrak 2
Darn. Just started a teleconference. She refused more HC food.
 
139 at AMPS+9. She shot up in the last hour. Maybe I overdid the carbs? At least I can exhale.
I picked the hi carb stuff up off the floor and gave her freeze dried chicken as a post test treat.
She is a bit tired maybe, but nothing dramatic.
And a dose decrease this evening. She will probably bounce high.
 
She has come back down to 115 at AMPS + 10. I guess, as I have read, the Karo syrup boost is short lived.
 
She's still in safe numbers, though, so that's good! And there's not much difference between 139 and 115, really (esp. considering meter variance), so she's not plummeting down or anything.
 
And PMPS + 2 is 124. If she was still 101 or lower I was going to feed the curve with some MC food, but maybe she has already started a bounce.
She did catch and eat a lizard about a half an hour earlier, but I doubt it was sweet.
I will check one more time for a +3 or +3.5.
Thanks to everyone for "talking" me through her first lime green. I can read the instructions over and over but when it finally happens it's hard to stay calm.
And thanks to Yum for reporting to our test station each time I asked today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top