5/3 Kasha AMPS 455 PMPS 285 +2.5 ~ 106 Dose question

Status
Not open for further replies.

kryskat

Very Active Member
She ate well this morning - breakfast in bed (my bed). Not sure why she's so high except I could have flubbed the shot last night. I didn't think I did, but I'm not sure of anything any more.

Yesterday's Condo
 
Re: 5/3 Kasha AMPS 455 PMPS 285

Dinner - not as hungry as the AM, but still ate enough that I'm not stressed about it. Trying to let her nibble at her own pace after the syringe feeding of last week. She was hiding behind the couch when I came home from work today - I heard her hiss. She saw me and looked relieved. Not sure if it's because my dad stopped up to drop some stuff off for me and she still can't deal with anyone else here when I'm not home or what. She chilled out pretty well when I settled in on the couch. If only my other 2 were doing as well :( She doesn't hear that well anymore and that just makes things worse, I think. She lives with 2 deaf cats, but apparently they're not giving her any advice.
 
Re: 5/3 Kasha AMPS 455 PMPS 285 +2.5 ~ 106

Ok - so when my DPS were watching Kasha, their instructions were to give skinny .5 if over 250, .25 if between 150 and 250 and to skip a shot if under 150. A few times she was low (100 or under) at preshot and they skipped the shot. So - what if she is low at preshot and I have to go to work? Do I reduce the shot or what? I know this is asked all the time, but I leave for work early enuf that often no one is really online to ask at that time, so I'm asking in advance...
 
Re: 5/3 Kasha AMPS 455 PMPS 285 +2.5 ~ 106

Glad to see some blue again... but I'm afraid I'm no help with your dose question. I CAN tell you that you don't want to be changing the dose frequently, but I can understand you wanted the DPS to have some guidelines. If you edit your first post and add "dose question" to your subject it might grab someone that can help with that.
 
Thanks. The DPS instructions were from people here, I didn't make that up on my own :) I'm glad they were checking, since I don't think I'd want her to get a full dose when she was under 100 at preshot with no one to check on her cuz she was hiding and attacking when anyone came to look for her.
 
You have a couple of options if you get an unexpectedly low pre-shot number.

• Stall and retest in 15 min intervals without feeding
• a reduced or big chicken sh*t (BCS) dose (approx. half of the regular dose)
• Skip the dose
It’s best to not stall and give BCS dose since this depletes the shed.

You will routinely see people here post green PS numbers and shoot. They have the data to support their doing this. What is key is that you are data ready. Jill's sticky, on becoming data ready, will help you to understand what the general guidelines are so you can build your SS and be data ready.

As an example of PS issues, If one morning you get a low PS number my guess is that you would be unsure what to do (and if it were a 90, after we picked you up off the floor, and if you were anything like me when I got my first low PS number, you'd panic!). What we would probably ask you to do would be to delay the shot, not feed, and retest in 15 min. increments until we knew that the number was heading up, rather than down. Ordinarily, we would expect that the number should be heading up since it's the end of the cycle. You have to remember that you're dealing with a cat -- a being that is, but its very nature, unpredictable and who wants to keep you on your toes and who does not play by the rules. (Gabby refused to read the dosing protocols!)
 
Yeah - but the problem is, I can't retest in 15 minute increments if I have to go to work. I might get 1 15 minute increment (possibly 2, but not now since I've missed so much work lately). I test her in the morning after I've gotten her to eat at least most of her breakfast (that takes about 20 min at least lately). Then I can shoot and get ready for work. But there's not a lot of wiggle room timewise if her number is low. Yes, I realize I could just get up earlier, but I get so little sleep as it is, that's not really an option. I guess I could just try the BCS dose if it happens soon.

Do you take your preshot value before feeding?

I'm just trying to figure this out before it happens because I've got a lot on my mind right now. Coming back from vacation to 2 cats that may need to be put down in the coming months or sooner. Not good.
 
No problem. You have the options laid out and you have to select on what works for Kasha as well as your situation. Weekdays may be different than weekends. In addition, I wanted you to have the info in case you posted in the AM and no one was around immediately.

A BCS dose, depending on where Kasha's numbers are, may be your best option. You do not have to go with giving half the dose. There are times when a token dose to keep something in the shed is the best option. It all depends on where the numbers are. As you get more data, you will be better able and more confident about shooting low numbers.

I test, feed and then shoot. Actually, feeding and shooting are simultaneous. Gabby's head is in her dish when I shoot.

Oh Krys, I hope that's not the case with your two other cats. I do hope they rally. It's hard when you have kitties who depend on you and any disruption in their routine can be a set back.
 
I see a +3~88 on your spreadsheet, and I see that you fed (good!). Please test again at +4 to be sure the food helped kick Kasha on her surfboard. :smile:
 
Thanks for the info, Sienne - appreciate it. Other 2 cats are not doing so well - one has a tumor on his "heel" and I have an appt with a specialist next week to see if amputation is an option at his weight (14 - 16 lbs) and age (14). If not (and I'm not sure I want to put him thru that), there aren't many other options for him - the tumor is necrotic and it's beyond my ability to treat at home now. His brother started failing around the same time they diagnosed the tumor on the other kitty. After many tests, we still don't know why he is fading away and I just can't face putting him thru much more. So, a lot on my plate with the kitties right now.

Thanks Libby - Kasha was up to 140 at her +4, acting fine and ready for bed (or is that me?).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top