5/3 Frodo BG Update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nancey

Member Since 2012
I was shocked this morning, Frodo has been in the mid 200's - 300's since I started using this ReliOn monitor, 5/2 AMPS was 313, PMPS was 249, gave 1u both times, at 11pm he was sitting at 167 and then this morning he was at 149 (no shot given). I have updated his SS and also put a note in the remarks column about his feeding schedule. So maybe he did bounce? This is the first time I have seen him with a number below 150, so hoping it holds. I will check him as soon as I get home at 3pm, and I will run a few more checks tonight since I don't have to work at my other job.

After running a test on myself between the One Touch and the Relion I feel better about these two units, there was only a 1 point difference in the read. I really like the ReliOn since it uses half the amount of blood that the TrueResult/Test used. It makes it so much easier for Frodo and I am not wasting test strips.
 
This all looks like good news, Nancey. Did you skip the am shot or are you waiting and checking again? If you skip, be prepared for a high pmps, but don't react to it with a higher dose.
 
Sue,

I did skip the am dose, I had to come to work so did not want to risk anything. I will be checking him as soon as I get home at 3pm. So based on what Cathy said if he is high on his PM check maybe drop down to the low dose (.2u) and start all over again? Does that sound reasonable?

How often do cats "bounce"? Do we know why they "bounce" or have a thought about it?

Nancey
 
Let's see where he is. Certainly a reduction as you got an amps too low to shoot.

A bounce is when a kitty's body experiences lower blood glucose levels than it has become used to. So it releases some extra sugar to "combat" the lower numbers. So you get an artificially inflated number - a reaction to the recent low number. The theory is that once they get used to the lower ranges, they quit reacting. (very unscientific explanation). Some cats bounce for a long time - there was one Lantus cat that basically bounced for 2 years (but is now OTJ). Cassie (bookworm) is a chronic PZI bouncer. Some cats bounce one cycle or are flat for the cycle after a low, and that is it. It's that &@$? ECID thing.
 
You were right his PMPS was 355. I did like you said and did not freak out. I gave him .2 units and plan to test him at +2, +4, and +6 if I can stay up long enough. I will post numbers to my SS as I get them and will check back at +4 unless +2 is really off the wall.

Thanks so much for all your help
Nancey
 
Not bad at all, Nancey, when you consider he hasn't had any insulin since the shot 24 hours ago. Any numbers you can get will be great.
 
Okay, WOW! His PMPS was 355, I gave him 1/2 can of food and .2u using the U100 syringe and at +2 he was 301 gave him treat, freeze dried salmon and 1/4 can of food, now at +4 he is 197. He will get the rest of the can for bedtime. I have been given him one can of Merrick B4 Grain in the morning/early daytime and 1 can broken out over the evening, basically when he wants it. By morning he is usually ready for his breakfast.

I have an odd question, at 355 he was really noisy (meowing alot) and hungry, as the numbers drop so does the meowing he seems more calm. Not sure that makes sense, but right now he is just lying in the floor happy and not talking up a storm and his BG is sitting at 197. So the question are diabetic cats more restless (for lack of a better word) or are they hungry? This guy has been hungry all his life, at 4 months old he weighed 8lbs, and that was coming out of the streets eating bugs, spiders and whateve else he could find. I use to thing he would out grow it but it has been 8 years and that has yet to happen.
 
Most likely the screaming at PMPS was "Mom!!!!! I'm HUNGRY!!!!". Sometimes they will act like that when their numbers go too low (too low is relative...it depends on what he feels is "too low"), like they know food will bring up their numbers. I don't remember Bob acting restless much when he was on insulin.

My two just cry for food every time I walk into the kitchen, even if they ate an hour ago. They know where the food is stashed, and I guess they think I have no short term memory? They are both gluttons and would eat every hour if I let them. If I ignore them, they'll eventually go off and sulk until the next time I walk into the kitchen!

Carl
 
Carl,

That is probably all it is, like I said he has always been a food hound. He figures everytime I leave and come back he is suppose to get a treat. And he know where they are located, always has. He still to this day will eat a bug in a heart beat if he catches it, especially a fly. Disgusting!!!
I think you are right, I think they believe we don't have short term memory and maybe they can con us into giving them more. They are really good at sulking aren't they. Frodo goes under the bed and either gives me the silent treatment or he the pitiful little meows. It can be so funny sometimes.

Frodo is one of 6 that own me, he is by far the most talkiest cat I have ever been around. My petsitter use to say Frodo would tell her everything that had gone on since the last time she was there because he would start the minute she walked through the door.

Got to love these critters, they are Gods special little gift to those of us that are willing to be owned by them.

Nancey
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top