? 5/3 Bijoux AMPS 266 / +7 88 / Question on SLGS dosing

Brittanyb5353

Member Since 2020
Hi all! Bijoux is doing well and I hope all of you and your kitties are having a lovely weekend!

Have a question regarding dosing using the SLGS method as I'm a bit confused what to do next. Yesterday I reduced Bijoux's dosage to 0.25u twice daily as she had an 85 two days prior and I missed the point in the SLGS method that called out if they have a nadir less than 90 to reduce immediately (oops, now reading more carefully and thanking Elise @tiffmaxee for the guidance!!), she seems to be doing well on the new dose and today would be the 2nd day.

Around +7 today she was at 88 (can see on her spreadsheet) - does this now mean I need to reduce the dose further? Or stick at 0.25u for tonights shot and reduce tomorrow? When I do decrease would it be to 0.1u (otherwise per the protocol it would be 0...?)

Appreciate any insights and advice!

Warmly
Britt
 
Since you just decreased the prior depot could be in play. Back to back reductions usually don’t work out. I’d hold this dose if she were my cat.

I didn’t get your tag. Weird.

Bear in mind normal BG on a human meter is 50-120. When cats go off insulin they are in almost all green numbers first. Her next dose will be 0.1 if you decide to take the reduction.
 
Last edited:
Since you just decreased the prior depot could be in play. Back to back reductions usually don’t work out. I’d hold this dose if she were my cat.

I didn’t get your tag. Weird.
Thank you! I think I gave around/close to .25 it’s so hard to tell with the fine doses, she seems to be doing well but I’ll hold this dose for a bit.

And weird the tag didn’t work hmmm. Glad you saw this though, hope you’re having a good weekend!
 
Back
Top