5/29 Ann & Maggie PMPS 120

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
i'm so glad you didn't shoot tonight!
happy to hear everything went smoothly today and hope maggie heals quickly...

Thanks Jill. I am so glad, too, once I saw how she dropped. I checked her two more times during the night as follows:

+6 104
+9 115

Now I'm wondering if I should give her a reduced dose of .25 instead of the normal fat .50. I'm going to check her again in two hours. This would be my normal shoot time. I'll see what others have to say. I gave her a 2nd dose of pain meds, as it instructs me to give every 8 hours for two days. She's sleepy this morning, and I guess that's to be expected the next day after anesthesia. She did perk up when I was doing the ear prick, as she knows she gets some baby food as a reward. There is no problem with her appetite.

Yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=15702
 
Re: 5/29 Ann & Maggie +6 104; +9 115 Question on dose

Wow that's a pretty nice drop all on her own (without insulin)! I see you are recoving from a dental, is she eating ok? Sometimes the anesthesia and meds make thier BG a little whacky, plus eating less means less insulin, but I would say prior to the dental her numbers look really good! With clean teeth and a healthy mouth I don't think you'll be at this much longer *ant-jinx!

With numbers like this you don't need to worry to much about getting back on track with the dose. You may discover that after the surgery and meds wear off less insulin will be needed than before. I don't know how much you are dependant on keeping a certain schedule, but I would say hold off on giving anything until you see it's starting to rise (assuming she is eating etc.) then you can start up again and determine at which dose (the .5U you were on before, or slightly less).
 
Re: 5/29 Ann & Maggie +6 104; +9 115 Question on dose

Monique & Spooky said:
Wow that's a pretty nice drop all on her own (without insulin)! I see you are recoving from a dental, is she eating ok? Sometimes the anesthesia and meds make thier BG a little whacky, plus eating less means less insulin, but I would say prior to the dental her numbers look really good! With clean teeth and a healthy mouth I don't think you'll be at this much longer *ant-jinx!

With numbers like this you don't need to worry to much about getting back on track with the dose. You may discover that after the surgery and meds wear off less insulin will be needed than before. I don't know how much you are dependant on keeping a certain schedule, but I would say hold off on giving anything until you see it's starting to rise (assuming she is eating etc.) then you can start up again and determine at which dose (the .5U you were on before, or slightly less).

Thanks so much Monique and Spooky for those encouraging words. She's eating really well, much better than pre-dental, so that tooth must have really been bothering her. That all makes sense with the dose. I'm going to test again her again in an hour or so. She has been doing really well for a long time on just .50 unit.
 
Re: 5/29 Ann & Maggie +6 104; +9 115 Question on dose

Nice numbers for Mggue...glad she is doing so well! I bet that tooth was really bothering here....
So happy for youz...
 
Re: 5/29 Ann & Maggie +6 104; +9 115 Question on dose

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Nice numbers for Mggue...glad she is doing so well! I bet that tooth was really bothering here....
So happy for youz...

Thanks Pat. It was when I took her in for an exam and they diagnosed the UTI that he discovered the tooth was bad. I guess I should brush her teeth more often. She really won't let me get inside her mouth with the brush, but I can do it with my finger. I'm going to buy one of the finger brushes.
 
Re: 5/29 Ann & Maggie +6 104; +9 115 Question on dose

it's great that Maggie had surgery and no insulin and *still* kept her numbers so flat and pretty. :mrgreen:

If she were my cat, I would probably stay with the 0.5 since it's a weekend (if you're home to test a few extra times, that is). I bet she'll be needing a reduction soon, though.
 
Re: 5/29 Ann & Maggie +6 104; +9 115 Question on dose

Libby and Lucy said:
it's great that Maggie had surgery and no insulin and *still* kept her numbers so flat and pretty. :mrgreen:

If she were my cat, I would probably stay with the 0.5 since it's a weekend (if you're home to test a few extra times, that is). I bet she'll be needing a reduction soon, though.

Thanks Libby. I am surprised, too, how great she is doing on no insulin! The 0.5 is around her normal dose. I guess if she goes too low on this dose, I have plenty of hc to feed her.
 
Re: 5/29 Ann & Maggie +9 115; AMPS 132 Question on dose

She did rise, but I had to give her a small portion food with her antibiotic. It wasn't that much, and it was over an hour ago. Do you think .05 is still a good dose or maybe a skinny .05? Do they continue to drop the 2nd day after the anesthesia?
 
Re: 5/29 Ann & Maggie +9 115; AMPS 132 Question on dose

I think either dose would be fine, do whatever makes you comfortable. :smile:
 
Re: 5/29 Ann & Maggie +9 115; AMPS 132 Question on dose

Hi Ann!! So glad it's over!!--You will find the numbers changing once all that gunk & bacteria is out of their mouths--It makes a whole world of difference!!--Also it is good that you fed before ab's-Girl you are doing everything right!--
I listen to Libby, but really there's not much difference between a sk 0.5 and a 0.5, so if the skinny makes you feel better---
Maggie did great & is looking really wonderful--This was just what she needed!(even though we get so scared by those dentals!!)
 
Re: 5/29 Ann & Maggie +9 115; AMPS 132 Question on dose

Okay, many thanks Libby. Since I'll be home, except for running out for take out (see Kasha's thread), I may return to the .05. She's up now from her nap and looking for food.
 
Re: 5/29 Ann & Maggie +9 115; AMPS 132 Question on dose

Roni and Moonie said:
Hi Ann!! So glad it's over!!--You will find the numbers changing once all that gunk & bacteria is out of their mouths--It makes a whole world of difference!!--Also it is good that you fed before ab's-Girl you are doing everything right!--
I listen to Libby, but really there's not much difference between a sk 0.5 and a 0.5, so if the skinny makes you feel better---
Maggie did great & is looking really wonderful--This was just what she needed!(even though we get so scared by those dentals!!)

Thanks so much Roni. I'm so surprised; I didn't expect her to be doing so well with her bg. Yes, it's amazing, as I can already see a big difference in her eating. Yes, I did a .05 since I'll be home to monitor, and this is Libby's advice. I'm a real chicken when I see her #'s dropping.
 
Re: 5/29 Ann & Maggie +9 115; AMPS 132

cat-brush.jpg



teeheeeheeeheee!!! :lol:
Wouldn't it be great if they could brush their teeth?

:lol:
 
Re: 5/29 Ann & Maggie +9 115; AMPS 132

teeheeeheeeheee!!!
Wouldn't it be great if they could brush their teeth?

Hi Ronnie & Luna,
:lol: That kitty is so adorable. Yes, if only...I have a cat brush, but there's no way she'll let me brush her teeth, so next thing will be finger brush. Have a nice weekend.
 
Re: 5/29 Ann & Maggie +9 115; AMPS 132

That kitty is so adorable. Yes, if only...I have a cat brush, but there's no way she'll let me brush her teeth, so next thing will be finger brush. Have a nice weekend.

After that you might not have a finger! Holy crap, one time I looked inside Socks' mouth and it was like a shark. Lots of little needles, I think I would rather stick my head in a lions mouth than my finger in there!
 
Re: 5/29 Ann & Maggie +9 115; AMPS 132

After that you might not have a finger! Holy crap, one time I looked inside Socks' mouth and it was like a shark. Lots of little needles, I think I would rather stick my head in a lions mouth than my finger in there![/quote]

:lol: I know; they can do some damage with those teeth. So far I've been able to pill her okay except one time she gave me a nick; she was paying me back for all the ear pricks!
 
Re: 5/29 Ann & Maggie AMPS 132; +4 83

+4 83

She did take a dive from this morning. Her appetite is still good! I will keep watching her thru the day.
 
Re: 5/29 Ann & Maggie AMPS 132; +4 83; +7 100

Maggie didn't stay in the green very long, probably my fault. I got a little worried she might drop too low, so I just added a tiny amount of gravy from another FF onto her lc FF! She just got up from another nap.
 
Re: 5/29 Ann & Maggie AMPS 132; +4 83; +7 100

no big deal. don't be concerned about giving her the gravy. it sounds like she's doing really well!
 
PMPS 120

It looks like Maggie's numbers are back to normal as in pre dental surgery. It's a beautiful day here, and my patio faces west, so she's enjoying her sunbathing.
Have a good weekend everyone.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top