5/26 Spaz-AMPS 104/PMPS 86

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela

Member Since 2015
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-25-spaz-amps-83-pmps-176.138420/

Almost forgot to give Spaz his insulin this morning and was about to pull away in my car when I remembered! I'm off the rest of the week after today so plan on doing another curve Thursday now that his levels are dropping again :).

I also plan on calling the vet to inquire about his teeth. When I first brought him in the vet mentioned that a few of his teeth should come out. He said they'd look at doing it once his diabetes was stabilized, but didn't mention it once he was regulated and there has been no contact from the vet since.

I can't help but wonder if his bad teeth are contributing to his high BG. If this is the case would it be more difficult to get his levels lower with insulin? He seems to drop into the blues and greens easily when I am not stupid and mess with his dosage (this past week has been the only time I have skipped or reduced his dose-won't be doing that anymore!) If it's because of his teeth would the levels stay high generally?
 
Hi. I think this is my first time at your condo. There have been several cats here that have gone OTJ after getting dentals. Bad teeth can lead to more problems in other areas too and you don't want an emergency. I'd check into getting the dental done as long as there aren't any other health issues such as CKD.
 
He had a full blood panel done when he was diagnosed and his kidneys are good-no other health issues were found by the vet thankfully. I'll definitely check in with the vet this weekend and find out about getting his dental done soon! Thanks for your comment :D
 
He had a full blood panel done when he was diagnosed and his kidneys are good-no other health issues were found by the vet thankfully. I'll definitely check in with the vet this weekend and find out about getting his dental done soon! Thanks for your comment :D

That's great. Then all the more reason to have the dental and hope it will take him OTJ!
 
Very true! I plan on contacting my vet this weekend to see what they think about his teeth. Spaz has been having some lovely numbers over the past couple of days. Hoping the blues and greens will remain a consistent trend :).
 
I'd second the comments about the dental. If he has enough problems that the vet can tell it during a regular appointment, it's pretty likely it's going to be worse when Spaz is under anesthesia and they can get a good look.

Dentals can make a difference in getting a cat's blood sugar regulated.
 
Yes, the vet said just by looking at them that they should come out-I'm just surprised that if it needed to be done that it was never followed up with me after we got Spaz's diabetes under control.
The other thing I am curious about is if his teeth are affecting his blood sugar, would it not be more challenging to get his BG down as nice and low as it has been the last few days? I'd expect his BG to be much higher or more all over the place if it was dental related.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top