5/26 MILO AMPS 205 +2 194 +6 164 +10 112 PMPS 77 low again

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bebe Kaye

Member Since 2013
Miley's been a little not himself today, he doesn't seem to be as intensely interested in his food as he usually is, he's still eating what is offered (though he's not demanding as much as usual). He's been drinking a little more also, but that's to be expected with his CKD, hopefully when I start the subq's on Thursday it will help him.

Again in the afternoon, Milo's numbers dropped, I did a spot check at +8 (144) saw it was dropping instead of rising so did another at +10 (112), he had a little food at +10 but after being told about the no food 2 hours before the PMPS test, i've started that. I got a little shock at his PMPS finding it at only 77...his curve seems to be going upside down.

I'm doing some checks now to see if it starts rising, so I can give him his shot, again with numbers this low, I will most likely only shoot 1 unit again. His low numbers during the night are scaring me, a lot of the time due to medications, I am unable to sit up with him...but then like last night, I had a terrible night so was able to get up a few times to check him.

This is really confusing me, why on earth are his numbers so low lately! If only he could tell me what's wrong :YMSIGH:.

Oh well another day I guess, Hope everyone has had the most splendiferous of days and the kitty cats are all furry, purry and doing well!

Bebe and Milo

EDIT: Oh and because I was out getting the DH from work, my daughter did his PMPS test and when she saw the low numbers gave him a tin of high carb food :roll:, so now his numbers will most likely be food elevated which will make things difficult. Looks like I need to retrain the whole family!
 
Re: 5/26 MILO AMPS 205 +2 194 +6 164 +10 112 PMPS 77 low aga

Good Evening in Australia :)

Here's the link to your condo from yesterday, so we can find it easily: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=96073

I think you did fine to do the BCS dose of 1.00 on the 77 PS test especially since it is a dropping number, your DD already fed HC and you have difficulty stalling because of your schedule, and because you may not be able to stay up well to test throughout the night. Can you do at +1 and a +2, to start with to see how his evening cycle is going? I would also like to see a test at about +3 as the HC fed at PMPS should be wearing off by then.

I normally only feed HC if my cat is diving down fast and I want to slow the dive, or if he goes into dose reducing territory like below 50. I would suggest feeding small meals of LC for now, and lets see how he is doing once the HC wears off.

My kitty is early CKD and gets his 1/4 Pepcid BID. I agree with Sienne to check with your vet to make sure it's okay.
 
Re: 5/26 MILO AMPS 205 +2 194 +6 164 +10 112 PMPS 77 low aga

Maybe you can use a sharpie pen and write reminder notes on them as when they should be used. ;-) Good luck with everything!
 
Re: 5/26 MILO AMPS 205 +2 194 +6 164 +10 112 PMPS 77 low aga

Mary and Stella said:
Maybe you can use a sharpie pen and write reminder notes on them as when they should be used. ;-) Good luck with everything!

Mary's idea is a great one. I did wrote carb amounts on them in the beginning, but labeling every can was over the laziness hurdle for me :lol:

I have Leo (FD) and Molly (CKD).

I have bins in my pantry with big labels (written with a big sharpie!):
"Molly & Leo LC" - all stuff low carb and low protein either cat can eat
"Molly & Leo MC" - low protein and medium carb for Molly, or for surfing Leo
"Molly & Leo HC" - low protein and high carb for Molly, or really steering Leo
"Leo Only LC" - low carb stuff that's too high protein for Molly
"Leo Only MC" - medium carb (surfing food) that's too high protein for Molly

I know that seems like a lot of bins, but they aren't big and I periodically dump cans into each and mix them up. Then DH doesn't have to think and we don't have to dig in times of stress.

[Edited to add] I realize I didn't quite answer your question. We already had a sheet describing what food to use when, and DH sent me a text if he was particularly concerned like was the case for you last night. We did a couple stalls and shoot/no shoot via text messages when I went away once. I was helping him surf Leo while I was in a movie theater out of state with family. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 5/26 MILO AMPS 205 +2 194 +6 164 +10 112 PMPS 77 low aga

Milo's numbers may be in lower ranges because his pancreas is healing. It's quite possible that the change to lower carb food is making a major contribution to lowering his BG numbers.

Given that you're having to consistently shoot a reduced dose, I'm wondering if it makes sense for you to lower Milo's dose. Lantus tends to work best if you are giving the same dose at each shot time. I'm thinking that a dose of 1.5u may be worth trying.
 
Re: 5/26 MILO AMPS 205 +2 194 +6 164 +10 112 PMPS 77 low aga

Mary and Stella said:
Maybe you can use a sharpie pen and write reminder notes on them as when they should be used. ;-) Good luck with everything!

That might work if I stick it to their foreheads!!! :lol:

But seriously, that is a really great idea, I can put up a list of numbers and what to do if i'm not around, thanks so much for that idea!!

Lisa & Leo said:
Mary and Stella said:
Maybe you can use a sharpie pen and write reminder notes on them as when they should be used. ;-) Good luck with everything!

Mary's idea is a great one. I did wrote carb amounts on them in the beginning, but labeling every can was over the laziness hurdle for me :lol:

I have Leo (FD) and Molly (CKD).

I have bins in my pantry with big labels (written with a big sharpie!):
"Molly & Leo LC" - all stuff low carb and low protein either cat can eat
"Molly & Leo MC" - low protein and medium carb for Molly, or for surfing Leo
"Molly & Leo HC" - low protein and high carb for Molly, or really steering Leo
"Leo Only LC" - low carb stuff that's too high protein for Molly
"Leo Only MC" - medium carb (surfing food) that's too high protein for Molly

I know that seems like a lot of bins, but they aren't big and I periodically dump cans into each and mix them up. Then DH doesn't have to think and we don't have to dig in times of stress.

[Edited to add] I realize I didn't quite answer your question. We already had a sheet describing what food to use when, and DH sent me a text if he was particularly concerned like was the case for you last night. We did a couple stalls and shoot/no shoot via text messages when I went away once. I was helping him surf Leo while I was in a movie theater out of state with family. ohmygod_smile

I'm still trying to work out the food situation, and trying to find the low protein and relatively lower carbs food to deal with the FD and CKD, I went out and bought the fancy feast pate and it's what sent his sugar through the roof on the 20th and 21st...I had seen it on the list as low carb, but maybe the recipe is different here or my cat is just a freak ;-) . When he was first diagnosed I followed the vet's advice and bought a huge tray of a prescription diabetic food, everytime Miley ate it, his sugar went through the roof...when I fed him his old food, his levels came down to a great level. I don't know what to make of him! The food I have him on at the moment isn't too great, but he's showing low numbers so it mustn't be too bad. I just want him to keep eating, the vet told me that starvation kills most cats with CKD, but then that was my old vet and I now can't be sure that anything he told me was right :?.

:YMSIGH: I'll just keep struggling through, I went to bed and got a whole hour sleep! grumpy_cat
On the plus side, I got to take over Miley's BG tests, his numbers are right down
+1 83
+2 92
+3 95
+4 77
EEEEEEK!!!

I've been giving him small meals of the gravy fancy feast, i'd hate to think what he'd be at without it...these numbers scare me! After last night, I had dropped Miley's AM shot to 1.5, I hope his numbers stop going so low...I really need sleep! :lol:
Sienne and Gabby said:
Milo's numbers may be in lower ranges because his pancreas is healing. It's quite possible that the change to lower carb food is making a major contribution to lowering his BG numbers.

Given that you're having to consistently shoot a reduced dose, I'm wondering if it makes sense for you to lower Milo's dose. Lantus tends to work best if you are giving the same dose at each shot time. I'm thinking that a dose of 1.5u may be worth trying.

Agreed! I did an AM shot of 1.5 (yes i'm chicken after him being so low the night before), so I will keep that and see if his numbers regulate and stop bottoming out. He worries me so much, I REALLY don't want another hypo like the other morning...how is it even possible to have a hypo at 83!



Thank you for taking the time to post. I hope everyone's day/night has been beyond brilliant and the Kitty cats are awesome!

Bebe and Miley
 
Re: 5/26 MILO AMPS 205 +2 194 +6 164 +10 112 PMPS 77 low aga

Bebe Kaye said:
I'm still trying to work out the food situation, and trying to find the low protein and relatively lower carbs food to deal with the FD and CKD, I went out and bought the fancy feast pate and it's what sent his sugar through the roof on the 20th and 21st...I had seen it on the list as low carb, but maybe the recipe is different here or my cat is just a freak ;-) . When he was first diagnosed I followed the vet's advice and bought a huge tray of a prescription diabetic food, everytime Miley ate it, his sugar went through the roof...when I fed him his old food, his levels came down to a great level. I don't know what to make of him! The food I have him on at the moment isn't too great, but he's showing low numbers so it mustn't be too bad. I just want him to keep eating, the vet told me that starvation kills most cats with CKD, but then that was my old vet and I now can't be sure that anything he told me was right :?.

I have 2 cats, one FD and the other CKD and I don't want to deal with feeding them separate foods. I shared this list over in Zeus's condo the other day - these cans are on the low end in both carbs and proteins and the calories come more heavily from fats. You might find something on this list - these are our main foods. I can't make these numbers line up in columns. The three columns are PROTEIN, FAT and CARBS.

Fancy Feast Protein Fat Carbs
Savory Salmon Feast Classic 38 61 1
Turkey & Giblet Feast Classic 39 58 3
Chopped Grille Feast Classic 39 57 4

Wellness Protein Fat Carbs
Turkey Formula 31 65 4
Beef & Chicken Formula 31 65 4
Beef, Venison and Lamb Core 34 61 5
Salmon & Trout Formula 27 65 8

Evo Protein Fat Carbs
Chicken and Turkey 25 73 2
Beef 29 67 4
Venison 30 65 6
Duck 26 70 5

I'm not sure which FF pate you fed, but many of us have noticed that flavors containing chicken seem to bump the BGs more than the written carb% value would suggest. I would generally save FF Chicken Pate when I wanted to bump Leo's numbers just a tad. Milo's numbers are looking terrific!
 
Re: 5/26 MILO AMPS 205 +2 194 +6 164 +10 112 PMPS 77 low aga

Lisa & Leo said:
Bebe Kaye said:
I'm still trying to work out the food situation, and trying to find the low protein and relatively lower carbs food to deal with the FD and CKD, I went out and bought the fancy feast pate and it's what sent his sugar through the roof on the 20th and 21st...I had seen it on the list as low carb, but maybe the recipe is different here or my cat is just a freak ;-) . When he was first diagnosed I followed the vet's advice and bought a huge tray of a prescription diabetic food, everytime Miley ate it, his sugar went through the roof...when I fed him his old food, his levels came down to a great level. I don't know what to make of him! The food I have him on at the moment isn't too great, but he's showing low numbers so it mustn't be too bad. I just want him to keep eating, the vet told me that starvation kills most cats with CKD, but then that was my old vet and I now can't be sure that anything he told me was right :?.

I have 2 cats, one FD and the other CKD and I don't want to deal with feeding them separate foods. I shared this list over in Zeus's condo the other day - these cans are on the low end in both carbs and proteins and the calories come more heavily from fats. You might find something on this list - these are our main foods. I can't make these numbers line up in columns. The three columns are PROTEIN, FAT and CARBS.

Fancy Feast Protein Fat Carbs
Savory Salmon Feast Classic 38 61 1
Turkey & Giblet Feast Classic 39 58 3
Chopped Grille Feast Classic 39 57 4

Wellness Protein Fat Carbs
Turkey Formula 31 65 4
Beef & Chicken Formula 31 65 4
Beef, Venison and Lamb Core 34 61 5
Salmon & Trout Formula 27 65 8

Evo Protein Fat Carbs
Chicken and Turkey 25 73 2
Beef 29 67 4
Venison 30 65 6
Duck 26 70 5

I'm not sure which FF pate you fed, but many of us have noticed that flavors containing chicken seem to bump the BGs more than the written carb% value would suggest. I would generally save FF Chicken Pate when I wanted to bump Leo's numbers just a tad. Milo's numbers are looking terrific!

Thank you Lisa, you're AWESOME!

I'm pretty sure it was one of the FF pate that sent Miley's BG's way up on the 20th and 21st over those days I had started feeding him FF varieties and wammo, the SS tells the story!

I will have a look around for those most I haven't seen in the supermarkets so will have to find some pet stores and hopefully they carry them.

THANK YOU AGAIN!!

Bebe and Milo
 
Re: 5/26 MILO AMPS 205 +2 194 +6 164 +10 112 PMPS 77 low aga

My pleasure - glad I could help! Hopefully you can find some of these. I order a lot of my food online.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top