5/26 Jake AMPS 94 - went low again

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lydia & Sid & Jake(GA)

Very Active Member
Last night PMPS was 116.

Then this morning I checked him at the usual time and he was 49. I syringe fed him his normal diet and rechecked him in 15 minutes; he was 64. I gave him a few licks of a higher carb gravy and rechecked him in 30 minutes; he was 94. I then gave him 1 unit instead of 1.25. I know this might not have been the right thing to do but these low numbers are scaring me a little. If I were home more to watch him, it would be different. Last night he was also licking his lips a lot, which usually means he isn't feeling well.

last condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=15439&p=155133#p155133
 
Usually if you get a test and it's not a shootable number, it's helpful to not feed and retest to see if the number is rising without the influence of food. You were wise to reduce the dose. I hope you left plenty of food out.

Please get some tests during the PM cycle. We don't know how low Jake went last night. With a PMPS of 116, I would have tested at +2. Given that Jake is giving you low numbers, you really need to get more spot checks when you are home. I am concerned you are missing low numbers. Also, please review the dosing protocol A 37 is an automatic dose reduction. You increased the dose after getting the 37.
 
That makes sense to not feed and see if the number rises without food but doing that in the morning for me is difficult because I have to leave so early for work and I worry about him not getting enough to eat. I did leave out plenty of food.
I was gone all evening until late but I did get a PMPS +4 (which I originally missed when I updated his SS). At +4 he was 117.
I will be gone all evening again tonight but will get a +4 at least but also try to get up in the middle of the night to get a reading. If I recall correctly, +6 is typically the lowest point, but right now I am going to find that chart so I know for certain.
No I didn't increase the dose at 37. I decreased it from 1.5 to 1.25. this morning I gave him 1.00 and will continue that for the time being.
 
do you have any new numbers?

I know it's a little unnerving when you first start getting low numbers at PS time, but actually when their spreadsheets suddenly turn all blue/green and the bounces go away, that means really good things are happening. :smile: Keep it up!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top