5/26 Alex AMPS 331,PMPS 388

Status
Not open for further replies.

Caryl & Sebastian & Alex (GA)

Very Active Member
Alex and I did some mid-night 'hc-ing' last night. Still working on that 'shed action'. I saw that he dropped pretty quickly after his shot so I checked on him at 4 AM and he did it again,and then again at 6AM,..and he had done it again. By breffis he was up to a nice 167 so I imagine at shot time he'll be at 765 :lol: ,but I could be wrong!!! :roll:

Otherwise, Alex is having a nice morning lying around in the AIR CONDITIONED (finallygrrr-unjinx unjinx ) apartment, all p's in order and he and Jackson are taking their mid-morning snooze .

(Jacky went to vet yesterday who said that cyst looks like it might resolve itself so he wants me to use Tresaderm for 10 days and then he'll check it again, before rushing him into surgery....more hurry up and wait is my feeling but then again..if he might not need it,I guess vet is right) :?

Have a nice day everyone :razz:

CRAZY yesterday
 
Re: 5/26 Alex AMPS 331

My my, what a crazy roller coaster ride this is turning out to be! Hopefully some day his liver will learn not to bounce so much! Good luck with finding the right dose!

Yay for a/c, and for a 10-day reprieve for Jacky! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/26 Alex AMPS 331

Mindy & Max said:
My my, what a crazy roller coaster ride this is turning out to be! Hopefully some day his liver will learn not to bounce so much! Good luck with finding the right dose!

Yay for a/c, and for a 10-day reprieve for Jacky! :mrgreen:

Hey Mindy,

It's not exactly his liver right now, it's me. Giving him HC, that's making him bounce so he doesn't hypo.
The lev is working really well..apparently there's a larger shed with levemir than with Lantus and what we're seeing here is 'shed action'. Alex is using over 100% of his insulin which is causing him to drop faster than he should on this dose. That's why we're not reducing it again. Just playing catch up using HC fuds until the dose settles. Will probably(hopefully for Alex and me)be today that we'll see how is is on this dose!

Jacky is definitely groovin' on all of the good hc he's getting for a change! :lol:
 
Re: 5/26 Alex AMPS 331,+2.5-225,+4-95,+5-55

Ok prior to this cycle, I was concerned about the 2nd cycle of lows being lev shed action. Now this is the 3rd cycle on your reduced dose which kinda puts shed action into the questionable zone. It might still be, lev shed can be quite powerful and longterm, but now it is time to see if he needs another reduction. Keep the R handy ok? Dunno if this will bring on those blasted ketones, but we have to be careful of that shed, *if* he's getting too much insulin, the shed is growing and growing and will overflow like a dam break if you keep shooting into it. Tonight I think you should cut the dose to drain the shed, if in fact it is growing. Say.. 1.5u. We can't skip dose cuz last time we did that he got ketones. Tomorrow AM cycle resume at 2.5u. Remember it sometimes takes Alex 8 full cycles to show response so the first cycle or two may suck fully.. keep R ready in case his 'tones show up again.
 
Re: 5/26 Alex AMPS 331,+2.5-225,+4-95,+5-55

Carolyn and Spot said:
Ok prior to this cycle, I was concerned about the 2nd cycle of lows being lev shed action. Now this is the 3rd cycle on your reduced dose which kinda puts shed action into the questionable zone. It might still be, lev shed can be quite powerful and longterm, but now it is time to see if he needs another reduction. Keep the R handy ok? Dunno if this will bring on those blasted ketones, but we have to be careful of that shed, *if* he's getting too much insulin, the shed is growing and growing and will overflow like a dam break if you keep shooting into it. Tonight I think you should cut the dose to drain the shed, if in fact it is growing. Say.. 1.5u. We can't skip dose cuz last time we did that he got ketones. Tomorrow AM cycle resume at 2.5u. Remember it sometimes takes Alex 8 full cycles to show response so the first cycle or two may suck fully.. keep R ready in case his 'tones show up again.

Okay, 1.5U PM dose
Okay I will keep R handy or ready or whatever...
okay tomorrow AM 2.5...I think I've got it! :razz:
 
Re: 5/26 Alex AMPS 331,+2.5-225,+4-95,+5-55

Ok going out tonight, give A&J scritches for me.. you know the drill.. No more double dipping Alex!
 
Re: 5/26 Alex AMPS 331,+2.5-225,+4-95,+5-55

Do you know what I'm just realizing....the student surpasses the teacher!

My dear, you are now way ahead of me in the understanding of shed action and bounce and stuff like that. So, now I will read and learn from you!

Congrats!

And while I know you need to use the tresaderm, please be careful as it's a steroid and don't want Jacky to have issues as a result.
 
Re: 5/26 Alex AMPS 331,+2.5-225,+4-95,+5-55

Hillary & Maui said:
Do you know what I'm just realizing....the student surpasses the teacher!

My dear, you are now way ahead of me in the understanding of shed action and bounce and stuff like that. So, now I will read and learn from you!

Congrats!

And while I know you need to use the tresaderm, please be careful as it's a steroid and don't want Jacky to have issues as a result.

Ha! I'm just learning myself..I'm not very far ahead of you...but I'm very tired lol I-)

I'm going to watch the AI final tonight which is over at around 1015
If you want me to call let me know...
If not, I'll give a yell tomorrow!


xoGrasshopper :razz:

PS I'm not thrilled about the Tresaderm but... I test Jackson, so I'm a step ahead... ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top