5/25 Topper PMPS 257 +3 200 +5.5 49 HELP

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jan and Topper

Member Since 2013
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=96151
I raised dose to 4.50
PMPS 257
+3 200
+5.5 49 fed HC gravy
+5.75 52 fed HC gravy
+6 57 fed HC gravy
+6.25 77 fed 1/2 reg LC
+6.5 80
+7 92 fed 1/2 reg LC
+7.5 115
+8.5 120

What should I shoot AM?
Keep in mind, I don't want him dropping this low. I was asleep and would have overslept (I turned the alarm off and didn't know it) if Topper hadn't laid down on my head purring loudly.
 
Jan...

Good job last night! He earned a dose reduction so shoot .25u less.....I've got to look at his SS really quick.
 
Jan

I think you have two choices.

1. You can reduce back to 4.25u and see what he does....I bet he will bounce from that 49.

2. You can shave the dose to a f4.25u.

I actually think the numbers last night were likely not because of the 4.5u because you just gave it and he dropped like a rock. Usually it takes a cycle or two to see response from an increase.

For that reason, I'm wondering if it might be more cautious to just go back to 4.25u and see if he will do a bit better.
 
Okay, thank you Marje. I went ahead and raised the dose lastnight figuring it would be "safe" even though I was going to bed because I thought it would take at least a couple cycles for the increase to have any effect.

I'll reduce back to 4.25, I sure hate to see yellows and pinks, was really looking forward to an increase bringing him down to more blue.

He feels so good again this morning with the lower numbers!
 
I know.....Sienne and I both felt it was time for more insulin. But I don't think you want to be dealing with 49s in the middle of the night and it's hard to tell if he will continue to do that.

Research has shown that there can be up to a 50% variation in absorption from shot to shot. Plus throw in the inaccuracy of syringes.....and it makes it difficult to microdose.

Many of us use calipers for dosing accuracy. Let me know if you want the info on it. It really does make a difference.

Good luck with the reduction. No bouncing Tooper!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top