5/25 Luke AMPS 53

Hi Kristen
Looks like Luke is liking :D BG.
Did you feed? If not stall without feeding and test again in 20-30 minutes.
If you shoot can you monitor?
Do you high carb food available to feed?
 
I just found the sticky that said stall but it was too late. I just fed. I gave him a packet of merrick in gravy which has higher carbs than I had been giving. His libre graph shows he’s been around 50 most of the night. Should I still check in 20 min or not give this dose?

btw the number I gave us from ear prick. I used that to double check the libre. Libre showed 61. Ear prick 53.
 
Last edited:
We've all done this, reached for the higher carb food with lower numbers :bighug:.
Will you be able to monitor if you give the shot?
 
Luke may very well bounce from the long stretch of greens. What is the BG now?
Looks like its been about 20 minutes or so since you fed. Can you be off schedule by an hour?
 
I just checked and its 117. His schedule is usually at 645 am so is it ok to wait for another half hour (745) and see if it keeps going up? if so, would I give him full dose.

agree. I think he will bounce and I would hate to lose momentum.
 
That 117 is food influenced. I would hate for you to skip too. That is a great stretch of greens :). I would like to see where his BG is after some of the carbs wear off a bit. And YES if still rising, then shoot the full dose.
 
Since you can monitor and we can pretty much count on his bouncing from those greens last night (though cats are known to surprise us), it's okay to shoot a food influenced number - especially when it's a good bump like you are seeing this morning.
 
With TR, you can shoot any number over 50 without stalling, more so if you can monitor. Does Luke get food after you go to bed? Without food his numbers could continue to drop till the end of the cycle - especially when he is breaking a bounce.

Since you have shot, please take off the " Help! Do I give insulin?" from the title? Thanks! :-)
 
Yes - Title updated.

Re: Food after bed, the answer is yes/no. I always give him a small amount before I go to bed; however he is and always will be the biggest gobbler on earth so it's usually gone with about 1-3 seconds. Since he was a kitten I've had to feed all the other animals in a place where he can't steal their food. So while part of his hunger may be the diabetes, he's just always been a hungry boy. Not to digress, but one time when he was about 6 months old, I went to answer the doorbell and came back and he ate an entire chicken breast that I had prepared for myself on the table. I'm pretty sure the chicken breast was larger than him. :)

Timed feeders only give out dry food and I've managed to keep him away from dry his whole life so don't want to start now.

Updated the SS as well.

Thank you both!!! :cat:
 
Not to digress, but one time when he was about 6 months old, I went to answer the doorbell and came back and he ate an entire chicken breast that I had prepared for myself on the table. I'm pretty sure the chicken breast was larger than him. :)
I am impressed!

Timed feeders only give out dry food and I've managed to keep him away from dry his whole life so don't want to start now.
Folks here do use timed feeders for wet food. I think the most popular ones are PetSafe5 and CatMate 5. You program them to open whenever you want and to open to an empty slot 2 hours before shot time so that your pre-shot test is not influenced by food. Some people also make "catsicles" by adding water to canned and freezing in ice cube trays and use this frozen food in the auto-feeder. Most cats won't eat it frozen so after it melts, it's like offering a fresh meal.
 
I am impressed!


Folks here do use timed feeders for wet food. I think the most popular ones are PetSafe5 and CatMate 5. You program them to open whenever you want and to open to an empty slot 2 hours before shot time so that your pre-shot test is not influenced by food. Some people also make "catsicles" by adding water to canned and freezing in ice cube trays and use this frozen food in the auto-feeder. Most cats won't eat it frozen so after it melts, it's like offering a fresh meal.


ohhhhh!!! What a great idea!!! Totally going to do this tonight.
 
I’m impressed you shot a low green! Next time feed lc and get a +1. Here’s your reward.
upload_2023-5-25_7-37-45.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-5-25_7-37-45.png
    upload_2023-5-25_7-37-45.png
    31.4 KB · Views: 192
When I saw a low green preshot the first time I was too chicken to shoot. My first line I overdid the high carb. I’m impressed you shot!
 
Ahhhhhhh!! This guy.

I usually guard my dogs food like, well a hawk but I went to answer a phone call and came back with Luke licking his lips in satisfaction as he was sitting next to the empty dog bowl. Meanwhile my dog, was just letting him do it.

Hopefully this doesn't jack up his BG. At least he's a Pomeranian so it was a small container, but 1) it had gravy and 2) it had some veggies in it.

Little stinker.
 
I think Angela wants you to put 117 under the 53 on your sptesdsheet because that's the number you actually gave insulin and color code it blue manually :cat:
And in your title put 53/117

Suggestion for auto feeder
Allie.
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-C50...01AUYLVU8B01AUYLVU8?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
A lot of members use this one comes with 2 ice packs
Extra ice packs
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-Rep...ef-8296-b5233028be26&pd_rd_i=B091HTXNHR&psc=1

And if you want the stainless steel inserts instead of the plastic ones that are in there
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-Sta...at mate stainless steel&qid=1678749693&sr=8-1
@Kristen ardito
 
Last edited:
Just want to be sure you have your hypo kit in case Best ever drops too low and you need to bring his BG up to safe numbers
Such as

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods
And some honey in the house

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.

Low carb a lot of members feed Fancy Feast Classic Pates most are 2 and 3 % carbs or Friskies Which low carb are you feeding
@Kristen ardito
 
Right now he is getting Fancy Feast Classic Pates - he loves all of them so no trouble there.

I'll go grab the high and medium carbs today. That's a great idea to mark with magic marker! I swear you all think of everything. I've been driving myself crazy running to find the food list online each time.

I'm still banging my head b/c he was able to eat the dogs food, which DEF has carbs in it. Sigh. I have to be so vigilant with this guy.

SS is updated with 117 AMPS (and blue color coded).

This link doesn't seem to work: https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-C50...01AUYLVU8B01AUYLVU8?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
A lot of members use this one comes with 2 ice packs
 
Last edited:
Back
Top