5/25 dosing questions

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yay, Curly is at 101 at 6 hours post shot. I don't think he has been below 300 in God knows how long. I KNEW he was acting like he felt better. This time I used the regular Contour instead of the Ascencia Contour- I don't know if that made any difference in the reading or if the other one is working properly. Anyway, I am so thrilled that he is responding.

I do have a question about tomorrow. I normally work 3-11:30 pm. Today we started his insulin at 2 pm. Tomorrow I work from 11-5:30. Do I give him his insulin early or is it better to wait until I get home and give it 4 hours late? I am leaning towards later especially since I won't be here but could use some input.

Thanks!
 
Could you please respond to Libby's questions?

Libby & Lucy said:
I just want to recap, to be sure I'm understanding the information here, and I have some questions. I apologize if you have answered some before.

Curly was previously on Humulin N, 2 units BID and not responding well. Do you have any numbers you can add to the spreadsheet from that time? What do you mean by not responding well? When was the vet visit you mentioned when they gave her Regular insulin?

Then you started Lantus at 2pm today with a test at HI. Subsequent tests today have also been HI. Question - did Curly have a shot of N this morning? Or just the Lantus?

And what time do you want your regular schedule to be?
 
Hey can someone tell me why the ascencia contour would still read as HI when the regular ascencia read as 101? I just double checked to make sure both monitors were working and it read HI again. If that is not working then I have had bogus readings all day. I don't have any more regular contour strips left and am not sure the ascencia contour strips will work in the regular contour monitor. I have a bunch of one-step strips but my friend can't remember what she did with that monitor when she was last here. Arrgh! Any advice???
 
Sienna,
He has been on the Humulin and his numbers have not gone below 400 even on 2 units. Going up to 3 seemed to make him rebound. I took him to the vet on Thursday and they could not get it below 400 either, and then with regular insulin they got it down to 311.

I started him on the Lantus today. Now I am not sure that my tests are accurate because using another monitor just now showed him to be at 101. I retested immediately with the one I had been using and it still said HI. I don't know which is working, but am out of strips for the one that showed him at 101 and almost out of strips for the other one. Are the strips interchangeable between the ascencia contour and the regular contour?
 
hi maggie. my unanswered question from your last thread:
regarding a starting dose for lantus... do you have the last few weeks of numbers for curly posted anywhere such as in a spreadsheet? we'd have a better idea of a starting dose for lantus if we had access to his numbers. we'd take his performance on humulin N into consideration...

it's possible the starting dose of lantus was not set high enough, but we need more data in order to help.
like libby, i'd also like to know if you shot any N earlier today...
 
No N today. I think my results today have been skewed but am not sure-- I just noticed the strips i was using up until i got the 101 result were expired from november 2009. I just checked him again and now he is at 510. I need to see if I can figure out where my friend put those other testing meters or the testing solution. but i just ran to the pharmacy and got new strips and came home and tested him and got the 510.
 
BTW I still need to know what to do about tomorrow- dose him an hour early tonight and then 2 hours early in the a.m., or wait and dose him 4 hours late when i get home? Nobody will be here with him when I am at work.
 
I wish I could help you with the meters, but I haven't used either one of those.

To recap, is this correct?
Using 2 units Humulin N the BG results were always above 400
Using 3 units Humulin N resulted in bouncing
Using R resulted in BG of 311

This isn't enough information to make a good recommendation.... it is too approximate. Can you put it together in spread sheet, matching doses to numbers?

No Humulin N today.
Lantus started today and BG has been Hi.

Wow.

Your choices for tomorrow are either to shoot 2 hours early (no one home after shot) or 4 hours late?
To be perfectly honest I would not want to be responsible for making a suggestion with such little info and such limited choices for times. I'm very sorry that I cannot be more helpful. Shooting 2 hours early just sounds like a bad idea. And 4 hours late will leave Curly with some high numbers.

The only thing I can say is that old phrase: High numbers can kill slowly, but low numbers can kill fast.
 
true. I think I will go with pushing it back just a bit tonight and then tomorrow it will be not quite so late. This is why I want to work from home. And i think i had some somewhat bogus test results today as I was using some expired strips. I just got some new ones tonight and just got off the phone with the Contour people and they made sure that both units were working okay. So I will try to get some good data on Curly over the next few days and see if he keeps bouncing around or if he evens out. BTW, when he had the 510 he had just eaten. He seemed to feel more like himself today all day even when I was getting HI readings, so I think he is going to maybe do better on this. He even bathed himself after eating- he has been too lethargic to do that lately. Fingers crossed!! I did start a spreadsheet starting with today with his first dose of glargine. I had sort of given up with testing before except to find out how low the humulin was taking him and it was never lower than 400. So he has done pretty well today if the last few numbers are accurate.

Thanks for the help everyone- I will probably be needing a lot of it in the coming few weeks!
 
Being home will really help you be able to manage Curly better. Sounds great if you can work from home. Good luck!
Glad you got some answers about your meters.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top