5/25 do I need to reduce insulin ???

Jenny & Cashmere

Member Since 2020
I’ve been trying my to follow TR but, I have been staying at the current dose since seeing blue and green numbers, I’m now unsure of what dose I need to be giving? Numbers have been in the greens and I will soon be going back to work again and can’t be here to test every hour to avoid a hypo. I had Cashmere tested for IAA and Acro, I’m still waiting on the Acro results but the IAA result was 106 (vet said 92 was normal) and that they are waiting for the final report on the findings? So I’m unsure of what that means? Any advice on dosing would be so appreciated. @Deb & Wink I always value your advice if you have time. Thank You in advance!
 
Last edited:
Cashmere is having beautiful numbers today!! And she’s on her way up so if you wanted to take a break today from testing I personally think that would be ok until PMPS.

On TR we don’t reduce until we get numbers below 50 so I think you should just keep going with 7 units. The more time cashmere spends in those nice green numbers the better she will feel :)

great job :):D

Nice surfing Cashmere!!!
 
With the IAA results being a bit high, you need to keep giving Cashmere those higher doses.
So no, a reduction in the lantus insulin dose is not called for.

Even without the positive IAA results, with the TR protocol the reductions are not taken unless your cat falls below 50 mg/dL.
So again, no reduction in the lantus dose is called for - yet.

I know it's super scary to shoot the full dose when you have a low pre-shot, like you did on 5/22/20 when you gave Cashmere a half dose. But that simply let's the insulin depot drain and has Cashmere bouncing up in the next few cycles.

I see that you did shoot the greens today, and Cashmere stayed nice and steady in the greens. She needs to be in those green numbers more often, to give her pancreas time to heal.

You mentioned you are going back to work soon. So you need to spend a little time, figuring out your strategy for leaving food out for Cashmere when you go back to work. Many cats will naturally seek out food, so if you have a timed feeder or use the "frozen hockey pucks" of canned food, that would help. See what works now while you are home, so you are not left wondering when you go back to work.

Two questions to ask yourself and your vet, are in regards to any infections/inflammations. So check for UTI's (urinary tract infections) and periodontal disease and get those taken care of for Cashmere if they exist. They can impact the response to insulin, so you want to eliminate those possibilities. Ask your vet about other possibilities for the cause of the insulin resistance. There are many.
 
Back
Top