
Should have given him a +2 snack… +3 snack given, will test again soon
Youve been getting some great numbers. I wonder if it might be time for a reduction if you have to feed higher carbs to keep him above 50. Ive been at this for almost 5 months and I cant get Karamelle regulated. We keep flip flopping doses up and down. Shes at the low end the last 3 days, with an occasional bounce. Still pretty confusing for me. No advice, just a hug.![]()
Today did feel different; he hasn’t needed food to keep him up on the others cycles. Was sad to see that 47, but agree that this cycle in general (even without the 47) was asking for a reduction.@JoM is right! Since Cooper is a newly diagnosed diabetic (less than one year) that lime BG (47) has earned him a reduction to 2.25 tonight. Congrats on the reduction

Sorry no one responded earlier! Congrats on the reduction.
Why were you unsure shooting? He was headed up like you said, and he has begun to flatten out beautifully so you will find yourself shooting a lot of green.
The higher depot will continue to affect the next few cycles. The depot takes 4-6 cycles to adjust, so you might have to use carbs to keeps him over 50 in that time. See if he decides to bounce tonight from that lime and give you a night off.![]()
I just wanted reassurance, I suppose.



The only time we ask caregivers (who are used to lower numbers and shooting low) not to shoot is if the depot is clearly overfull and numbers had to bring up. Then a skip is useful in draining the depot. In some situations where the CG cannot monitor etc, we might suggest a skip or a token dose. Otherwise, you can shoot any number over 50 (human meter) without stalling.
![]()
I saw!Apparently Cooper wasn’t interested in that bounce!![]()
I saw!
I should also warn you that sometimes cats flip a switch to green and race down in dosing. I see you are on vacation for a couple of days in a week or so. Will someone be there to test and shoot?
Everyone *he* knows is on vacation the same weekend we’re gone, and boarding isn’t an option. And our last pet sitter can’t test him, granted he wouldn’t let her near him for a shot anyway (and it wouldn’t be safe to try this time without testing). So I’m out of ideas at the moment. Which I realize, isn’t great. Many of us can't find petsitters who can test or have kitties who won't let them test. So that's not an issue. We suggest a lower "vacation" dose for safety.
Let's take a call on dose closer to the date depending on whether you find a sitter who can give him shots or not.