5/24 Meadow AMPS 423 PMPS 443

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amber & Meadow

Member Since 2010
Didn't get the new bottle of Lantus due to the vet specialist stating any refills must be authorized and she wasn't in today. I have a feeling she is going to try and make me bring Meadow back in so she can charge me more money. Not going to happen. I'll just call the regular vet and have them call it in. Why wouldn't you put any refills on insulin if the cat is diabetic? I had their office fax me the blood work and notes on the ultrasound. The lab put on there to maybe check for Cushing's, but did she even mention it? Nope.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=15328
 
I hope you can get new insulin soon, crazy to make you jump through hoops, unless they haven't seen her in a while or something.
 
I missed the bit yesterday about high flat and starting over and trying a new vial or cart to see if the insulin is bad or expired.
|If you had OK numbers, and then they started to worsen, you could try new insulin and may see good numbers again. That happened to me when I started a new cart of Lantus.

Since your numbers have never been good, the insulin had to have been bad from the start to see an improvement now from a new container.

But 2 months on Lantus is likely too long.

It's scary and sad think there is a 'specialist' saying things like you don't need to test anymore after a certain point - good way to kill your cat - just keep shooting the same amount blindly and having no idea what's happening. Ask that specialist if humans should not test their BG and see what kind of answer you get.

I think it's unforgiveable for a vet to receive test results that mention Cushings and not tell the client. Is that vet the only one around you? I would find another vet quick after I saw that a condition is mentioned on test results but I was not told.

Actually that will never happen because I demand copies of EVERYTHING. I have the u/s images from Shadoe, and I keep a binder for Shadoe and for Oliver in which I keep copies of every test result.
 
Just a word about medical protocol...at least with humans.
If your regular MD asks for a consult from a specialist, it is protocol for the specialist to send his/her findings back to your physician. The specialist is under no obligation to discuss the results of the tests with you. It's your doctor who bears the responsibility for discussing the results. Does that actually happen in real life? Sometimes. It may depend on how long it takes for test results to arrive, the relationship between the MDs, etc. It may be the same with vets and vet specialty services.
 
Amber & Meadow said:
Vetsulin was started on 11/09/09. I was shooting 3 units when they BG's were in the 100's. Some days I didn't give her insulin because the BG's were too low. Then in late January, the BG's went up into the hi 200's to 300's. Took her to a different vet who put her on Humilin on 1/30/10. Stayed in the hi 200 to 300 range. Took her to the specialist on 3/18/10 and started her on Lantus that day. BG's constantly hi.

Amber, I was wondering if you kept any records or spreadsheets while Meadow was on Vetsulin? Although I'm not knowledgable about Acro or Cushings... I would imagine the data might prove valuable.


That's lousy that you're having hard time getting new insulin - I hope your regular vet is able to help!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top