5/24 Gumung amps 62

Since you have skipped, stay with LC. Curious to see what the cycle will be like!

He only licked little bit of LC. Tried to warm up to make him to eat something, but no lick yet though. I am just glad there was no shot in the morning.
 
How’s is he acting other than his appetite? Lethargic? Has this happened before?

He looks bit lethargic, and this happened when I didn’t notice his diabetes for long time. But then, when I offer him hills a/d he ate a lot to gain some energy. I am not sure if I should go visit vet?
 
I’m wondering if he has a little pancreatitis. Does he seem nauseous? They can hide that. Max rarely vomited but became inappetent. At first he was very picky about food and then stopped eating. If GuMung’s appetite doesn’t improve soon I would call the vet.
 
I’m wondering if he has a little pancreatitis. Does he seem nauseous? They can hide that. Max rarely vomited but became inappetent. At first he was very picky about food and then stopped eating. If GuMung’s appetite doesn’t improve soon I would call the vet.

Hmm, he doesn’t seems to be nauseous. And he had ultrasound on 4/21 and no pancreatitis found? Could that develop in month that quick?
I just offered wellness core chicken pate 1.5 Tbsp and he ate. I will try to get him to eat more throughout today. And if there is no improvement I should call vet..
 
I just offered wellness core chicken pate 1.5 Tbsp and he ate. I will try to get him to eat more throughout today. And if there is no improvement I should call vet..
Just keep track of how much he is eating all day. Could be a combination of food boredom and lower numbers and being plied with too much food in the last few days.
 
It could also simply be he’s full and exhausted from eating a lot. I’d just watch him. Does he ever have hairballs? That can cause discomfort and they don’t always vomit them up. As long as he seems to feel well it’s likely nothing. You just wants to make sure he eats about 3/4 his normal amount. Appetite does decrease with regulation.
 
Just keep track of how much he is eating all day. Could be a combination of food boredom and lower numbers and being plied with too much food in the last few days.

could be food boredom…
I feed some more he looks more playful than yesterday though. I will also try tk keep the track of how much ate today. So far, 3/4 of 3oz can
 
It could also simply be he’s full and exhausted from eating a lot. I’d just watch him. Does he ever have hairballs? That can cause discomfort and they don’t always vomit them up. As long as he seems to feel well it’s likely nothing. You just wants to make sure he eats about 3/4 his normal amount. Appetite does decrease with regulation.

Yes I think so too, before all those green number showed up in his spread sheet, he’s been experiencing excessive hunger, every 2 hour he begged for food. Now, he does seems hungry and comes for food when he’s not in sleep, but changed his appetite. He used to love all food I offer, now, don’t even get what he would like. Pate, he would lick and walk away. Even freeze dried salmon treat, he refuses! :facepalm:

Will have that gerber tonight, so I will be trying that midnight to feed him to get that appetite back.
 
Yeah for him eating 2 Tbsp LC!

Could you remind me how long he's been off his food? How long lethargic? Some notes in the Remarks might help. I see he was playful a week ago. And going back on your posts he started refusing food the PM of the 21st?

How much does GuMung weigh? How many calories in that 3 oz can. Maybe we can figure out how many calories he should be getting in a day.
 
Yeah for him eating 2 Tbsp LC!

Could you remind me how long he's been off his food? How long lethargic? Some notes in the Remarks might help. I see he was playful a week ago. And going back on your posts he started refusing food the PM of the 21st?

How much does GuMung weigh? How many calories in that 3 oz can. Maybe we can figure out how many calories he should be getting in a day.

Yes, I play with him and offer food. He went in for it. Didn’t finish everything but mostly 2 Tbsp.

He looked and acted more lethargic from 22nd pm. And degraded appetite on 23rd morning.

I also thought it might be his gum? Hurting may caused him to not eat, so I did brush him on 22nd pm.
I don’t think its from tasting toothpaste, because I used it many times, he doesn’t like it but he is used to it?

And yes, from pm on 21st he started not gobble up the food. He used to when he had excessive hunger.
I don’t have any weighting machine to weigh him though, he was 14 lb on 4/21.

He ate Wellness core chicken pate, 116 kcal per can
So he ate 3/4, 87kcal until right now.
He used to eat whole can at once in 3 min.
 
Wow. After a BCS and a skip he's still in the 50s and 60s!

Tag @tiffmaxee when you get to PMPS. Looks like 3.5U might be too much for him.

I know! That kind of scared me, I am really concerned with giving him a pm injection too. Yes, I will tag her to get help before pmps.

Thank you
 
Here is Dr. Lisa's page on How Much to Feed. ECID, and GuMung is younger so probably a bit more active than some of the older cats here. Do you have an optimal weight from your vet for GuMung? Assuming it's 14lb (though that's a bit large), then Dr. Pierson's formula to give you a general idea is
Required calories per day = [13.6 X optimal lean body weight in pounds] + 70
which for GuMung would work out to about 257 calories. Or a little over 2 cans of that Wellness per day. Don't forget to add the calories from any pokie treats. Note, Neko was around 14.5lb (Maine Coon plus acro) and she needed around 200-220 calories a day to maintain. I used the scale to determine what calories worked to keep her where I wanted her. Again, ECID.

That +6.5 could also be the insulin finally starting to wear off.
 
Here is Dr. Lisa's page on How Much to Feed. ECID, and GuMung is younger so probably a bit more active than some of the older cats here. Do you have an optimal weight from your vet for GuMung? Assuming it's 14lb (though that's a bit large), then Dr. Pierson's formula to give you a general idea is which for GuMung would work out to about 257 calories. Or a little over 2 cans of that Wellness per day. Don't forget to add the calories from any pokie treats. Note, Neko was around 14.5lb (Maine Coon plus acro) and she needed around 200-220 calories a day to maintain. I used the scale to determine what calories worked to keep her where I wanted her. Again, ECID.

That +6.5 could also be the insulin finally starting to wear off.

Yes, he used to eat like over 350kcal! Like a lot but still felt hunger. For few days I don’t think he ate appropriate kcal to maintain his health. I will keep track on his eating. I am getting bit scared to give his full dose like 4u.

He does seems a bit mor energetic and hungry? He’s trying to make an eye contact with me ;)

Will offer another 1~2 Tbsp of LC again to see how he reacts.

Thank you for the link will definitely take a look at it. :joyful:
 
Yesterday I suggested jumping down in dose and not shooting 4 units again. That's too much insulin. Let's see what he does the rest of the day. You can probably take a few hour pokie break. (and nap).
 
Yesterday I suggested jumping down in dose and not shooting 4 units again. That's too much insulin. Let's see what he does the rest of the day. You can probably take a few hour pokie break. (and nap).

Yes, thank you for your suggestion, I will definitely take a good nap. He just ate a bit more at 7.5. He seems talking more to me (complaining I guess) so, he does have some energy.:smuggrin:
 
He did com to beg food a bit, I gave 1Tbsp (~approximately 25 kcal) of LC @10.25
Maybe I should have waited till pmps to give food?
He finally seemed wanting food

@10.25 (before giving 1Tbsp of LC)
Was 88
 
Pmps 84
Will try to feed him bit more, I would appreciate if @tiffmaxee could suggest on the dose?
Not sure if I should shoot full dose

Thank you in advance.
 
I sese Wendy and I cross posted. I would go with 2.0 if you think he will eat or even 1.5.
 
Last edited:
How tired are you? Do you think his appetite is better now?

Oh, I got an hour nap. So I will be ok. Not as tired as yesterday. Yes @8pm right now is 7:45 so took a quick peak on his number, I just could get sure when I would be able to get recommendations. Just didn’t want to wait for last min.

His appetite is better than yesterday. More active
 
I do have to shoot in 2 min.. should I be safe and stay with 2unit?
 
I think that what you shoot tonight should be for you, not for GuMung. 2 units would be safer and I was thinking that as one of the options. A one hour nap is not enough.
 
I think that what you shoot tonight should be for you, not for GuMung. 2 units would be safer and I was thinking that as one of the options. A one hour nap is not enough.

Thank you for the suggestion! I went ahead shoot 2 unit to see how that helps and if not, I can always increase units right? I work at home as self employment so I could stay at home to take care of my cat. So thats ok, I could be tired for few days. But it was so hard for me to see him loosing appetite :arghh:
I will try to monitor him for dew more hours. Just hope it stays the same in 80s ;)
 
So it's been 2 hours since you fed. That is okay. I would shoot 2 and if he goes higher you will get sleep.

Thank you for your suggestion, I went ahead shoot 2 unit. I do definitely need more sleep but will watch him for few more hours to see how food is effecting on his number.
 
I hope he comes up and doesn't decide upon another pj party. If he continues to be this low 2.0 might become his dose. I keep waiting to see a bounce or higher numbers but it hasn't happened. It is likes he flipped a switch. Some cats just don't read the play book. THIS ADVICE IS ONLY FOR ERIN SO ANY LURKERS DO NOT DROP THE DOSE UNLESS YOU GET INPUT FROM LONG TIME MEMBERS OR THE DOSING METHOD TELLS YOU TO REDUCE. Good luck tonight.
 
I hope he comes up and doesn't decide upon another pj party. If he continues to be this low 2.0 might become his dose. I keep waiting to see a bounce or higher numbers but it hasn't happened. It is likes he flipped a switch. Some cats just don't read the play book. THIS ADVICE IS ONLY FOR ERIN SO ANY LURKERS DO NOT DROP THE DOSE UNLESS YOU GET INPUT FROM LONG TIME MEMBERS OR THE DOSING METHOD TELLS YOU TO REDUCE. Good luck tonight.

Haha no more pj party :facepalm:
I see, so just incase I won’t be able to get any suggestion early tomorrow morning, if his numbers are below 100s like today (60s to 80s) then shoot 2 unit?
 
With higher doses, sometimes it can take 2-3 cycles of skip and/or BCS to really get rid of the depot. Hopefully tonight will really do it.

Let's see what he does tonight before guessing on tomorrow.
 
With higher doses, sometimes it can take 2-3 cycles of skip and/or BCS to really get rid of the depot. Hopefully tonight will really do it.

Let's see what he does tonight before guessing on tomorrow.

Ok, thank you Wendy! I will keep update the numbers and how much he ate in the forum throughout today.
His +1.5 was 72
 
Today said "start True Metrix". On the SS, tests with a R in front are Relion, with T a True Metrix. She's been doing both today to compare.
 
Today said "start True Metrix". On the SS, tests with a R in front are Relion, with T a True Metrix. She's been doing both today to compare.
Out of curiosity, why the switch in meter types? Seems quite the difference between the two brands.

Ah yes, sometimes in Walmart online is out of the relion test stripes. And I had to order syringe and wanted to test if True metrix is good enough. I tested my blood on both relion and true metrix, comes down to similar number without huge difference. But in cat’s blood it showed around 20 difference in true metrix. So just wanted to test both out for few days.
 
Looks like the switch was from the Alpha T pet to Relion human or did I miss another meter?

Yes, I also do have Alpha Track2. Occasionally did test them together (usually on low numbers) to see how he does.
True metrix came in today morning, so wanted to test them out to see if they are reliable? But I am thinking … no? Since they are 20 ish different than relion brand :banghead:
 
I did miss something then! I know nothing about that meter. How many times did you try the new one? Wendy read the spreadsheet more carefully than I did. :rolleyes:
 
I did miss something then! I know nothing about that meter. How many times did you try the new one? Wendy read the spreadsheet more carefully than I did. :rolleyes:

Haha, its been 5 times now, and true metrix is so way off for cat’s blood. Human, myself, my families, they all came similar with Relion.
 
Wow! Looks like the True Metrix is reading much lower than the ReliOn? 36 at +3 on the TrueMetrix??? :eek:

Yeah I know, I don’t think I can only rely on the true metrix. Its so off!! :banghead:on human blood, i get more similar result but not on my cat’s blood.
 
+3 is 61, and I feed him 1/4 can of LC which isn’t high in calorie.
Until now, approximate calorie intake :~ 150kcal is not even near his need calorie, ~ 250kcal
 
Back
Top