5/23 Eddie AMPS 109, +9/86, PMPS 110, +2/123, +5/95, +6/69

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo

Today:
AMPS = 109
+2 = 189
+4 = 175
+6 = 135
+8 = 87
+9 = 86
+10 = 102
PMPS = 110
+1 = 101
+2 = 123
+3 = 127
+4 = 102
+5 = 95
+6 = 69
+7 = 99
+8 = 96

Hi LL! Thank you to everyone for all your help and input last night. I decided to hold the dose at 2.25u for at cycle or two extra despite earning a reduction in the hopes that we can see some more blue and green on Eddie's SS, and so far, to my excitement/amazement, Eddie's actually having a great cycle again today.

It's absolutely beautiful here today, sunny and in the low 70's. DH headed west to go to the lake this AM. He's hauling some stuff down in his truck, so we're driving separately. I'm taking it easy today and trying to get some housework done which desperately needs doing before leaving tomorrow AM. Sitter picked up the keys, so the civilians are squared away for the weekend. The deck door has been open since early this morning, and all the cats are enjoying deck time in the sunshine at their leisure today.

It's a good thing I decided to hold the dose, since that's what DH shot anyway, since I forgot to explicitly tell him what dose we were going to shoot this morning. DH is a huge help and does a lot of the shooting, feeding, and testing. But, he follows instructions, so unless I explicitly tell him to do something he continues doing what he was doing before. ;-)

He got the AMPS this morning and advised me it was a 199, so I figured Eddie was headed into a pretty big bounce. To my pleasant surprise, when I did the +4 this AM, I saw that the AMPS on the meter was actually 109 - not 199. So between +8 last night of 75, and AMPS, Eddie really didn't climb up that fast.

This AM, it looks like he had a bit of a blue bounce after AMPS, which is clearing out. At +8 and +9, Eddie's in the lagoon again! :mrgreen: It will be very interesting to see if he keeps sliding down or surfing into PMPS again.

If he's going down in green numbers, or is sitting fairly flat in low green numbers at PMPS, do you guys think it's advisable to go ahead and take the reduction to 2.0? Or stick with the 2.25u and aim for another flat green cycle?

Also, OT: Eddie's PZI friend Merlin and his mom Cindi have recently been diagnosed with CKD. Cindi's been advised to start Merlin on Azodyl. She posted on Health asking if anyone has any experience with this drug/supplement. Cindy's post is here. Do any of our FD/CKD kitty caretakers here in LL have any experience with or knowledge about Azodyl? If so, would you mind sharing your experiences with Cindi?
 
Re: 5/23 Eddie AMPS 109, +4/175, +9/86

Looks like both Eddie and Merlin are having a great day today. So cool that Eddie is getting so many greens. Is he going to the lake with you?

I do have an update on the Azodyl. Yesterday, I dropped off that paper from the Canada company that advised to not to give it to diabetic animals. My vet said that looking at the ingredients, he is not sure why they made that statement. So he checked a place where he (vets) can go to find out or check out statements like that and he couldn't find anything that backed up that statement or told him that diabetic animals shouldn't get Azodyl. So at this point we are on a holding pattern until we get any more information. Thank you so much for mentioning this.

Keep it up Eddie!
 
Re: 5/23 Eddie AMPS 109, +4/175, +9/86, +10/102

Looks like Eddie decided not to stress you with a green PMPS. You still might have a busy night, regardless of whether you decrease or not because of the Lantus depot. Safe travels and have fun at the lake.

You might want to PM Marje about azodyl. She's very knowledgeable about CKD.
 
Re: 5/23 Eddie AMPS 109, +4/175, +9/86, +10/102

What nice numbers for Eddie today. Have a good trip to the lake.
 
Re: 5/23 Eddie AMPS 109, +9/86, PMPS 110

Phew! No nail-biter of a PMPS tonight. Just a nice cool blue 110. Nonetheless, I did sort of "chicken out" and decided to take the reducie tonight rather than waiting until morning. His plus +1 though makes me wonder if this might turn into a busy cycle again after all.

Wendy - Thanks for stopping by! I think you might be right on having an active cycle despite reducing. We'll see what Eddie's +2 is, but he's surprising flat still at PM +1.

Cindi - Thanks for stopping! Yep, Eddie's going to be a weekend warrior with us this summer. We took him on a trial run last weekend for an overnight and he did pretty well, so he's driving with me tomorrow morning.

Elise and Carla - Thanks for visiting! I'm looking forward to getting to the lake again. Last Saturday there was gorgeous weather, and it sounds as though the weather is supposed to be pretty nice again this weekend. Nice to have a long weekend to re-energize a bit, too. :smile:
 
Re: 5/23 Eddie AMPS 109, +9/86, PMPS 110

ah, great cycle! WAHOO! Eddie looks fantastic today. Fingers crossed for you tonight.

Great job shooting those numbers today, jen!
 
Re: 5/23 Eddie AMPS 109, +9/86, PMPS 110, +2/123, +4/102

Hi Julie! Thanks for visiting! :-D

I'm thrilled with how Eddie looks between yesterday and today. Looks like the PM is setting up to be a lovely cycle, too! :mrgreen: I think we're really close to the "right" dose here. Hopefully Eddie can hold the reduction, otherwise, maybe a "fat" 2.0 might be the next thing to try. :smile:
 
Re: 5/23 Eddie AMPS 109, +9/86, PMPS 110, +2/123, +4/102

Hi Jen:

I haven't posted on your condo before - don't know how I missed it. I just wanted to say hello and tell you I think you are doing a great job with Eddie. In the relatively short time you've been here, you seem to have gotten a pretty good handle on the system. It's so overwhelming at first. After three years I'm still constantly referring to stickies!

I have the same issues with my DH. If I don't spell it out for him, he just keeps doing what he's been doing. He hasn't read the copious info on the site, so I have to tell him everything, and he isn't exactly great at retaining it. Don't get me wrong, I LOVE that he does the shooting, as it's hard for me with arthritis in my hands, but I wish he'd get a little more up to speed on the protocol. I just have to be sure and leave a note at our shooting location if I want to change the dose.

Have a great weekend at the lake. You're so lucky Eddie is a good traveller. Cinco is definitely NOT, and the 45 minute drive to his oncologist is a traumatic event for both of us! Safe travels.
 
Re: 5/23 Eddie AMPS 109, +9/86, PMPS 110, +2/123, +5/95

Another dip into the lagoon tonight for Eddie! :mrgreen: I probably don't need to be poking him every hour, but I just haven't got any idea what to expect out of him, so - data gathering - or I'm just excited to see these numbers! :mrgreen:

Hi Tricia!

Thank you so much for stopping by! Hugs to you and Cinco and Sasha. I don't know if I've posted more than once or twice on Cinco's condo, but you guys are in my thoughts and prayers, and I regularly check in on Cinco's condo to see how you guys are doing. The compassion with which you care for Cinco and Sasha is really an inspiration. :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon

Tricia & Cinco said:
In the relatively short time you've been here, you seem to have gotten a pretty good handle on the system.
Hahah! Thanks! Unfortunately, it's definitely not the case. :lol: Thank heavens for Wendy and Julie and Marjie and others who have held my hand through each and every step here thus far!
 
Re: 5/23 Eddie AMPS 109, +9/86, PMPS 110, +2/123, +5/95

And you should be excited with those numbers. Surf safely, Eddie.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top