5/22 - Zen - AMPS - 126

Emily R

Member Since 2021
Yesterday's Thread

Morning, all! Zen took a dip last night (as he likes to do :banghead: ) and we didn't want to wake up to a kitty that went hypo in his sleep (as he almost did last weekend) so we fed him some Savory Selects around 1am (PM+5), and then we opened his morning can of DM for him about 2.5 hours early (around PM+10). We're pretty tired this morning, but that's how it goes sometimes!

He's got a good bit of food in his stomach already, so I think we'll see good things today...I just need to figure out how to keep him from taking such a steep dip in the evenings. Back when we let him eat dry food at night, he spiked (surprise, surprise) and now that we don't let him have the stuff, he doesn't want to eat at all overnight unless we spoon feed him something at 1am. I wonder if we maybe try Savory Selects (borderline MC) at night instead of Tiki Cat and see if that yields positive results. Curious the group's thoughts.
 
Last edited:
Morning Emily! Good job yesterday!

BTW, in your SS, are all your tests in the correct hour spot? when I read yesterday's thread, it seemed like the 97 was +11.75 and the 119 was +12? And then which number did you actually shoot? you delayed until +13 I think? Let me find an example of someone stalling and how they entered numbers in the cells (you have to manually color to the lowest number color) - This is from George's SS from 01/04/2016 - this the the PM cycle but same idea would apply to AM cycle - I should note that clearly this caregiver was experienced and could be off schedule (as they delayed shot time for 3 hours...which is not very common) but I'm really posting for the formatting :)

upload_2021-5-22_9-11-40.png


It's good to keep in mind that any +1,+2,+3 etc are from the shot of insulin. So if one stalls by an hour, that's +13 from the last dose of insulin. Another example is when I skipped for Jax this year - see 02/18/2021-02/19/2021 in his SS - so my next shot of insulin was at +24.75 from his previous dose (and I skipped bc he had dental surgery and was souped up on drugs and not eating reliably :p).

I hope that helps a little bit :bighug:

I called Tiki Cat today and requested the info. They said they'd email it to me!
And hurray for this! I'm glad they are being open with their data - if you need any help with formula from Marje, let me know - see my tab called MarjeCarbCalc

Oh btw, will Zen eat from an auto feeder (I can't remember if he's an only kitty or not) - but I used an autofeeder in the AM and PM cycles (unless it was an active cycle and I needed to veer from his 'usual' food lol),

Hope you all have a wonderful weekend!
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-5-22_9-11-40.png
    upload_2021-5-22_9-11-40.png
    177.9 KB · Views: 56
Morning, Susanne! Thank you!!!

BTW, in your SS, are all your tests in the correct hour spot? when I read yesterday's thread, it seemed like the 97 was +11.75 and the 119 was +12? And then which number did you actually shoot? you delayed until +13 I think? Let me find an example of someone stalling and how they entered numbers in the cells (you have to manually color to the lowest number color) - This is from George's SS from 01/04/2016 - this the the PM cycle but same idea would apply to AM cycle - I should note that clearly this caregiver was experienced and could be off schedule (as they delayed shot time for 3 hours...which is not very common) but I'm really posting for the formatting :)
I totally hadn't realized that-- I'd just been putting comments in the "Units" field and the "Notes" field. My in-laws are comig over today, so I've got some cleaning to do before I can make any major SS updates. But I'll try to get that fixed-- thanks for showing me!


Oh btw, will Zen eat from an auto feeder (I can't remember if he's an only kitty or not) - but I used an autofeeder in the AM and PM cycles (unless it was an active cycle and I needed to veer from his 'usual' food lol)

I wish! Part of what kept us up last night was that Queso (his "sister") threw up and he suddenly found the motivation to try to eat it. (Gross.) She refuses to eat anything other than dry food... one battle at a time... I'm glad I caught it, because we would have seen a BG spike that would have completely thrown off the data! We keep them both using the SureFeed right now, but I'm noodling on plots at the moment. The problem isn't so much that the food isn't available to him at night, it's that he sleeps through these major dips and doesn't want to eat at night if it isn't dry food. We had actually put the Savory Selects in the bowl for him to free-feed from overnight, but he just didn't eat it until we brought it to him. He's also struggling with neuropathy right now, so it's possible that will change as we get his numbers more under control and the Zobaline helps to rebuild. But in the meantime, my husband and I are sleepy. :coffee:

Hope you have a lovely weekend! :bighug:
 
Back
Top