5/22 mocha pmps 196

Status
Not open for further replies.

PeterDevonMocha

Member Since 2009
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=15125

WCR: mocha had a very low night last night, surfed the 40's for a few hours, which normally we would be happy about, but this morning she is still only at 110 and now we need advice.

Unfortunately my brother in law took his own life, and today is his funeral services. We CANNOT stay home and monitor her. She is currently at 2.5u and we hate to lose her momentum, but we don't know what to do?? Should we shoot the full 2.5u and leave her auto feed fed with MC food, instead of LC food? Normal shot time is in 25 minutes, any advice is appreciated!!
 
Re: 5/22 mocha amps 110 NEED ADVICE ASAP PLEASE

you have shot a lower number before at the same dose and you've seen a clear rise from earlier today. if you're choosing to reduce when your cat hits the 40s (some don't reduce til they see the 30s, depending on how strongly your cat has to earn dose reductions), why not shoot a smidge under the normal dose (skinny up the 2.5u)?

if your cat isn't eating well right now i'd be more conservative. yes, we hate to lose momentum but today is an important day for you. don't want you worrying that mocha will be going too low while you're gone. if it will make you feel safer, reduce the dose to 2.25 or even 2u and pretend it was a partial fur shot. mocha will recover.

i'd probably leave just regular carb if you think mocha will eat it. if medium carb food is more likely to get mocha to eat while you're gone, i'd leave that instead.

very sorry about your brother in law.
 
Re: 5/22 mocha amps 110 NEED ADVICE ASAP PLEASE

normal protocol for mocha is 3 times under 50 on the same dose, she IS eating well.

For insulin amount I guess we are going to drop to 2.0u. I feel really sick about leaving her but I don't think my sister and niece would understand if we missed the funeral, for our cat. So I KNOW I have to go today but I'm so scared about leaving mocha. I never leave her during the day and now she's low to boot!!!
 
Re: 5/22 mocha amps 110 NEED ADVICE ASAP PLEASE

she's being a cat. they sure pick the worst times to run low, don't they? (every time i plan to meet another FDMB member cleo decides to hypo at shot time!)

just do what will make you feel safe. just don't want you worrying too much about mocha while you're at the funeral.
 
Re: 5/22 mocha amps 110 NEED ADVICE ASAP PLEASE

thanks chris. She is having MC for breakfast and her autofeeder is full of MC as well. Plus we are shooting a reduced dose, down to 2.0u. I feel sick to my stomach over leaving her. I can't help it!! She's my girl and I'm not used to leaving her, especially when she is low.

I'm sure when we get back today she will be higher then a kite, but ... I can't take the chance of her going to low while we are gone either. Ay yi yi!!
 
Re: 5/22 mocha amps 110 NEED ADVICE ASAP PLEASE

Peter,

So sorry about your brother in law. I know that is such a shock left to the ones left behind. I know how you feel about leaving Mocha though. She'll be fine with the food left out. Try not to worry about her to much today. But I know easier said than done.

jan and sara
 
Re: 5/22 mocha amps 110 NEED ADVICE ASAP PLEASE

took a look at your spreadsheet before i posted a reply and i remember you shot something like an 81 before with around the same dose. you have shot other low numbers too with no problem, so i'm not worried. just because it's a stressful day and you may be gone longer than anticipated i figured you'd feel better being more conservative. it'll be okay. as she's eating ok i'd be fine with LC rather than MC but let's figure this way she'll be a happy girl while you're gone. :)
 
Re: 5/22 mocha amps 110 NEED ADVICE ASAP PLEASE

Condolences to you on your loss. So very sad....sad circumstances...

Mocha will be ok with all the MC you are leaving her and as you said, will probably be sky high later...then, we will second guess the dose and the amount of MC...LOL....and we will all curse her bounce. Ya know, she was going to bounce today anyway, right?

She is going to get back to the greens soon enough. I understand the intensity of each and every day...and having to be away from her for any reason is just not something you would ordinarily do at this time. Try to explain it to her face. Tell her that you have to go and that she should eat her food while you are gone. HUGS to you...I feel your pain and annoyance. Wish i could be there to watch her for you. I wish you well today....
 
Re: 5/22 mocha amps 110 NEED ADVICE ASAP PLEASE

Hi Devon & Peter, Mocha will be OK today. Try not to worry about her. You have already done what your instinct tells you to do and you have to let Mocha do the rest. If she's high when you get home, she'll work her way back down.
We're so sorry to hear about your brother-in-law, Devon. Your sister and niece will need you today. Mocha will understand.

In sympathy,
Ella
 
Re: 5/22 mocha amps 110 NEED ADVICE ASAP PLEASE

((Peter & Devon))
I'm so sorry for your loss. I hope you and your family weather this storm. A sudden and unexpected loss of this kind is very hard on family.

Mocha will be fine. It is probably her way of telling you to not be sad -- be happy for her having such good numbers.
 
Re: 5/22 mocha amps 110 NEED ADVICE ASAP PLEASE

I am so sorry for your loss. That is tragic. (((hugs))).

Mocha will be fine. I think going with your gut feelings will ease your mind.

Sienne and Gabby said:
Mocha will be fine. It is probably her way of telling you to not be sad -- be happy for her having such good numbers.
I like that way of thinking Sienne!!
 
Re: 5/22 mocha amps 110 NEED ADVICE ASAP PLEASE

I am so sorry about your brother-in-law. My brother-in-law did the same thing 20 years ago and the shock is just so overwhelming. It's hard to even make decisions.

I'm sure Mocha will be fine and in fact, will probably view today as a little party with all that yummy food. You did great taking care of her!
 
Re: 5/22 mocha amps 110 NEED ADVICE ASAP PLEASE

Hi Peter, Devon and Mocha!! So Sorry to hear about your loss!!!! Mocha will be fine, don't worry!!! So exciting that her numbers have been so good!!! Remember you have to take care of yourself too, hugs!!!!
 
Re: 5/22 mocha amps 110 +5 224

Thank you everyone for your kind words today.

We were able to grab mochas +5 today, 224. I was happy it wasn't sky high, with all the MC she ate, plus the reduced dose. But then peter informed me that he doesn't remember shooting a special dose today, and is pretty certain he drew out the 2.5. I guess we will see how her numbers play out from here.

My sister and niece will be coming back down to my parents house this afternoon, but they live much closer so I can run home and do spot checks as needed.

Again, thank you for the kind words, they are much appreciated.
 
Re: 5/22 mocha amps 110 +5 224

I'm sorry for your loss of your BIL. My best friend lost her brother that way just 2 weeks ago and it was devastating for the family. I hope Mocha continues to do well today and I'm glad you'll be close enough to get spot checks. I'm sure that makes you feel better.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top