5/22 Eddie PMPS 58, +4/42, +5/54, +5.5/49, +6/61, +7/65

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo

Today:
AMPS = 299
+2 = 275
+6.5 = 148
+11.5 = 73 :mrgreen:
+11.75 = 60 :mrgreen:
PMPS = 58 :mrgreen: (LC)
+0.5 = 70 :mrgreen:
+1 = 64 :mrgreen:
+1.5 = 65 :mrgreen:
+2 = 54 :mrgreen: (LC)
+2.5 = 57 :mrgreen:
+3 = 49 (MC)
+3.3 = 51
+3.6 = 47 (MC)
+4 = 42 (HC)
+4.3 = 54
+5 = 54
+5.5 = 49 (HC)
+6 = 61
+7 = 65

Good evening LL!

It's the end of the week for me, headed into a long holiday weekend. :-D And as usual, I spoke too soon about calling Eddie's reduction failed and taking his dose back up. Today, he's on a bounce clearing slide down to somewhere deep in the lagoon, right at PMPS time. At +11.75, he's at 60, down from 73 at +11.5. Assuming he's above 50 in a couple minutes here, I'm going to go ahead and shoot and hope we get another awesome green surf. If not, I'll probably be posting asking for help. :lol: I hate to stall so I can keep him flat green so the next dose is onsetting before this one peters out.

I may be in need of some advice on how much to carb Eddie up early in the cycle...we'll see! :mrgreen:

Eddie was crabby last night and it seemed like he didn't feel well. I'm guessing those pink numbers don't feel so good. Today is a whole other story. He's happy and cheerful and getting into mischief. :-D

Vines to Tricia and Liz and Anne and all other kitties and beans in need.

Edited: PMPS = 58 shot! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/22 Eddie AMPS 299, +6.5/148, +11.5/73, +11.75/60, PMPS

That's mighty fine shootin there Jen! You get the BOS award today. :mrgreen: :cool:
boshand.gif


I think we know the answer to how many cycles it takes Eddie to clear that bounce. ;-)
 
Re: 5/22 Eddie AMPS 299, +6.5/148, +11.5/73, +11.75/60, PMPS

Nice shooting. I hope Eddie surfs safely for you tonight.
 
Re: 5/22 Eddie AMPS 299, +6.5/148, +11.5/73, +11.75/60, PMPS

Thanks Wendy LOL! I showed DH the BOS and I just know he was beaming with pride. :lol: Thanks for the visit Carla!

Guess I needed to dig out the patience pants and wait just a little longer for Eddie to get ready to slide down again. I have a large collection of patience pants, but they mostly sit wadded up in the back of my closet. ;-)

The interesting thing is that the flat cycles leading up to that yucky flat pink cycle last night were lower than his previous flat bounce cycles - mostly mid-blues rather than mid-yellows. If Eddie's bounces are mostly below renal thresh-hold, that's a huge step forward in my mind! :smile: I'm also thinking Eddie may be one of those kitties that has a big ugly spike right before clearing a bounce - hence that yucky pink cycle last night.

It's terrifying (especially coming from ProZinc) shooting those low green numbers at first, but after doing it successfully a few nights back and seeing the awesome flat green surf it produced, I think I finally understand how shooting low produces those low green surfs, and I look forward to Eddie giving me the chance to shoot those types of numbers more often. He's been very cooperative thus far too, saving most of his green pre-shots for the PM cycle so I can keep a close eye on him. :-D I hope he stays down and surfs (safely) again tonight and he doesn't blast up into another bounce.

Looks like we are going to be sticking with 2.25u for now with a nadir of 58! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/22 Eddie AMPS 299, +6.5/148, PMPS 58, +1/64, +2/54

Hi Jen. You might not be sticking with this dose too long with a +2 of 52. When Max does that he needs a reduction by the next morning. Surf nicely, Eddie. No diving please.
 
Re: 5/22 Eddie AMPS 299, +6.5/148, PMPS 58, +2/54, +3/49

Hi Elise! Thanks for stopping!

Well shoot. Looks like I probably should have fed some higher carb a little sooner to try to avoid a reduction. +3 = 49.

Do I have to reduce again due to the 49?
 
Re: 5/22 Eddie AMPS 299, +6.5/148, PMPS 58, +2/54, +3/49

no, with a 49 it's not a required reduction. i see the 47 in there tonight too. i think i'd carb him a bit and try to avoid a reduction. If you can give him a little more time at this dose, we might see those high numbers come down.

the question that we often ask when deciding if you really ought to take the reduction is "how hard are you having to work to keep him up?" if you feel like it's a lot of work to get him over 50 and keep him there, then you probably should take the reduction. if he's coming up easily, then maybe you can keep this dose a little longer.

there are a couple of choices for cats that haven't done well holding reductions in the past.

One is to shave the dose rather than taking the full 0.25u reduction.

Another is to say that you'll let him go below 50 on 3 separate cycles and then take the full 0.25u reduction.

The important thing here is that you don't mix and match these two. If you're going to shave the dose, don't let him go below 50 3 times and then shave it. he'll end up crashing because the dose will be too high. If you're going to do the 3 times below 50 and then reduce, you need to take the full 0.25u reduction. i'm not sure if i said that right, but hopefully you get the idea. do one or the other.

since he's still having day cycles that are out of the normal range (50-120), i'd probably try to keep him on this dose a little longer. but the choice is up to you.
 
Re: 5/22 Eddie AMPS 299, +6.5/148, PMPS 58, +2/54, +3/49

The other question I'd ask is - why don't you want to take the reduction? Eddie's only had one reduction on Lantus so far, and he did a fine job holding it. However. as Julie says, it's OK to hold it a bit if you want to try to get him more green and bring numbers down overall. But be prepared that Eddie may tell you sooner rather than later that he really doesn't like this dose. One other thing to add, if he goes below 40, a .25U reduction is strongly recommended.
 
Re: 5/22 Eddie AMPS 299, PMPS 58, +2/54, +3/49, +4/42

Julie and Wendy -

Thank you so much for your input.

Wendy&Neko said:
The other question I'd ask is - why don't you want to take the reduction?
This is a good question, Wendy. I actually don't really know why other than I guess I had it in my mind that we'd still be going up rather than down, and I worry about losing ground, maybe?

You do have a good point, Wendy...Eddie actually did seem to hold the reduction from 2.5u to 2.25u just fine after he finished bouncing. And he is still less than 6 months from diagnosis.

I totally fine with being a bit more aggressive - within reason of course, and subject to the fact that I can't monitor extensively during the day. I'd love to see him flatten out and be in normal numbers more of the time, but maybe he's just a bouncy kitty? His SS sure doesn't look like a kitty that's ready to earn reductions close in time. Between shaving the dose or letting him go below 50 three times, I lean towards the latter, just to make consistent dosing a little easier. I dunno. confused_cat

I did bust out the HC "candy" with the 42 at +4, so I think I'll see how things go for the time being.
 
Re: 5/22 Eddie AMPS 299, PMPS 58, +2/54, +3/49, +4/42

wendy's got a good point about taking the reduction. no reason why you shouldn't give it a try - and if you see the numbers trending up, don't hesitate to go right back up in dose immediately.

my thought was that he has a lot of day cycle numbers that are pretty high still. but . . . that doesn't mean that you shouldn't reduce. the choice is yours.
 
Re: 5/22 Eddie AMPS 299, PMPS 58, +2/54, +3/49, +4/42, +5/54

Thanks Julie!

Ah, decisions, decisions. nailbite_smile I thought you weren't supposed to have to make decisions on dose on the TR protocol. :lol: ;-)

I think I'm going to hold the dose through the next two cycles, since I'm going to be home to monitor Eddie as much as needed. I will be leaving Saturday morning with Eddie to head to the lake. He won't eat on the car ride, and last weekend he ate just a little less than normal while we were at the lake. In light of those things, I'll probably take the reduction to 2.0 Saturday morning for safety during the drive and while at the lake. We'll be driving back Monday morning, so that will give us 5 full cycles to see if he will hold the reduction, and we can take him right back up Monday evening if it looks like it's not holding.

Does that sound like a reasonable plan (of course provided that he stays in the 50's now that he's up, and provided that he doesn't do something crazy in the next two cycles.)?
 
Re: 5/22 Eddie AMPS 299, PMPS 58, +2/54, +3/49, +4/42, +5/54

Eddie...there's no need to flirt with that 50 all night long. Surfing at 70 would be a perfectly acceptable alternative!

Wish I could help you with the decision to hold or reduce, Jen. I'll be watching to see how it goes. (Okay....that sounds creepy, but it really isn't meant to! :lol:)
 
Re: 5/22 Eddie AMPS 299, PMPS 58, +2/54, +3/49, +4/42, +5/54

I am watching too. When faced with that decision Max made it for me last time by dropping under 40. Good luck with whatever you decide to do.
 
Re: 5/22 Eddie AMPS 299, PMPS 58, +2/54, +3/49, +4/42, +5/54

Good eye on the high before he break. Mite important to be able to spot those. And Wendy besg me to the BOS but I'm glad someone give them to you :lol:

IMHO, this is the fifth cycle after the last reduction and he got down to 42 even with feeding. I would probably rethink about reducing even if you just shave. Yes, he was clearing a bounce and sometimes that can be a more active cycle....but he's still just at 54. Just sayin' :-D
 
Re: 5/22 Eddie AMPS 299, PMPS 58, +3/49, +4/42, +5/54, +5.5/

Shelly - thanks for visiting! :-D I don't know if Eddie's ever surfed in the 70's. :-D He seems to prefer to live life on the edge in the 50's when he surfs for some reason. :mrgreen:

Elise - thanks for stopping by! The last time, Eddie made the decision for me too by getting a 39. This cycle looks really similar to that cycle too, just 3 points higher with a 42. I'm awful at making decisions. nailbite_smile

Marje - thank you so much for your input! I was aggressive with dosing on ProZinc (in hindsight probably too aggressive), and I'm comfortable with the idea of being a bit more aggressive on TR. I'm just not sure whether it's preferable (or which will work better for Eddie), to let him earn reductions (or at least not fight too hard) and see what happens or to aim for normal numbers throughout the cycle. It seems like the kitties that go OTJ fast and furious tend to "snap" into normal cycles all at once. But in other SS's it seems like there are kitties that bounce their way all the way to OTJ. For now, I think I'm going to see what Eddie does for tonight. He dipped again to 49 after the last HC wore off, but I'm guessing he'll stay up after I fed some HC again. Since he seems to bounce for several cycles, I think if I hold the dose for two more cycles, we should be safe - unless the depot gets too far ahead of me.

Also - and this is probably subjective - when we talk about "how hard did you have to work to keep him above 50" - what does that mean? I know on ProZinc there was one cycle where I absolutely couldn't get Eddie to stay above 50 with like 8 or 10 feedings of medium and high carb food, and I had to resort to Karo, and he still dropped a few hours later. That was hard work. So far, I don't consider tonight really working hard? Does it look like I'm working hard?? :lol: :?:

I also wonder if some kitties bounce more when they're trying to earn a reduction, and settle down a bit if the dose needs to go down?
 
Re: 5/22 Eddie PMPS 58, +3/49, +4/42, +5/54, +5.5/49, +6/61

I also wonder if some kitties bounce more when they're trying to earn a reduction, and settle down a bit if the dose needs to go down?

Hmmm.....I am not sure exactly what you mean but if you mean what I think, I also think it's ECID. For Gracie, if she's ready for a reduction, she bounces less because her dose is higher and smooths out the bounce. You can look at her SS the last few days and see what I mean. When I take her down, there's a chance I'll see her start bouncing more unless the dose is still too high. Because she is a bouncy girl. :-D

Eddie is just surfing right now unless you are feeding to keep him here. If you are feeding to keep him surfing, you probably need to reduce. If he's surfing on his own with no food mgmt, I can see where you might want to wait on the reduction.

But I would be careful about letting the depot get ahead of me.
 
Thanks Marjie :smile:

Looks like Eddie is safely surfing on his own now. Last fed HC about 1.5 hrs ago, and it looks like the HC lasts about that long for him, and he's not going back down.

Marje and Gracie said:
I also wonder if some kitties bounce more when they're trying to earn a reduction, and settle down a bit if the dose needs to go down?

This was poorly worded on my part :oops: - to clarify - I wonder if kitties flatten out and bounce less as they earn reductions.

I'd love to see more blue and green on Eddie's SS hence my inclination to avoid reductions. My gut says to hold the dose for at least a little bit...so I think I'm going to do that and see what happens for the next cycle or two.
 
Okey doke!

I think if a kitty is a bouncer, then you might still see bouncing SS the dose decreases because there is less insulin to smooth it out. That's been my observation unless, of course, the kitty snaps. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top