Re: 5/21/14-Zack AMPS 151
i'm sorry you guys are having such a hard time of it. it is stressful at the beginning for everyone, but it's extra stressful for you guys because Zack's actually responding so well. Many new cats don't see low numbers for a while, but Zack's getting into greens almost every cycle. Which is great, but hard on you.
What you're doing is working - so hang in there!
Pixie has just "clicked" and gone into all green numbers. You might be interested in his spreadsheet. Once cats are doing well and getting into green numbers, some of them take their time going down the dosing scale and some go quickly. Here are some different spreadsheets that might give you some ideas of what to expect.
Jersey - she got done fairly suddenly. I would compare Jersey on 4/1 to about where Zack is right now. She mostly got dose reductions because she went under 50, then Shelly would reduce the dose by 0.25u.
Davidson was the coolest, most methodical cat ever in working off of insulin. He "clicked" with his dose around Feb 1st, and then worked his way down the dosing scale mostly by holding one week in normal numbers, then Shawna reduced his dose by 0.25u. Most of the time he didn't go under 50, although he hovered just by it a lot. He took a LONG time to go off, mostly dropping 0.25u once a week and he started at 2.75u, but he was in healthy numbers for the weeks that it took.
And
Dimitri, whose OTJ party was yesterday and is continuing today, his dose clicked about 4/22 when he stopped any bouncing over 300. His dose was mostly reduced because he went under 50. His OTJ trial started about 2 weeks after his dose clicked.
I'm just telling you all of this because I hear how exhausted you guys are and can imagine you're pretty nerve-wracked with it. But Zack is looking good, and i think everything points to him being a cat who will be able to become diet-controlled. He is spending longer stretches of time in green numbers (last night and today at least 4+ hrs at a stretch) which is great. Everything under 120 is considered normal, and he's now been under 200 for nearly 24 hrs. I just want to encourage you - if you can hang in there and muddle your way through the next little while, i think you're going to be very happy. I don't have a crystal ball and can't be certain, but i've seen a lot of cats here and in my opinion, Zack's spreadsheet looks hopeful.