5/21/14-Zack PMPS 226,+2 201,+3 146,+4 152,+5 147,+6 163

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: ? 5/21/14-Zack AMPS 151-please explain reduction

For a cat that's within the first year of diagnosis, a reduction is given if numbers drop below 50 or if the kitty is in normal numbers for a week.

The way the Tight Regulation protocol works is described in the Tight Regulation protocol sticky. The sticky contains general guidelines for when to increase and decrease the dose.
 
Re: ? 5/21/14-Zack AMPS 151-please explain reduction

Daughter will be home at noon to test.
No one will be here between 12 ans 6 today.
 
Re: ? 5/21/14-Zack AMPS 151-please explain reduction

So we have been cheating by giving the low carb food? We really have no idea how low he goes without food?
Is that the answer?
 
Re: 5/21/14-Zack AMPS 151

Daughter will be here until noon.
Paul coming home at noon.
I wil try and come home early.
We are going to feed low carb more often today.
Trying to make it to the weekend.
 
Re: 5/21/14-Zack AMPS 151

Hi guys .. just wanted to say that is one nice looking amps! Blue is always a nice way to start out the cycle! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/21/14-Zack AMPS 151

i'm sorry you guys are having such a hard time of it. it is stressful at the beginning for everyone, but it's extra stressful for you guys because Zack's actually responding so well. Many new cats don't see low numbers for a while, but Zack's getting into greens almost every cycle. Which is great, but hard on you.

What you're doing is working - so hang in there!

Pixie has just "clicked" and gone into all green numbers. You might be interested in his spreadsheet. Once cats are doing well and getting into green numbers, some of them take their time going down the dosing scale and some go quickly. Here are some different spreadsheets that might give you some ideas of what to expect.

Jersey - she got done fairly suddenly. I would compare Jersey on 4/1 to about where Zack is right now. She mostly got dose reductions because she went under 50, then Shelly would reduce the dose by 0.25u.

Davidson was the coolest, most methodical cat ever in working off of insulin. He "clicked" with his dose around Feb 1st, and then worked his way down the dosing scale mostly by holding one week in normal numbers, then Shawna reduced his dose by 0.25u. Most of the time he didn't go under 50, although he hovered just by it a lot. He took a LONG time to go off, mostly dropping 0.25u once a week and he started at 2.75u, but he was in healthy numbers for the weeks that it took.

And Dimitri, whose OTJ party was yesterday and is continuing today, his dose clicked about 4/22 when he stopped any bouncing over 300. His dose was mostly reduced because he went under 50. His OTJ trial started about 2 weeks after his dose clicked.

I'm just telling you all of this because I hear how exhausted you guys are and can imagine you're pretty nerve-wracked with it. But Zack is looking good, and i think everything points to him being a cat who will be able to become diet-controlled. He is spending longer stretches of time in green numbers (last night and today at least 4+ hrs at a stretch) which is great. Everything under 120 is considered normal, and he's now been under 200 for nearly 24 hrs. I just want to encourage you - if you can hang in there and muddle your way through the next little while, i think you're going to be very happy. I don't have a crystal ball and can't be certain, but i've seen a lot of cats here and in my opinion, Zack's spreadsheet looks hopeful.
 
Re: 5/21/14-Zack AMPS 151,+2 155,+4 66,+5 62,+6 56,+7 59

no lunch today, no one fed any extra canned food, low carb or otherwise. Zack only had freeze dried treats and two slices of cheese as post BG test treats.
 
Re: 5/21/14-Zack AMPS 151,+4 66,+5 62,+6 56,+7 59, PMPS 226

I am sorry we have been so impatient. Trying real hard to be good cat parent.
 
Re: 5/21/14-Zack AMPS 151,+4 66,+5 62,+6 56,+7 59, PMPS 226

You're really doing great Holly! Trust me, we all understand and there's no need to apologize!

And just think..if you can hang in there awhile longer, it does look like Zack may be one of the lucky kitties who can be diet controlled and then you won't have to do all this work!

And it should ease your mind some to know that he did so great today with just snack's of low carb food!

I think if you invest in one of the auto-feeders, you could save yourself a lot of worry since you can "schedule" his meals throughout the cycle.

Go Zack!
 
Re: 5/21/14-Zack AMPS 151,+4 66,+5 62,+6 56,+7 59, PMPS 226

hyolles said:
I am sorry we have been so impatient. Trying real hard to be good cat parent.

i don't think you're impatient at all. i think you love Zack and are trying to figure out how to keep him safe with this awful disease, while everyone is gone all day. it's a very valid concern and it is worth figuring out! Everyone here has been new and remembers how intensive it is. Really. It's pretty unforgettable, you know? :lol: i remember one day thinking "this is the 4th day. I can do this. I just gotta keep going." I had just pulled punkin out from under the sofa by one arm, hoping that i didn't dislocate his little shoulder by pulling on him, feeling sweaty and frazzled and like this was like living in a nightmare, but i had to suck it up, be the grown-up and JUST DO IT. we had to wrap him really tightly in a beach towel in order to keep him still while we tested. he looked like a little rigid shrimp on my lap, but at least i had him so he couldn't move! yes, it was absolutely unforgettable! :-D

i just want to encourage you, that's all. it's so intense that a person needs all the encouragement they can get!
 
Re: 5/21/14-Zack AMPS 151,+5 62,+6 56,+7 59, PMPS 226,+2 201

You guys are awesome. I am all choked up.
We got a good sized swing in the +2 numbers. -25 points. So we are going to take a nap. I have 11 & 12 (+4 & 5) shift, Paul has 1 & 2 a.m. (+6 & 7).
THANK YOU for all the encouragement.
I was afraid I was whining an awful lot this morning.
We could definitely not do this without your support.
 
Re: 5/21/14-Zack AMPS 151,+5 62,+6 56,+7 59, PMPS 226,+2 201

I'm betting his numbers don't go so low tonight and surf in the low 100's. Keep it up, Zack! You are OTJ bound! I can feel it!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top