5/20/14-Zack PMPS,+4 96,+5 78,+5.579,+6 70,+6.5 80,+8 91

Status
Not open for further replies.

hyolles

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118968&p=1245097#p1245097

Skipped PM shot yesterday because BG so low and dropping at shot time.

AMPS 296, +1 330,+6 82,+6.5 75,+7 100,+8 112,+10.5 186, PMPS 235, +2 203, +4 96, +5 78, +5.5 79, +6 70, +6.5 80, +8 91

Feeding schedule usually:

6 am breakfast canned wet
6 pm dinner canned wet
9 pm night cap canned wet

low carb snack after BG tests.

Shelby tested at +6. We asked her to feed 2-3 tsps. wet food. Went with a little higher carb than the low carb.
At +6.5 BG was 75. She fed him more.
At +7 he was up to 100, then at +8 112.

Any thoughts? Paul wants to lower the insulin to 1.25 u or even 1 u.
 
Re: 5/20/14-Zack AMPS 296,+1 330

You should look into getting an Auto-feeder. Lots of the people here use them!

I've seen some at PetCo and PetsMart too although they were more expensive than Amazon....but that way you could program it to open at noon if you wanted him to have a snack then!

Considering the skipped shot again, his numbers look pretty good!

One thing you should probably note....Zack seems to get a pretty significant food spike at +1 pretty much all the time...noticing and remembering details like that can be really helpful in making decisions when you get a low pre-shot that you're unsure about shooting
 
Re: 5/20/14-Zack AMPS 296,+1 330,+6 82,+6.5 75,+7 100,+8 112

Chris,

Paul is worried about the drop. Shelby will not be here the rest of the week.

Holly
 
Re: 5/20/14-Zack AMPS+6.5 75,+7 100,+8 112,+10.5 186,PMPS 23

Have you ever tried using food-sicles with Zack? That's another option if you don't want to get an auto-feeder

Zack is doing really well on this dose...we don't drop the dose unless they really earn it...otherwise the reduction usually just fails and you have to go right back up and start over again.

Today's cycle was really a pretty "normal" one (if there is such a thing as a "normal" cycle)..starting in the 200's, dropping into safe greens and then back up is pretty typical.

It looks like Zack's nadir is usually right around the +5 to +7 point, so I think he would have been fine even without the food then (would have been interesting to find out).

The fact he came up so well looks to me like he was going to be on his way up soon either way.
 
Re: 5/20/14-Zack AMPS+6.5 75,+7 100,+8 112,+10.5 186,PMPS 23

Paul says he thinks the higher carb food is what brought his numbers up?
Looking at auto feeders, with the frozen food.
Will lose the person to test him after tomorrow. Am nervous about that.
What if he drops too low while we are not home?
 
Re: 5/20/14-Zack AMPS+6.5 75,+7 100,+8 112,+10.5 186,PMPS 23

I'd also keep the dose the same.

It just doesn't work very well to reduce the dose in advance. then you get higher numbers overall, and there is even farther for them to go down.

I'd go with the autofeeder and set it to go every day at +3, +4, +5 and maybe +6 then spread the food out during those times. I might have given you the information earlier for the one we used - it's the PetSafe 5 compartment auto feeder. One huge advantage to that one is that you've got 4 covered compartments and you can set the times as you want. Some brands have preset times and aren't as flexible in getting what you want.

Are you both working too far from home to be able to run home on your lunch hour?
 
Re: 5/20/14-Zack AMPS+6.5 75,+7 100,+8 112,+10.5 186,PMPS 23

I wanted to add that the fact that he already got back into greens today after last night's skipped shot is really great. As intensive as this is for you right now, he's looking good - and the more time he spends with his numbers under 120, the more his pancreas has the opportunity to heal. That gives the possibility of becoming diet-controlled, which of course, would be ideal.

If you can hang in there, get the feeder and try it out when you're home so he gets used to the noise of it opening and will go eat from it, hopefully his numbers will flatten out so it won't be so nerve-wracking every day.

Oh, and I bought my feeder at a local PetCo - but they are available many places and online.
 
Re: 5/20/14-Zack AMPS+6.5 75,+7 100,+8 112,+10.5 186,PMPS 23

Julie,

Looking into auto feeder.
Paul is worried about isolating Zack.
He ate the frozen popsicle.
Before it thawed.
But I am thinking that is a plus if we feed during the day, we can put them in the feeder frozen.

You do feed canned in your feeder, right?
 
Re: 5/20/14-Zack PMPS 235,+2 203,+4 96 When to feed?

When should I start feeding high carb? at what number?
 
Re: 5/20/14-Zack PMPS 235,+2 203,+4 96 When to feed?

I'd give him a couple tsp of low carb food now. Wait for under 50 for high carb. The low carb now might slow him down a little and encourage him to surf. The more time spend in these heeling green numbers, the better.
 
Re: 5/20/14-Zack PMPS 235,+2 203,+4 96,+5 78

yes, we put regular canned cat food in the feeder. it'll be ok in there for the day. i worried about the food sitting out, but apparently it's ok for cats. lots of people do it and no one has mentioned the cat getting sick from it. i used to put the food in the compartments, then drop an ice cube on top of the food in every compartment. i figured as it melted it would keep the food cold and keep it from getting dry too.

if we tested before work and punkin looked like he might go lower, we put a combination of high and low carb food in the feeder. some compartments (earlier in the cycle) might have had low carb, then the +4-+5 ones might have had high carb in there. punkin had acromegaly and was always willing to eat, so we put in more food than we needed as insurance.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top