5/2 Lucian AMPS HI,+4/442,+8.75/318,PMPS 347,+4/415

Status
Not open for further replies.

nckitties3

Member Since 2013
It's been 10 days since his last 'HI'. Which is terrific for Lucian. Of course, it's also been 10 days since he was green, too. So not really surprised, but terribly disappointed. I was expecting a bounce, a big one, but had hoped it wouldn't be 600+.
If I remember right, 'shooting thru the bounce' is holding the dose, rather than reducing it, even though earned, which is what I'm gonna do. With that AMPS, not gonna reduce it yet. Maybe tonight.
 
Re: 5/2 Lucian AMPS HI

nckitties3 said:
It's been 10 days since his last 'HI'. Which is terrific for Lucian. Of course, it's also been 10 days since he was green, too. So not really surprised, but terribly disappointed. I was expecting a bounce, a big one, but had hoped it wouldn't be 600+.
If I remember right, 'shooting thru the bounce' is holding the dose, rather than reducing it, even though earned, which is what I'm gonna do. With that AMPS, not gonna reduce it yet. Maybe tonight.

Thats it - you shoot through it.

I think I remember you just increased the dose a couple of days ago, didn't you? I wonder if maybe you should keep it where it is and perhaps just go with a reduced dose when shooting those lower numbers? At you took him up for a reason....and it seems like you were starting to get those better numbers you were looking for. But thats just my thinking out loud here.
 
Re: 5/2 Lucian AMPS HI

I took him up because 2.0 wasn't quite getting him there, but 2.25 may be a tad much. I may end up with a fat 2.0/skinny 2.25, hard to get between those two. :lol:
But I expect to hold on and give him a chance to earn it a second time, before reducing.
Lucian seems to be the 'extreme' version of everything, he is so NOT the norm. I can only use the guideline in it's roughest form with him. Guide says instant reduction under 50, but it is Lucian after all.
Thank heaven I am home to deal with this. If I was working, with Lucian being the way he is, I'd have to rehome him with someone that didn't work and had the fortitude to do what has to be done with him. He isn't a cat that follows the rules, that's for sure. @-)

I think I'll try to catch another hour or 2's sleep. Of course, when I need it, I can't get it. :lol: Decisions, decisions, try to go btb or just bite the bullet and make coffee? Gonna try btb..........

Oh and shooting a reduced dose with Lucian? Might as well not shoot at all, it sets him back for weeks, just like a furshot. He just can't overcome it in a timely manner like most cats do. :shock: That's why we are where we are. He was doing much better, until I screwed up his shots and we had to practically start over from scratch.
 
Re: 5/2 Lucian AMPS HI

I'm not sure I would reduce him unless he makes a repeat run for the basement. Or if you do reduce him not take him all the way down to 2u from 2.25. If you do decide to reduce maybe only go down to a Fat 2u. To do that, you want the bottom on the plunger to rest right on the top of the 2u line so there is no daylight between the bottom of the plunger and the 2u line.

My reasoning for that is if you look back at his spreadsheet, every time you take him all the way down to a true 2u, he doesn't hold and you end up taking him back up again. Yet 2.25u seems to be just a touch to much. It looks a lot like what I was running into with Autumn where .5 was too much but .25 wasn't enough, so I had to start going drop by drop to fine tune the dose.

I think you are really close to what his ideal dose is, it just isn't a standard, easy to measure dose. Of course did we really expect after all this time that Lucian would make something easy? :lol: :roll:

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 5/2 Lucian AMPS HI

LOL I know and about the exact same time...we must have both been posting at the same time. Don't know about great minds at least on my side this morning but at least we care beginning to unravel the enigma that is Lucian. :-D

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 5/2 Lucian AMPS HI

In time, I may have to write my own stickie..."What to do when your cat doesn't follow ANY of the rules" :lol:
 
Re: 5/2 Lucian AMPS HI

nckitties3 said:
Oh and shooting a reduced dose with Lucian? Might as well not shoot at all, it sets him back for weeks, just like a furshot. He just can't overcome it in a timely manner like most cats do. :shock: That's why we are where we are. He was doing much better, until I screwed up his shots and we had to practically start over from scratch.

Deb, I was looking at your spreadsheet - and I'm not seeing where you shot reduced and it caused problems. I see a 3/12 where you shot 1.5 instead of 2.25 and it took him a couple of days to clear but then you were right back with a 221.

I see a 4/1 where you took it down just a bit from 1.5 to 1.35 shooting less than 100 and he did OK - but then the 4/2 165 you shoot only a 1.00....and then dropped again to .75 at the 468 bounce. That's a 50% dose drop in 24 hours and I'm not sure that's really a fair evaluation of whether or not he can handle a reduced dose. What I think I'm seeing is a cat that is going to bounce off greens hard....and seems to be more consistently comfortable if you can keep him above 90 or so.

And please don't take this as a criticism or a disagreement....I'm just not seeing what you're seeing - so can you show it to me....
 
Re: 5/2 Lucian AMPS HI

Will Lucian bounce off greens? yeah. Will he bounce for no apparent reason whatsoever? Absolutely. That's Lucian.

I recognize my mistakes and it will take time to get him back where he was. I've given incorrect dose and gave reduced doses when I shouldn't have, because I was too CS to shoot at a lower number and it set him back, when progress was slow to start with. Because of that, we're back up to 2.25 and lost the footing we had gained. He had been slowly improving and earning his reductions. But because of where I messed up, I had to take him right back up there again. Loss of progress.

I'm home to monitor him 24/7 and will do whatever it takes, there's no reason for me to give him a reduced dose, unless he is so low that I won't shoot at all, then I'll attempt an OTJ trial. But I doubt that will ever happen.

I do appreciate your concern, but just like you told me when I didn't understand why you do what you do with Jez and gave you unsolicited advice, you know your cat and bottom line, it's not my business. I have to play the hand I/Lucian was dealt and handle Lucian's treatment the way I feel is best. It's ok, we can agree to disagree, we all have to follow our gut and do what we feel is best for our cats.

He's shown slow improvement in the last 10 days. That's the longest period yet, in our 5 months, without a black block on his SS and I'm pleased with that. It's been a while since he saw green, the bounce was not a surprise, I had hoped he would stay under 600, but, again, that's Lucian. Lately, he's been getting over the bounces faster and, until today, wasn't bouncing as high. I hope that trend continues and doesn't go back to black every 2-3 days like he used to.

I'd love for him to stay around 90. I'd be perfectly satisfied if he just stayed under renal threshold consistently, but that isn't happening yet. Maybe eventually it will, but for now, I'll do what I feel is right and we'll keep hoping for the best.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top