5/2 Gumung amps 439

Also, quick question to everyone, I need to travel(work) around three days, and my brother is not comfortable with checking my cat BGs and also shooting insulin. Is it possible to take few days off from insulin? And if I do that, could this break all the work (his progress) into nothing and need to start over again?
 
+4 115
+5.5 80
Yay! Green!

Also, quick question to everyone, I need to travel(work) around three days, and my brother is not comfortable with checking my cat BGs and also shooting insulin. Is it possible to take few days off from insulin? And if I do that, could this break all the work (his progress) into nothing and need to start over again?
You do not want to completely stop insulin. What we do when we travel and have a sitter (or a friend or relative) who can only shoot but not test (or test vet much) is to give a lower dose that we call a vacation dose.
When do you need to travel?
 
Can you get your brother to practice shooting insulin between now and then? You could do a easy to draw dose like 4.0 units and leave a test syringe with coloured liquid in it to show the amount. Get him to practice shooting on something like an orange first, then try helping you at shot time.
 
Yay! Green!


You do not want to completely stop insulin. What we do when we travel and have a sitter (or a friend or relative) who can only shoot but not test (or test vet much) is to give a lower dose that we call a vacation dose.
When do you need to travel?

I am not sure why I haven’t got any email with new messages on this forum lately, sorry to reply late.
Yes, maybe my brother can handle few shooting insulin. How low dose can I give him? If it is few unit like 2 or 3? Then I can teach him to do insulin pen needle which it can be easier for him?
 
Can you get your brother to practice shooting insulin between now and then? You could do a easy to draw dose like 4.0 units and leave a test syringe with coloured liquid in it to show the amount. Get him to practice shooting on something like an orange first, then try helping you at shot time.

sorry for the late reply, is it possible if I prepare insulin in syringe ( lets say vacation dose as 3 unit) and leave them in fridge. And when shooting time comes, he just need to shoot insulin and give foods in scheduled time?
could prepared insulin in syringe go bad even if they are in fridge?
 
From the Sticky Note on Insulin Care and Syringe Info: Pre-filling Syringes with Lantus (see page 3) is NOT recommended.

I think 3.0 units would be too low. You could leave syringes with the dose marked with a Sharpie as another option. Do you think he would have problems drawing the insulin into the syringe?
 
From the Sticky Note on Insulin Care and Syringe Info: Pre-filling Syringes with Lantus (see page 3) is NOT recommended.

I think 3.0 units would be too low. You could leave syringes with the dose marked with a Sharpie as another option. Do you think he would have problems drawing the insulin into the syringe?

I see, maybe just 4 unit with lantus pen needle might work for him. I will have to show him starting today. Thank you for the suggestion on sharpie, but he has some fears on sharp things.
 
Back
Top