5/2 Asia AMPS 366, +6 87 cardiology report

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stacy & Asia

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-1-asia-amps-407-5-212-9-130-pmps-321-r-question.194981/

We are back, Asia did very well, she made some new fans.

The cardiologist basically said she’s old, but nothing crazy is going on and she shouldn’t need meds. The fluids probably overwhelmed her and in the future if she needs fluids for an acute reason to put her on a very slow drip over a long period of time as opposed to sub-q. He said she has some stiffness and mild right atrial enlargement. Her official diagnosis is ‘restrictive physiology’. I don’t know if that’s RCM or something else, I know nothing about hearts and didn’t have the report in hand until I was at the front desk and ready to leave. If any of this means anything to anybody, let me know. Will send and follow up with my vet and see what she says.

No crying yet on my part, so either this is good news or I don’t really understand what any of it means (I don’t, but it could still be good news). o_O

A069C662-30C2-4BB3-A46F-C031686EEF4A.jpeg


By the way, I’m Asia’s “owner” is says so right there on the paper. Hear that Asia? I own you! Now read TR and do what it says! :joyful:
 
Wow - this does sound like a great report. To me, the report means that she has some narrowness but that is based on her own anatomy and not a disease. I don't know the details re: numbers / ranges, but I hope more experienced eyes will confirm all is well.

Hope this gives you peace of mind. I know there is no specific action, but that is because there is no specific problem. Congrats on a great report and making new friends and fans!
 
Sounds like a nice report to me whenever no meds are required. Maybe tag Doodles and Karen and Wendy and Neko as they both have experience with the heart stuff.


Nice nadir!
 
Wow - this does sound like a great report. To me, the report means that she has some narrowness but that is based on her own anatomy and not a disease. I don't know the details re: numbers / ranges, but I hope more experienced eyes will confirm all is well.

Hope this gives you peace of mind. I know there is no specific action, but that is because there is no specific problem. Congrats on a great report and making new friends and fans!

I hope you are exactly right, that would be awesome! :)
 
I don't have experience with RCM, just HCM and CHF. The latter two are worse acronyms. From what googling I did, looks like maybe Asia's heart muscle is old and stiff, less flexible. So I could see it has to work harder and fluids could overwhelm it. Great news that no meds are indicated. I always got a verbal debrief from the cardio vet, with iPhone recording turned on.
 
Not a heart specialist by any means, but having one (surgery when 6!) and having had cats with heart problems, what I read in that report (particularly the restrictive physiology bit) is that she has an old heart but aside from that nothing is really noticeably wrong with it. Great news!
 
Very nice Asia. The report is quite good for a geriatric kitty. The heart due to age and stiffness has less elasticity is what it basically says. You would want to be very careful if you give fluids for the ckd. Are you a member of the ckd group? They could be valuable source for you regarding fluids. There is also group for hcm . There isn't an available link. They are on Facebook. Search for main coons and all other cats with hcm. Smokey was moderate to severe hcm so if he needed fluids it was no more than 50 cc a day and that the vets didn't like to do. He only received fluids once.
 
Very nice Asia. The report is quite good for a geriatric kitty. The heart due to age and stiffness has less elasticity is what it basically says. You would want to be very careful if you give fluids for the ckd. Are you a member of the ckd group? They could be valuable source for you regarding fluids. There is also group for hcm . There isn't an available link. They are on Facebook. Search for main coons and all other cats with hcm. Smokey was moderate to severe hcm so if he needed fluids it was no more than 50 cc a day and that the vets didn't like to do. He only received fluids once.

I’m on Tanya’s email group for CKD. She technically doesn’t need fluids based on her numbers alone at this point in time. I did ask if any amount was too much and he said sub-q would be the issue because it’s all at once. I split the 100mL to twice a day 50mLs back when and it was still problematic.

Thanks again for the recommendation. He couldn’t be any nicer and he explained things well (I just didn’t fully understand it all because it’s over my head). ;)
 
I don't have experience with RCM, just HCM and CHF. The latter two are worse acronyms. From what googling I did, looks like maybe Asia's heart muscle is old and stiff, less flexible. So I could see it has to work harder and fluids could overwhelm it. Great news that no meds are indicated. I always got a verbal debrief from the cardio vet, with iPhone recording turned on.

He was talking to me during the echo and said this or that as he was looking at it. Questions were at the end and all I could think to ask was it’s not HCM? Questions about fluids in the future and does this condition require meds or are there any meds or things she should avoid given the findings. So I remember what he said, I just didn’t have time to process and come up with questions. I wasn’t even anticipating having a conversation on results with him, I just assumed I could be with Asia and that the findings would be sent on to me and to my vet and I would hear what it all means from her. :p

But I’m thinking if it were something to be majorly concerned with, I would hope that would be clear.
 
Sounds fabulous news to me for one of our Super Seniors :bighug::):bighug::) Wonder hiw Asia will take the ownership news :joyful:

On a serious note, it’s always been a weird word to me, how can any living creature “own” another one? I am responsible for her, just like my kids, but they are not things and they are not my property. :p

I’m sure she’s all too happy to let me believe it though, because it fits in with her master plan to leave the hooman unsuspecting. :joyful: I think we all know who’s in charge here! ;)
 
Nothing more to add and do agree with Wendy, Paula and the others. His concern with fluids is because they could be problematic and send things in the wrong direction but it's more because of her age and her little heart shouldn't be over-worked. Fluids have sent kitties into CHF so glad Miss Asia doesn't need them at the moment. Remember ...heart always trumps kidneys.

You're her guardian, not her owner....gesh :)
 
Nothing more to add and do agree with Wendy, Paula and the others. His concern with fluids is because they could be problematic and send things in the wrong direction but it's more because of her age and her little heart shouldn't be over-worked. Fluids have sent kitties into CHF so glad Miss Asia doesn't need them at the moment. Remember ...heart always trumps kidneys.

You're her guardian, not her owner....gesh :)

I’m so, so, so thankful for you, Wendy and this board. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: My gut said the fluids were messing with her but I might have ignored that nagging feeling and trusted my vet that said keep doing fluids anyway if not for you all sharing your experiences. It really was a tough call because her kidneys were in a bit of a crisis just then and she wasn’t staying hydrated on her own at first, but she never had any weird signs or breathing issues until the fluids and the fact that it stopped when the fluids stopped says everything.
 
He was talking to me during the echo and said this or that as he was looking at it. Questions were at the end and all I could think to ask was it’s not HCM? Questions about fluids in the future and does this condition require meds or are there any meds or things she should avoid given the findings. So I remember what he said, I just didn’t have time to process and come up with questions. I wasn’t even anticipating having a conversation on results with him, I just assumed I could be with Asia and that the findings would be sent on to me and to my vet and I would hear what it all means from her. :p

But I’m thinking if it were something to be majorly concerned with, I would hope that would be clear.

I don't understand the technical stuff either. But after he explained it all. The numbers I have no idea. I look at the bottom of report on findings, prognosis, what treatment is suggested. The facility sends report to my vet. My vet calls me when he gets it and goes over it again with me.
 
This looks like a fabulous report for Asia! As far as I am aware, a restrictive physiology is not the same as RCM. The prognosis for RCM is similar to that of HCM and DCM, and is guarded to poor. Given he listed Asia's prognosis as fair to good I'd say that is a GREAT thing! I'm so pleased to hear this good news :cat:
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-1-asia-amps-407-5-212-9-130-pmps-321-r-question.194981/


No crying yet on my part, so either this is good news or I don’t really understand what any of it means (I don’t, but it could still be good news). o_O

View attachment 35877

By the way, I’m Asia’s “owner” is says so right there on the paper. Hear that Asia? I own you! Now read TR and do what it says! :joyful:
I think it's mostly good news, with a touch of bad news that you already knew. Asia is 21 years old, so some aging affects the heart.
However, really it sounds good! How would you handle a drip? I've monitored drips before, but only because my vet was an old friend, and he trusted me.
 
This looks like a fabulous report for Asia! As far as I am aware, a restrictive physiology is not the same as RCM. The prognosis for RCM is similar to that of HCM and DCM, and is guarded to poor. Given he listed Asia's prognosis as fair to good I'd say that is a GREAT thing! I'm so pleased to hear this good news :cat:

Oh yay! That is reassuring. The past 8 months for her have been such a roller coaster of sudden health issues for her, she was due for a win, and I’ll take this as one! :woot:
 
I think it's mostly good news, with a touch of bad news that you already knew. Asia is 21 years old, so some aging affects the heart.
However, really it sounds good! How would you handle a drip? I've monitored drips before, but only because my vet was an old friend, and he trusted me.

I don’t think I would do a drip. If anything, I would give syringes full of sub q very spaced out and mimic a drip. But likely I will just load up her food with water like I have done and hope her kidneys remain stable enough until such time as they aren’t and there isn’t much to be done about it.
 
I don’t think I would do a drip. If anything, I would give syringes full of sub q very spaced out and mimic a drip. But likely I will just load up her food with water like I have done and hope her kidneys remain stable enough until such time as they aren’t and there isn’t much to be done about it.

I load the water into the food too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top