? 5/2/2023 MISSY: AMPS 101 When to stop increasing the dose with TR?

MISSY + Simone&MICIO (GA)

Member Since 2021
There is no set dose that a diabetic cat needs. Every cat is different. Some cats needs more than others.
You are getting very good BG numbers with the 3 unit dose so I would stay with the 3 units unless she drops under 50 in which case you would reduce the dose. She is having lovely flat cycles.
Are you giving snacks during the cycles both am and pm cycles?
 
There is no set dose that a diabetic cat needs. Every cat is different. Some cats needs more than others.
You are getting very good BG numbers with the 3 unit dose so I would stay with the 3 units unless she drops under 50 in which case you would reduce the dose. She is having lovely flat cycles.
Are you giving snacks during the cycles both am and pm cycles?
Thanks, that's what I though doing and stay at 3u unless numbers go too low or higher again.
Missy eats every 6 hours, I give her little freeze died snack only mid morning (right after I test her at +3); in the afternoon she has to take Denamarin pill with empty stomach/ away from meals and I just let her lick some Fortiflora for the flavor. Sometimes, she'll get extra "treats" when I cook her favorite fresh wild caught salmon or I open a can of tuna in water just for Princess Missy (I'm vegan)....I used to cook ribeye steak for my Micio :D
Do treats in between meals make a big impact on BG's?
 
3 units is no where near considered a high dose. There is no recommended dose number where you stop increasing. Every cat is different as to what dose they need.

You stop increasing, if following TR, when kitty is tightly regulated. By the way, it would help if you can put TR in your signature, if you are following TR. The definition of tightly regulated, from the New to the Group Sticky Note is:
Tightly regulated - generally below 150 (8.3) and usually in the 60-120 (3.3-6.7) range, no hypoglycemia, still receiving insulin

I think you can still increase. Missy's nadirs are still high enough greens that you have room for an increase. Although I think she's really close. With TR, you increase every 10 cycles if kitty is seeing green nadirs, so you could increase anytime now.

Do treats in between meals make a big impact on BG's?
No, unless kitty is incredibly carb sensitive, low or zero carb treats should make no difference. You might want to change that +3 freeze dried treat to a little bit of her LC food for a snack. Kitties seem to do better with several small meals. Ideally you wouldn't feed after nadir, as the insulin effect is starting to wear after that. Right now her nadir looks earlier than +6.
 
Back
Top