5/18 Jill AMPS 244 | +3 121 | +6 126 | PMPS 158 | +3 151

Debra and Jill (the cat)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday's BGs >
AMPS 246 | +2 137 | +5 104 | +8.25 175 | PMPS 228 | +3 142 | +6 147

(no discussion yesterday to link to)

Jill's SS >

We've been doing TR with .5 units since 5/14 -- her numbers aren't really much different than with the .25 dose. Are we due for another .25 increase?
 
Wondering if anyone has advice: Jill is peeing all over. I thought it was getting better but these past few days it's been worse. She's peeing on rugs and in her water bowls. She's also peeing in litter boxes. Should I get her tested for a UTI? I know this a diabetic kitty thing, but does it stop?!
 
If you don’t see green tonight I would increase tomorrow morning. Her numbers aren’t that high for her to be peeing so much and not in the boxes. I definitely would check for a UTI. Has she had any in the past?
 
I haven't seen greens yet, but close to it!

No UTIs in the past. Part of it might be in response to one of the other cats bullying her now that she's been "sick," but I'll call my vet today. Thank you!
 
I haven't seen greens yet, but close to it!

No UTIs in the past. Part of it might be in response to one of the other cats bullying her now that she's been "sick," but I'll call my vet today. Thank you!
Definitely could be the bullying but worth checking out. It should not be from her numbers.
 
How did your vet want you to dose? If supposed to give more, you were afraid of a hypo. If less you were afraid would get ketones. Or just smile and say ok to whatever he/she says to do and then continue following the proven method. I was lucky. My vet never micro managed my suggestions. I sent him my ss every few weeks. If I forgot and was in his office he would mention he hadn’t seen my ss recently. He later showed my ss to his vet students and said I managed Max’s as well or better than any of his other clients. I was the first to use a Relion meter. He never said I needed a pet meter or RX food.

Your ss will speak for itself.
 
The vet said:
-- any BG below 200 to skip insulin
-- 200-250 to give 1/2 unit
-- over 250 to give 1 unit

Jill was (is still) below 200 a lot, especially for PM shots, so we skipped PMs almost all the time. it's on my SS!

I did that for about a month until I came back here to the forum for better advice. She's pretty good about letting me run with this, but I don't want to make her feel like I think she doesn't know how to do her job. Even though most vets are clueless about treating diabetes, as we all know. Why is that?!
 
They get very little training in FD and even less in diet. They don’t think their clients will know how to dose smaller amounts of insulin and fear a hypo. The result is cats don’t get insulin and develop toxicity requiring even more insulin. How about just not showing her the ss. Listen to her advice and then ignore it.
 
I'll let her know what I'm doing and not go into detail if we don't need to. They have a link to my ss but I doubt they check it. When my first cat was Dx with diabetes I had an amazing vet who sent me here and we got him into remission in a week! He lived until he was almost 20 years old. This vet doesn't have her own practice anymore, though - she works for Banfield.
 
Back
Top