5/18 Jack: 69@AMPS, 70@+2, reduced back to 7.5u

Jack & Mopem'sMom

Member Since 2020
So after one day/two cycles of the 7.75u Jack woke up to 69, ate his normal pate/kibble combo for breakfast, and got himself a reduction back to 7.5units. He ate his normal, crummy prime filets for dinner last night and ended up just over 300 before bed. It's been a busy day so far today, and I'm tired, but thankful I'm working from home and can monitor Jack's BG this morning. I'm guessing he'll end up near 200 by his PMPS but who knows, maybe he will stay green/blue all day and give his mom a break. It seems like 7.5units works initially but it seems to wear off, especially since Jack insists on kibble and filets. I don't know anymore.

Yesterday's thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-amps-increased-to-7-75u.277645/#post-3072299
 
Morning Christine, very nice start for today, I'm keeping my fingers crossed he does stay green/blue all day . I'll check back later to peek at his SS :bighug::bighug:
Eh, don't bother, the SS is just depressing. Decided to do a curve since he was low this morning and I was going to be working from home, and the meeting schedule allowed for it. Seems like he's burning through the insulin. I really need to look at the levemir, especially if that takes longer to kick in and the nadir is somewhat delayed. His blood ketones were still 0.3 earlier as well. :(:banghead:
 
I'm really sorry you're not seeing good numbers and the semglee seems to be wearing off faster. I hope when and if you do decide to try levemir it will work better for Jack. Hang in there Christine ,sending you lots of hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I hope the ketones come down :bighug:
 
I'm really sorry you're not seeing good numbers and the semglee seems to be wearing off faster. I hope when and if you do decide to try levemir it will work better for Jack. Hang in there Christine ,sending you lots of hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I hope the ketones come down :bighug:
I looked at the price of the Levemir :arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh: Unless he would need a much lower dose to make the vial last 3 months or so, I'm not sure I can afford it. It's about $128 for the glargine he's on now at walmart by me, and that lasts about 2 months. The Levemir is anywhere between $305-$326 a vial at various pharmacies by me, including walmart. There is apparently no generic option. I know a lot of people get insulin from Canada, so I have to look into that option. I'm not switching over the summer anyway (I'm BACK to NYC again this weekend :banghead:) so I have some time to research, and Jack has some time to surprise me with cooperation :rolleyes:...LOL! Oh, and the ketones are blood ketones, so according to the vet I wouldn't see them in his urine at this level, but I don't like seeing them at all, so I get testy about it. He never seems to go below 0.2 blood ketones anyway, and the vet had some story about certain cats just naturally having some ketones in their system all the time, which I'm not sure I buy, but have not had time to research. If 'meter variance' applies here too, maybe he doensn't have any and the meter is off....with his afternoon BG numbers I don't think that is the case though
 
Back
Top