5/16, Susie, 343 AMPS

Summer and Susie (GA)

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-15-susie-81-2-pm-need-help.247372/

As expected, Susie was pretty high this morning from the skipped dose and the medium carb food (15%) I fed last night. Also, maybe a bounce from the lower numbers yesterday. I have no regrets about pulling her shot last night. Reading some of the comments yesterday I'm still confused about why she continued to go down no matter how much I was feeding the curve. That is the scary part of it all and certainly adds to my plan not to push Susie into greens. At least not low to mid greens. Another experience to draw from.

Yes, @FrostD, I did take her back to 3 units this morning. Such a bummer because I thought we were making good progress with the fat 3 but after yesterday I am even more "gun shy". Thanks to all who did comment and offer support. I have some great friends on this site.

She is doing good today and enjoyed spending a lot of time outside in our beautiful, Florida weather. Wishing you all a beautiful day.
 
@Wendy&Neko or @Bandit's Mom or @tiffmaxee or @JaxBenji or anyone that can advise.
Hi Summer - I just wanted to say I didn't receive a notification for this tag - I'm going to assume no one you tagged got a notification. Please understand if someone can help, they will.

Are you following SLGS as written (reductions at 90)? Or are you following your custom dosing (reductions at 70)? It would be great to clarify in your signature and in your SS so that if you need help in the future, people understand the threshold.
 
I'm at reductions at 70 on my spread sheet and signature but 78 at PMPS was close enough for me to not want to shoot. If I had gotten a 78 mid day I would not have reduced but shooting a PS of 78 just made me a little nervous. I can't remember if I tried to tag you but if I did, and you didn't get it, then I guess I am doing something wrong. Do you think I did the right thing about not shooting at PMPS?
 
Sorry I missed seeing your posts yesterday! I was on the run all day. I wouldn't have been able to help with dosing but would have provided a friendly :bighug:. Looks like you did the right thing, and I hope Susie smooths out again today!
 
Sorry I missed seeing your posts yesterday! I was on the run all day. I wouldn't have been able to help with dosing but would have provided a friendly :bighug:. Looks like you did the right thing, and I hope Susie smooths out again today!
Might be a while before I get her back down. Thanks for you concern, Kathleen.
 
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-15-susie-81-2-pm-need-help.247372/

As expected, Susie was pretty high this morning from the skipped dose and the medium carb food (15%) I fed last night. Also, maybe a bounce from the lower numbers yesterday. I have no regrets about pulling her shot last night. Reading some of the comments yesterday I'm still confused about why she continued to go down no matter how much I was feeding the curve. That is the scary part of it all and certainly adds to my plan not to push Susie into greens. At least not low to mid greens. Another experience to draw from.

Yes, @FrostD, I did take her back to 3 units this morning. Such a bummer because I thought we were making good progress with the fat 3 but after yesterday I am even more "gun shy". Thanks to all who did comment and offer support. I have some great friends on this site.

She is doing good today and enjoyed spending a lot of time outside in our beautiful, Florida weather. Wishing you all a beautiful day.
Hi Summer, hope you and Susie have a peaceful, relaxing Sunday. This journey is yours and Susie’s. I know you will be the best mom to her. I know for me, I’ve made mistakes, done things I regretted that put Dolly in danger and overall learned a whole lot from all of you wonderful and caring friends that I will probably never meet in person. There are no guarantees on how our cats will do throughout their journey but we learn from others what gives them the best chance for a healthy life. I am beyond grateful for that and friends like you.:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I didn’t get the tags either. It seems if m not on the board I miss most.
What do you think, Elise? I feel I did the right thing by skipping the dose because she just kept going lower and lower despite the food I was feeding. I mean, why would I want to give insulin when I was trying desperately to get her to come up?
 
Hi Summer, hope you and Susie have a peaceful, relaxing Sunday. This journey is yours and Susie’s. I know you will be the best mom to her. I know for me, I’ve made mistakes, done things I regretted that put Dolly in danger and overall learned a whole lot from all of you wonderful and caring friends that I will probably never meet in person. There are no guarantees on how our cats will do throughout their journey but we learn from others what gives them the best chance for a healthy life. I am beyond grateful for that and friends like you.:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you. You always know the right thing to say to make me feel better.
 
Hi Summer, I'm just stopping by to say hello! Sorry you got scared last night with Susie. The green number at +12 was probably a late nadir. The 112 at PMBG +1 was from food, the 81@ +2 was the food wearing off and the depot taking over, the 153 @ +3 was probably food again. Who knows what happened after that, she may have dropped down a little again as the food wore off, but she's safe and that's all that matters. This is my (American) two cents worth of an explanation.

I hope you have had a good Sunday.
 
Hi Summer, I'm just stopping by to say hello! Sorry you got scared last night with Susie. The green number at +12 was probably a late nadir. The 112 at PMBG +1 was from food, the 81@ +2 was the food wearing off and the depot taking over, the 153 @ +3 was probably food again. Who knows what happened after that, she may have dropped down a little again as the food wore off, but she's safe and that's all that matters. This is my (American) two cents worth of an explanation.

I hope you have had a good Sunday.
Thanks, Suzanne. Yesterday was truly a bizarre day and I still don't know what happened to cause her to crash like that despite all the food I was feeding. As I stated in a previous post, I am now more "gun shy" than ever to not let her drop below 80 ever again. I found yesterday that I truly don't have the ability to stop the drop - even with food.
 
What do you think, Elise? I feel I did the right thing by skipping the dose because she just kept going lower and lower despite the food I was feeding. I mean, why would I want to give insulin when I was trying desperately to get her to come up?
Well, the reason to feeding to keep her up is the more time in normal numbers, the more healing takes place. I would not say she crashed. The good thing about lantus is when you shoot low you usually get a nice flat cycle. Not everyone feels comfortable shooting low. I get that. I was more upset seeing pink. That’s why there are two dosing methods. Are you changing your reduction number to under 80?
 
Back
Top