5/16 Maggie AMPS 291; +2 256; +4 139; PMPS 183

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
Maggie 5/15

Yesterday
AMPS 248
+4 90
+5 115
PMPS 96
RC Renal LP fuds

Morning ~O) well I am not surprised at all with this AMPS, as I re-introduced RC LP Modified canned to Mags last evening and surprise, surprise, she ate it. I first had her on this food September 29th of last year when her renal values increased. I had to increase her dose to compensate for the dose and will again if she decides to keep it as one of her entrees. She ate this for a while but then all of a sudden stopped eating it, and Cowboy Cookout and the firm Wellness won her over. Now...... :? fuds dilemma again.

On the fuds issue, I ordered Merrick Cowboy Cookout from Wag.com instead of always running to Petco and picking it up. It's the same food, but for some reason Mags stopped eating. Consistency is slightly different, just less moisture, and I did add water. I'll have to compare more closely the one from Petco and the other from Wag.com. Maybe just a coincidence on the snubbing of CC! :?

Thanks you for all your prezzie vines, as Mags delivered last night. :-D Detective Poo can cross her off th roster. She covered them up so well I barely smelled any aroma.
Today is Vetty visit at 8 am for her six months Senior Exam/blood panel, etc. I suspect a UTI, but the only symptom Mags has is urinating outside the box, not all the time though!

Wishing all a nice day.
 
Re: 5/16 Maggie AMPS 291

Good morning, ~O)

Good luck with the Vetty visit today, hope all goes well and no UTI. Have a great day,

Kathie
 
Re: 5/16 Maggie AMPS 291

Good luck on deciding whether to increase Maggie's dose if she keeps eating the new food. Yay on the prezzies. I hope everything goes well at the vet today.
 
Re: 5/16 Maggie AMPS 291; +2 256

Good luck with the vetty visit - I hope all is well.

Hey Mags, I comes over with mouse kabobs later and we can chew on the tails and hang out in the sun. You will feel better INSTANTLY! See ya later! ~your bro, Leo
 
Re: 5/16 Maggie AMPS 291; +2 256

Sending tons of good vetty vines your way!

These kitties and the fuds...although I'm thinking we need to blame the fuds companies for being inconsistent more than we need to blame the kitties for messing with their beans!

I replied over in Trix's condo...I don't know what part of the code tells me where the Wellness was manufactured. It seemed to be on the firm side to me, but it's been years since I've fed Wellness, so I have nothing recent to compare it to.

Oh yeah...yay for prezzies, too!

Have a great day and good vetty visit.
 
Re: 5/16 Maggie AMPS 291; +2 256

Morning Ann ~O) ~O) ~O)

Good vetty vines for Maggie. I hope all goes well,and she passes with flying colors.

Mannie always liked that Royal Canin Modified LP too. I can't remember the carbs on that one, but as I remember it spiked him up some too. Well good luck with the fuds dilemma. Interesting too on the CC! I had not noticed a consistency issue, but then again, mine always came from Petco. I wonder if it could be similar to the issue some report with wellness, and the manufacturing location. ??

I love the comment by Leo and his bringing Maggie mouse kabobs, lol, Mannie liked them too! Enjoy Maggie!

HOORAY! Prezzies!!

Have a great day Ann. Hope the vet goes well.

ETA: just read Amy's comment on the wellness. There should be a letter designation in the code, at the end I think,. C = Canadian, A = American.
 
Re: 5/16 Maggie AMPS 291; +2 256

Morning, Ann. Great news on the nighttime prezzies! And good girl, Maggie, for being so considerate to your mama's nose!

I'm also sending good vetty vines to Mags today.

Have a great day!
 
Re: 5/16 Maggie AMPS 291; +2 256; +4 139

+4 130
A nice surprise, and Mags has been eating RC Renal all morning. I wasn't expecting a nice drop, as I know the carbs rather high.

Thanks Kathie for the Vetty vines and your visit.

Carla, yeah prezzies were a nice gift. :-D

Thanks Lisa for checking on Mags. Leo, that would be great with the mouse kabobs later and chewing on the tails and hang out in the sun

Hi Amy, oh those letters where it's manufactured are so small. I need a magnifying glass. :lol: No worries. Mags loves the firm, and Gracie loves the fluffy.

Hi Michelle, I remember the RC is on Dr. Lisa's list but can't remember the carbs. It was the only low phosphorus I had after Mags snubbed the CC.

Hi Josie, thanks for the Vetty vines. Yay for prezzie is right, and poor Mags had a half bath so she would be all nice for Vetty. :lol:
 
Re: 5/16 Maggie AMPS 291; +2 256; +4 139

That +4=139 looks a little better on Maggie, doesn't it? Hope you guys have a nice Thursday!! Hugs!!
 
Re: 5/16 Maggie AMPS 291; +2 256; +4 139

Oh yeah, coming down nicely, Miss Mags :-D
Awww, Maggie gots a tushie bath for the vet staff, how nice is that! :-D

We're sending lots of good vetty vines and waiting to hear what a good girl she was, Ann
 
Re: 5/16 Maggie AMPS 291; +2 256; +4 139

Hi Ann

Remember me? :lol: :lol: :lol: I hope Mags continues to slide today and that the vet visit is a good one with a good lab report. I hope she doesn't have a UTI....maybe the higher BG has something to do with that?

We've been going through the same thing with Gus and fuds. But at least we don't HAVE to feed him LC but we try. I have a little more leeway than you do but he won't touch any of the renal stuff. I've started having to feed him some foods in the 220-230 phosphorus range which I don't like doing....just using more binder. Not ideal but I need him to eat. He eats well...he just does like Mags...loves it for a while and then snubs it. CC got the "boot" (no pun intended) from him a while back ;-) I hope you can find some good LC, low P foods she will eat.

Come on down Miss Maggie! Have a great day, Ann, and safe travels to the vet.
 
Re: 5/16 Maggie AMPS 291; +2 256; +4 139 Back from Vetty

Hi, Mags is back from Vetty and very happy and purry. She's having a late lunch of the RC Renal LP. Her Vetty visit was just for the exam and urinalysis. Her blood panel isn't due until end of June and b/p check. I almost left her there for another bath and shave of her butt, but changed my mind as I didn't have an appt. and they would have squeezed her in when they had time. I hated to leave her and instead will make an appt. sometime. I thought I had cleaned her up well on the behind, but she lefft teeny souvenirs on the exam table. :? Next time I'll shine a flashlight. :lol: She was not a happy camper this morning with that tush bath. :lol:

Thanks Pat & Shadow, I was glad to see the nice drop. I thought I'd give her a poke break since returning.
Maggie weighed in at 9.6 pounds, same as last visit, so that's good news.

Hi Barb, yes Mags was a very good girls there letting them do the needle poke for the urinalysis. The Vet said someone not knowing Maggie's history, would not suspect that she has so many medical ongoing issues. He thinks she's doing remarkable.

Hi Marje, I don't know what in the world Mags thinks is so different on the Wag.com Cowboy Cookout vs. the local Petco. I looked at the cans and both made in USA and same numbers on the can. Consistency slightly different. It's a good thing I kept the RC case of food, as I had thought of returning it. It's a much higher carb than the CC, so once I learn the rrsults of the urinalysis, I'll see if this may be the reason for her higher numbers. Oh no, with Gus, too, and the fuds. It's too bad Mags can't use the binder, but the possibility of more constipation would be the hiccup. I'll get the urinalysis results tomorrow morning from her Vet.
 
Re: 5/16 Maggie AMPS 291; +2 256; +4 139 Back from Vetty

Chief Inspector Crapdash is delighted to peruse Ms Mag's poo report! Especially at leaving a few tidbits for the vetty. :lol: Dectective Poo is away today at day two of a three day workshop. We understand completely the fuds worries all too well, paws crossed for one that tastes delicious.
 
Re: 5/16 Maggie AMPS 291; +2 256; +4 139 Back from Vetty

Glad the visit went well. It's always best if they will eat the renal food just from the aspect of the low phosphorus. And with Mags megacolon...it just makes it more important although the food itself is garbage. If I could get Gus to eat it some of the time, I would. All we can do is the best we can. :-D

Glad the bottom is clean....hope the urine comes back negative.
 
Re: 5/16 Maggie AMPS 291; +2 256; +4 139 Back from Vetty

Thanks Marje, hope so, too on the urine. Yes, I know on the renal fuds, not the best food except for the low phosphorus. I'm not sure how long this love affair with the renal fuds will last. :? I'd like to have another choice to go along with it. Maybe if I wait a day or so and then reintroduce the CC, but from Petco.
 
Re: 5/16 Maggie AMPS 291; +2 256; +4 139 Back from Vetty

oh good. The poo fairy did come.
vet visit sounds good. Maybe since the food companies are shuffling flavors and recipes, they'll come up with a couple more worthy ones.... Paws crossed.
 
Re: 5/16 Maggie AMPS 291; +2 256; +4 139 Back from Vetty

Inspector Crapdash, I just saw you up there. Yes, how about those tidbits Mags left for the Vetty on the table. Bad Bean for not doing better job on her bath. :lol:

Rhiannon, thanks for sending the Poo Fairy, as she came right away. I hope so, too, on the fuds. I read yesterday where some of the Merrick were changing.
 
Re: 5/16 Maggie AMPS 291; +2 256; +4 139 Back from Vetty

I'm glad all went well with the vetty visit. :lol: on the tidbits....Awesome that Maggie's weight is steady - always a good sign. Sending good BW and Pee result vines now!!

My head is starting to swim again over the food issues....I think Trix's Wellness is from Canada, but I don't know for sure.
 
Re: 5/16 Maggie AMPS 291; +2 256; +4 139 Back from Vetty

Yay, on the good vetty visit. :-D I only tried one renal food on Checks....I had to take the remainder back to vet for refund, and go back to FF.
Ann, is the RC you refer to, Royal Canin? Is it prescription?
 
PMPS 183
This isn't too bad considering Vetty stress and the prescription food. Someone asked me if the RC was Royal Canin and if it is prescription, and it is both. I got it thru the Vet last September when she was seen by an IM Vet for a U/S and consultation.

Amy, not to worry about the Wellness and where it's from, just so Trixie likes it. I was just curious to see if the girls had the same Wellness taste buds. :lol: Yes, I was glad, too, her weight stayed stable.

Thanks Barb & Checkers, oh it was you who wondered if the RC is prescription, and I answered above. I have some Science Diet prescription that I may need to return, as she won't touch that one.
 
Hi Ann. Glad that Maggie has a good vet report and that she maintained her weight. I know what you mean about the butt washes. Our NFC needed them and she hated them also. Bet Maggie is glad to be back home.

Have a great night Ann.
 
Hi Ann,
I'm so glad that Maggie had a good vetty visit and hope that the test results will be good, too. She is such a fine kitty.

The code on the bottom of the Wellness cans from the Canadian plant ends in "C 1" (this is the firmer texture). But all is about to change as Wellness opens it's new operation in the coming months (see my post on my conversation with Wellness): http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=93144#p999348

I don't know much about Merrick except that they advertise that they cook the foods in small batches and what you may be seeing is variation from batch to batch.

Have a great evening:

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top