5/15 Jack: 372@amps, 183@+3

Jack & Mopem'sMom

Member Since 2020
Eehh, I can't tell if Jack is bouncing, reacting to the stress of William being in the hospital (which has caused considerable chaos in the household- one of the other cats that loves William more than Jack does hasn't eaten in 2 days :arghh:) or just not doing well with the reduced dose of 9.5units. At least I got some sleep the last 2 nights because Jack was high. :facepalm: William comes home this afternoon, so hopefully we can get back to as much of normal as possible, but the impending food change looms large on the horizon. :(

Because Pumpkin was blocked and I already had his prescription, I went and bought another case of c/d and another case of the Purina Urinary St/Ox as a stop gap measure until I figure out a long term solution for everyone. Jack is going into the bathroom for dinner with Abby tonight (Lord help us!:nailbiting:) I really want to find a solution to feed everyone, and the amount of time and preparation required for a raw diet doesn't make it realistic for at least a few months. After reading a bunch of stuff on Dr Lisa's website, looking at her pdf, some other stuff I found online, and what folks here had to say, I'm wondering the following. (Going to tag those who commented on last post for opinion- hope no one minds. I REALLY appreciate your input and advice):
1. The key to the urinary diets is high protein, low carb, low phosphorus (which assumes low magnesium, calcium and ammonium) with plenty of water added. This seems to be the same keys to the diabetic diet? Am I confused about this?
2. According to Dr Lisa's PDF, there are OTC foods like Weruva, Purina Pro Plan, and Tiki Cat that offer lower carbs, lower phosphorus, and higher protein than the prescription foods. If I add water to any of these, I should be doing 'better' than feeding a straight prescription diet?

My head hurts, and and I'm in an emotional panic over managing Jack, William, and the rest of the herd properly. I don't want to look back and say- I should have done such and such. I appreciate everyone's advice and tolerance of the long post. Many thanks and much love to you all
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-5u-urinary-formula-ques.289947/#post-3178674

@Wendy&Neko , @Mikanmama , @Deb and Tiger , @JLS12 :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Christine, Sending you a bunch of hugs and good wishes for everyone, especially William! I wish I could advise you with good information, but I can't. :(
Hoping you get some good pearls of wisdom from the experts soon.
I hope everyone feels better and happier once William is home.:bighug:

You are so dedicated to all of your babies and such a great and strong Mom! I am in awe of your skill set!
Sending you all pawsitive energy and lots of love :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Christine,
What a pile of challenges you face! Thank goodness William is coming home :cat: I think cats get disturbed when something is amiss from the daily routine.

I am no expert on cat food, but from what I gather, prescription cat food has nothing medicinal about them. Ingredients are not any better but sometimes worse than OTC cat foods. The investigation of over 125 prescription diets from 4 leading brands showed a large number of foods containing harmful pesticides :eek: These videos might be helpful:

https://www.facebook.com/LisaFletch...ption-pet-food-investigation/311666779747447/


I think those OTC foods you mentioned have been used by many people in this forum as well for diabetic kitties.
Don't want to say this too loud, but since Mikan's diagnosis, I have learned how little vets know about feline diabetes. :nailbiting: They are good at other things, of course. But when it comes to FD related issues, I trust people here more than vets out there.

Hope you can find a direction you feel comfortable :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oof - so much going on! I'm glad William will be home to hopefully ease some of the stress being caused to the kitties.
I don't have advice, just lots of :bighug: and lots of ❤️.
Very much appreciated- and for all their moaning and pacing and looking for him now that he's home all they want to do is hiss at him since he smells of 'hospital':(
 
Hi Christine, Sending you a bunch of hugs and good wishes for everyone, especially William! I wish I could advise you with good information, but I can't. :(
Hoping you get some good pearls of wisdom from the experts soon.
I hope everyone feels better and happier once William is home.:bighug:

You are so dedicated to all of your babies and such a great and strong Mom! I am in awe of your skill set!
Sending you all pawsitive energy and lots of love :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks, I appreciate it-for all their moaning and pacing and looking for him now that he's home all they want to do is hiss at him since he smells of 'hospital':(
 
Hi Christine,
What a pile of challenges you face! Thank goodness William is coming home :cat: I think cats get disturbed when something is amiss from the daily routine.

I am no expert on cat food, but from what I gather, prescription cat food has nothing medicinal about them. Ingredients are not any better but sometimes worse than OTC cat foods. The investigation of over 125 prescription diets from 4 leading brands showed a large number of foods containing harmful pesticides :eek: These videos might be helpful:

https://www.facebook.com/LisaFletch...ption-pet-food-investigation/311666779747447/


I think those OTC foods you mentioned have been used by many people in this forum as well for diabetic kitties.
Don't want to say this too loud, but since Mikan's diagnosis, I have learned how little vets know about feline diabetes. :nailbiting: They are good at other things, of course. But when it comes to FD related issues, I trust people here more than vets out there.

Hope you can find a direction you feel comfortable :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Yeah, I agree about the forum and the vets. I think the prescription foods are mostly a scam but I want to be sure. I live in fear of not doing the right thing for my kids. :( I appreciate you posting this video. William was eating c/d at the hospital, I'm going to give him and the herd the Purina prescription stuff tonight, just until i make a more final decision. Jack is going into the bathroom shortly...i just hope he eats....his phosphorus was higher on his last blood panel so if I can find a lc urinary diet he would benefit as well. I just don't want to give him something that's 13% carbs tonight. :banghead:
 
I found that the food that Neko needed was the same as what her buddy with the urinary issues needed. He did finish an initial course of the C'/D, but then I switched.

I did a combo of manufactured raw and made my own. I used premixes for making my own. FoodFurLife's EZComplete meant mixing in meat, water and premix. I had a good kitchen scale for quantities. Then I had a bunch of freezer safe small tubs that could hold a days worth of raw and filled those. I knew how many calories the kitties needed and how many ounces/grams of food that meant for the right calories. Premixes cost more but are much faster than sourcing your own supplements. It didn't take long to make.

I did occasionally feed some canned food, with a tablespoon or two of water added. It helped both kitties.
 
I just shared what worked for us. Also it wasn’t long ago as he passed last year and ate fancy feast the whole time with never another problem. I know several here feed Weruva and tiki cat and have good luck with them. If it were me, I would stay away from the dry foods……I hope you find something that works for him and you feel good feeding him!
 
I found that the food that Neko needed was the same as what her buddy with the urinary issues needed. He did finish an initial course of the C'/D, but then I switched.

I did a combo of manufactured raw and made my own. I used premixes for making my own. FoodFurLife's EZComplete meant mixing in meat, water and premix. I had a good kitchen scale for quantities. Then I had a bunch of freezer safe small tubs that could hold a days worth of raw and filled those. I knew how many calories the kitties needed and how many ounces/grams of food that meant for the right calories. Premixes cost more but are much faster than sourcing your own supplements. It didn't take long to make.

I did occasionally feed some canned food, with a tablespoon or two of water added. It helped both kitties.
Thanks for this tip on the pre-mix, and your advice. Much appreciated.
 
I just shared what worked for us. Also it wasn’t long ago as he passed last year and ate fancy feast the whole time with never another problem. I know several here feed Weruva and tiki cat and have good luck with them. If it were me, I would stay away from the dry foods……I hope you find something that works for him and you feel good feeding him!
We had tried Weruva/BFF/Tiki Cat when he was first diagnosed and Jack hated them. I never pursued it because the FF/Friskies worked in terms of carbs. I'm going to get some Weruva from the store, see how that goes- I agree on the dry, it's still a fight 2 years later with Jack in the morning, he refuses to eat any wet food till he gets the LC/Ziwi Peak mix- oh well, tomorrow is another day. I appreciate your input, thanks very much.
 
Very much appreciated- and for all their moaning and pacing and looking for him now that he's home all they want to do is hiss at him since he smells of 'hospital':(
You want to make them all smell the same to get past the hospital smell. You could get a towel and rub everyone down with it, or rub everyone with some catnip. Or if you have it, try some Bach's for pets (no alcohol in the pet one) on everyone. A couple drops in water and just wet your hands and wipe down everyone head to tail with it.

As for the food:
I did very similarly to Wendy & Neko, preparing ahead and freezing. In your previous thread I linked to Total Cat. That's an all inclusive additive used for raw meat. There is good info on their site for moving to raw.

Feeding raw inherently provides good water content. When you follow a ground recipe like Pierson's or use an additive, there will be some added water. Cats on raw seldom drink because they get all they need from their diet. Raw fed cats also eat/need much less than on a canned commercial diet. For example, My 12 lb boy eats 2.10 oz twice a day. Purrl weighs about ten lbs and gets about 1.7 oz twice a day (she also gets some snacks), and Alice weighs about 8 lbs and gets 1.8 oz twice a day. Moving to raw is a process and you can introduce it slowly.

I was very nervous when I first started raw and researched like crazy. We started slowly with a ground recipe. And with a bit of time, all transitioned. It was even easier to move to franken prey. Since Purrl's diabetes rx, I have bought some commercial ground raw, just for ease and variety, although it's pretty expensive.
 
@Jack & Mopem'sMom
Hi Christine, Jesus never a dull moment
I was reading about William and the blockage
Tyler was blocked on Nov 2, 2022
Since then I have been feeding him these
Purina Pro Plan Urinary Tract Health Beef & Chicken Entree flavor Pate

Purina Pro Plan Urinary Tract Health Chicken Entree

They are both low carb and low in phosphorus


The Purina Pro Plan Urinary Tract Health is low carb and low phosphorus
Beef and Chicken Entree pate
Carbs are around 4.80
Phosphorus is 1.44 dry matter

They also have Chicken Entree in Gravy which isn't pate it like tiny pieces of chicken like the size of a chicklet piece of gum lol remember them, they are like tiny tiny chunks
Carbs are 4.5
Phosphorus 0.78 dry matter

So he doesn't get bored I give him some Tiki Cat Succulent Chicken in Chicken Consume , they are shreds of chicken ,he likes then cut up a little and mix it in the Purina Pro Plan Urinary Tract Health
Carbs 0.338
Phosphorus 0.93

Knock on wood hasn't had a problem since Nov 2022


The Chicken Entree
https://www.amazon.com/Purina-Pro-Plan-Urinary-Formula/dp/B003R0LM2U?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
I have a Pet Smart by me so I just run in there to pick them up
Petco has them too
At least you can buy a few cans and see if Jack likes them

Here's the Beef & Chicken Entree
https://www.amazon.com/Purina-Pro-Plan-Urinary-Formula/dp/B0170YQ822?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

Never any of these ever raised his BG,
Thei did the catheter procedure also, it was his mucus plug they said was blocked. I took him home the same night with different meds to give for awhile and thank God it never happened again ( knock in wood )
I always add plenty of water to them because the weirdo Tyler will never drink water out of a bowl.

I'm glad William is home and the other kitties aren't hissing at him any more :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
@Jack & Mopem'sMom
Hi Christine, Jesus never a dull moment
I was reading about William and the blockage
Tyler was blocked on Nov 2, 2022
Since then I have been feeding him these
Purina Pro Plan Urinary Tract Health Beef & Chicken Entree flavor Pate

Purina Pro Plan Urinary Tract Health Chicken Entree

They are both low carb and low in phosphorus


The Purina Pro Plan Urinary Tract Health is low carb and low phosphorus
Beef and Chicken Entree pate
Carbs are around 4.80
Phosphorus is 1.44 dry matter

They also have Chicken Entree in Gravy which isn't pate it like tiny pieces of chicken like the size of a chicklet piece of gum lol remember them, they are like tiny tiny chunks
Carbs are 4.5
Phosphorus 0.78 dry matter

So he doesn't get bored I give him some Tiki Cat Succulent Chicken in Chicken Consume , they are shreds of chicken ,he likes then cut up a little and mix it in the Purina Pro Plan Urinary Tract Health
Carbs 0.338
Phosphorus 0.93

Knock on wood hasn't had a problem since Nov 2022


The Chicken Entree
https://www.amazon.com/Purina-Pro-Plan-Urinary-Formula/dp/B003R0LM2U?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
I have a Pet Smart by me so I just run in there to pick them up
Petco has them too
At least you can buy a few cans and see if Jack likes them

Here's the Beef & Chicken Entree
https://www.amazon.com/Purina-Pro-Plan-Urinary-Formula/dp/B0170YQ822?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

Never any of these ever raised his BG,
Thei did the catheter procedure also, it was his mucus plug they said was blocked. I took him home the same night with different meds to give for awhile and thank God it never happened again ( knock in wood )
I always add plenty of water to them because the weirdo Tyler will never drink water out of a bowl.

I'm glad William is home and the other kitties aren't hissing at him any more :bighug::bighug::bighug:
It's funny i picked these exact cans up until i can get a paln for the raw, they seem to be going ok- i have to get more. I appreciate your input- glad Tyler has been doing well.
 
You want to make them all smell the same to get past the hospital smell. You could get a towel and rub everyone down with it, or rub everyone with some catnip. Or if you have it, try some Bach's for pets (no alcohol in the pet one) on everyone. A couple drops in water and just wet your hands and wipe down everyone head to tail with it.

As for the food:
I did very similarly to Wendy & Neko, preparing ahead and freezing. In your previous thread I linked to Total Cat. That's an all inclusive additive used for raw meat. There is good info on their site for moving to raw.

Feeding raw inherently provides good water content. When you follow a ground recipe like Pierson's or use an additive, there will be some added water. Cats on raw seldom drink because they get all they need from their diet. Raw fed cats also eat/need much less than on a canned commercial diet. For example, My 12 lb boy eats 2.10 oz twice a day. Purrl weighs about ten lbs and gets about 1.7 oz twice a day (she also gets some snacks), and Alice weighs about 8 lbs and gets 1.8 oz twice a day. Moving to raw is a process and you can introduce it slowly.

I was very nervous when I first started raw and researched like crazy. We started slowly with a ground recipe. And with a bit of time, all transitioned. It was even easier to move to franken prey. Since Purrl's diabetes rx, I have bought some commercial ground raw, just for ease and variety, although it's pretty expensive.
Interesting and very cool about the making them smell the same- they are over it now, but this is great info for next time. ALso, thanks for the raw info- I just need time to get my head together and do a little research, and make a decision. Thanks again very much- hugs to Purrl and the rest of your crew :bighug:
 
Hi Christine :)
I hope William is back home and doing well now. It's very unsettling for the others when one of their brothers is gone.
I hope you find a good solution for the food. It is such a headache and you really have a pack there so it can't be easy. I hold you in my heart :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top