5/15 Dumdum AMPS~489 +6~387 PMPS~375

Status
Not open for further replies.

akilo

Member Since 2013
AMPS 489
+6 387
PMPS 375

yesterday
AMPS 441
+4 220
+5 131
PMPS 459
+2 345
+4 174

These few days I've went home spending time with my mother and had a small vacation. :razz:
Besides, I translate Tight Regulation Protocol into Chinese so that I can make sure to understand the difference between these 3 versions. It's really quite interesting that there's still a little difference between tillydiabetes.net version and University of Queensland version. Then I brought these 3 versions and Dumdum's ss to my vet and discussed with them. They told me the same as sticky says, these can be guildlines, but not like dog, cat is an animal with strong individuality, so every cat is different, and we have to learn more about Dumdum's response to insulin and consider his other health situation then we can decide what to do is better for him.
The first target now is to lower his nadir and give him enough calories to maintain his weight , and see how curve shows after increasing dose 3 days. Hope his ss will show more blue soon. ;-)
 
Just so you have some background, the Queensland version is what was originally used and published in the Journal of Feline Veterinary Medicine by Jacqui Rand, DVM and Kirstin Roomp. That study was conducted using cats from the Lantus Board, similar to this one, that's located in Germany. Kirstin Roomp is very involved with that Board. Over the years, the German group has modified the protocol based on their experience and the "Tilly Protocol" that you referred to, represents their ongoing modification of the protocol. Since I've been here, that version has been modified once. The version we use, also is a modification of the original research protocol. Like the German group, there have been modifications that are based on the collective experience of members here.

I hope you enjoyed your vacation. I'm glad you raised Dumdum's dose. Let's see how he likes his current dose.
 
Thank you Sienne. Now I understand the relationship between these 3 versions. :-D
What makes me interesting in is the first Queensland version, in some situation it might consider the BG's peak numbers to adjust dose, but later 2 version take off this parameter. The reason why I notice that is because Dumdum's BG used to drop down to normal range for a while (about 3 or 4 hour) and then goes up quickly to high numbers and stay at high for a lot hours. That means he can't keep in normal BG for more than half day in some dose, but that dose might fit to guildlines when we just focus on nadir. Now the dose increasing is with adding more small meals, so that might find a way to maintain his day's and night's BG at about same range, but still adjusting. :roll:
 
Maybe I missed where you said you were off for a trip.
I was just checking... every once in a while someone just slips off the map and disappears and we are family like community so always want to check on each other....

So your parents don't have the latest and greatest technology? :lol:
 
It's kind a little complicate..my father doesn't know that I have a sugar cat(Only my mother does). He is a diabetic too(and also use Lantus as well :lol: ) ,so he knows how trouble it might be. He doesn't like cat and I'm pretty sure that once he know my Dumdum is a diabetic cat, he will ask me to let him euthanasia. I know that he is out of love so that doesn't want me to bear this burden. But THAT'S DEFINITELY NO for me, so I can't take the risk that he might know this. That's why even we use the latest and greatest technology at home but I still can't post ;-) . Usually due to my English ability, I have to spend about half an hour, sometimes almost an hour to complete a post, and I can't block him out of door for half an hour. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top