Linda and Bear Man
Member Since 2009
Last weekend: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=14047&p=140896#p140896
Bear Man has had a pretty good week. Other than for some vomiting and diarrhea episodes, he seems comfortable and mellow for the most part. He wants to spend time sitting with me and cuddling with Teddy. He has even felt up to washing his face a few times, which I love to see, because it is such a normal cat behaviour, but he rarely does it.
His numbers have been odd the last few days, possibly because I have had a rare few days off work, and that has altered his eating routine. When I go to tbp, he has wet and dry to free feed. I think he eats mostly dry, which is fine with me, because it is his renal kibble which is much lower in phosphorus than his canned food. When I come home, I remove the kibble, and he gets a bit more at bedtime. On that routine, he usually has a yellow amps and a blue pmps. A few days ago he had an amps of 128, and I skipped that shot before work.
On my days off, I meal feed, sometimes canned, sometimes dry or a mixture. On Thursday, he had an amps of 211, and an am+13 of 81, so I skipped that pm shot. He kept dropping to a +16 of 61 until his pred started him back up.
On Friday night he had a pmps of 157, and dropped to 52 at +4. With three cans of HC gravy, some kibble, and pred on board, he got up to 59 at +6, but this morning was only up to 106. That should have been a shootable number, but now I am freaked out and skipped the shot. Going low while I am at tbp is obviously no good, and needing three cans of HC full of phosphorus and gluten messes up his kidneys and his IBD.
Tomorrow I am back to tbp, and he is back to his normal routine. I'm wondering about his dose. I will give either a skinny .5 or a .25U. I feel like my inner chicken is taking control. I have definitely paid less attention to his diabetes in the last few months while I focus on his renal issues, and I worry I may not be handling his diabetes as well as I could be.
Bear Man has had a pretty good week. Other than for some vomiting and diarrhea episodes, he seems comfortable and mellow for the most part. He wants to spend time sitting with me and cuddling with Teddy. He has even felt up to washing his face a few times, which I love to see, because it is such a normal cat behaviour, but he rarely does it.
His numbers have been odd the last few days, possibly because I have had a rare few days off work, and that has altered his eating routine. When I go to tbp, he has wet and dry to free feed. I think he eats mostly dry, which is fine with me, because it is his renal kibble which is much lower in phosphorus than his canned food. When I come home, I remove the kibble, and he gets a bit more at bedtime. On that routine, he usually has a yellow amps and a blue pmps. A few days ago he had an amps of 128, and I skipped that shot before work.
On my days off, I meal feed, sometimes canned, sometimes dry or a mixture. On Thursday, he had an amps of 211, and an am+13 of 81, so I skipped that pm shot. He kept dropping to a +16 of 61 until his pred started him back up.
On Friday night he had a pmps of 157, and dropped to 52 at +4. With three cans of HC gravy, some kibble, and pred on board, he got up to 59 at +6, but this morning was only up to 106. That should have been a shootable number, but now I am freaked out and skipped the shot. Going low while I am at tbp is obviously no good, and needing three cans of HC full of phosphorus and gluten messes up his kidneys and his IBD.
Tomorrow I am back to tbp, and he is back to his normal routine. I'm wondering about his dose. I will give either a skinny .5 or a .25U. I feel like my inner chicken is taking control. I have definitely paid less attention to his diabetes in the last few months while I focus on his renal issues, and I worry I may not be handling his diabetes as well as I could be.