5/15 Bear Man Oldtimer Update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda and Bear Man

Very Active Member
Last weekend: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=14047&p=140896#p140896

Bear Man has had a pretty good week. Other than for some vomiting and diarrhea episodes, he seems comfortable and mellow for the most part. He wants to spend time sitting with me and cuddling with Teddy. He has even felt up to washing his face a few times, which I love to see, because it is such a normal cat behaviour, but he rarely does it.

His numbers have been odd the last few days, possibly because I have had a rare few days off work, and that has altered his eating routine. When I go to tbp, he has wet and dry to free feed. I think he eats mostly dry, which is fine with me, because it is his renal kibble which is much lower in phosphorus than his canned food. When I come home, I remove the kibble, and he gets a bit more at bedtime. On that routine, he usually has a yellow amps and a blue pmps. A few days ago he had an amps of 128, and I skipped that shot before work.

On my days off, I meal feed, sometimes canned, sometimes dry or a mixture. On Thursday, he had an amps of 211, and an am+13 of 81, so I skipped that pm shot. He kept dropping to a +16 of 61 until his pred started him back up.

On Friday night he had a pmps of 157, and dropped to 52 at +4. With three cans of HC gravy, some kibble, and pred on board, he got up to 59 at +6, but this morning was only up to 106. That should have been a shootable number, but now I am freaked out and skipped the shot. Going low while I am at tbp is obviously no good, and needing three cans of HC full of phosphorus and gluten messes up his kidneys and his IBD.

Tomorrow I am back to tbp, and he is back to his normal routine. I'm wondering about his dose. I will give either a skinny .5 or a .25U. I feel like my inner chicken is taking control. I have definitely paid less attention to his diabetes in the last few months while I focus on his renal issues, and I worry I may not be handling his diabetes as well as I could be.
 
Is there any reason to disrupt his routine on your days off? If he's doing well, eating the low phos food, and you're not freaked by his numbers, why mess with a good thing?
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Is there any reason to disrupt his routine on your days off? If he's doing well, eating the low phos food, and you're not freaked by his numbers, why mess with a good thing?

It's a good point Sienne. Emily is confined while I work, and has the freedom to move around the house on days off, so that is why food is not left down on days off. But you are right, I should try to emulate the workday food when I meal feed on days off.
 
You are doing such a great job Linda...always thinking...always doing...you are amazing! Glad to read Bear Man's nice report...hugs to Him and Teddy and to you!! :YMHUG:
 
Nice Bear Man report! Agree with Sienne, that would give you a better idea of what's going on while you are at tbp.

:YMHUG: You do such a great job with all of our furries!
 
Hi guys! I agree with Sienne, on my days off I still keep Scrabble on the exact same feeding schedule even if I have to get up @ 4am and show him the feeder, lol, I think it helps a lot to keep him on the same schedule. Nice to hear he has been cleaning his face, how cute!!! Hope you have a nice weekend!!
 
Sounds like you're doing everything right, though I don't know how you balance it all. Glad he's feeling good.
 
he ate 3 whole cans of HC all by himself in few hours the other night? wow. hmm...nice appy? (but i know you paid for that later).
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
lolol, i swear i didn't post that, cat jumped up on lap, i think monster kitty is trying to tell me something! hey he is over 19 yrs old, and he has to sleep in my arms, the boy wants me to get my butt to bed so he can go to sleep.
well i agree about keeping same routine, but for reason of hard to say what is going on when you are at work if when you are home you are changing up routine. remember the old 'pretend you are not there, and just meter is' thing so that working peeps get to peek into what goes on while they are at work experiments to do from time to time. especially during times when you have new patterns showing up and need to figure something out about dose.
but any of your posts that start off with bearman had a pretty good week are all good with me. even when you skip a dose, he doesn't go crazy, you never come home to a BG of 904859845693653925 so no biggie, skip whenever you feel you need to. been over a month since any pink and way better than feb, SS looks pretty good there. :cool:
~jojo
ps. i'm glad i checked link to last week's condo that i missed, loved the adoption story and what a handsome youngun' pic!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top