5/15-5/18 Hershey MDPS delayed - ain't we got fun?!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Very Active Member
Much ado at my house...our week with Joseph is over and he is packing to leave for camp tomorrow...His room is finished and he is mostly moved in. I guess the rest will get finished....who knows?? He'll be home for another week or so in Aug, maybe then? :YMSIGH:

Going to see the Avengers this afternoon!! Joseph saw it with friends at one of the midnight shows, but we haven't seen it, yet!! So, between all of the life-stuff, not a lot of testing going on today. Here's what we've got -

05/15/12
AMPS (321) +7.5 - Shot .6u at 12:35am - Not gonna lie - was pretty disappointed with AMPS after (231) at +6
+3 (265)


MDPS (329) +7.5 - Shot .6u at 8:00am
+3 (257)
+6 (268)

**Was all ready to increase the dose until last night's cycle...But, the last two cycles seem to say there's room to increase...What do y'all think???

PMPS (371) +7.5 - Shot .6u at 4:00pm
+4.5 (145)

05/16/12
AMPS (342) +8 - Shot .6u at 12:00 am
+2.5 (306)
+6 (193)

MDPS (245) +8 - Shot .5u at 8:05 am
+6 (249)

PMPS (397) +8 - Shot .7u at 4:05pm
+2.5 (260)
+4 (217)
+6 (325)


05/17/12
AMPS (423) +8 - Shot .6u at 12:05am
+2 (353)
+5 (264)

MDPS (331) +8 - Shot .6u at 8:10 am
+3 (282)
+5.75 (288)

PMPS (353) +8 - Shot .7u at 4:10pm
+2.75 (376)
+5.5 (363)

05/18/12
AMPS (318)
:10 retest (328) Almost +8.25 - Shot .6u at 12:20am
+3 (261)
+6 (227)

MDPS (185) +8
:20 (184)
:20 (179) +9
:20 (192)
:20 (207) +9.5
:30 (226) +10 - Shot .4u at 10:10am
+2 (238)
+4 (149)
+6 (223)
 
Re: 5/15 Hershey PMPS(371)

+6 (268)

**Was all ready to increase the dose until last night's cycle...But, the last two cycles seem to say there's room to increase...What do y'all think???


PMPS (371) +7.5 - Shot .6u at 4:00pm
 
Re: 5/15 Hershey PMPS(371)

I can't believe he jumps 100 points in an hour! :o I only dream of that much movement in an entire cycle!!! Maybe soon! ;-)

How are you doing w/ the TID? I'm trying to stay at 9-10 hour cycles... but it sure gets confusing. The 6:30/6:30 schedule was SO much more convenient... but it's not about me, right? ;-)

Give Hershey a nice headbutt from Auntie Lu (and tell him the kids are cruisin at IHOP if he wants to join them!) :lol:

I didn't realize Joseph's visit was going to be so short-lived! Nice you got the room all ready for him - even if it's just for a short while!
 
Re: 5/15 Hershey PMPS(371) +4.5(145)

Grayson & Lu said:
I can't believe he jumps 100 points in an hour! :o I only dream of that much movement in an entire cycle!!! Maybe soon! ;-)

I don't know. There's no rhyme or reason with Hershey. Just when I think I'm starting to get a little something figured out, he changes the rules. :YMSIGH: I hope you see great things in the near future!

Grayson & Lu said:
How are you doing w/ the TID? I'm trying to stay at 9-10 hour cycles... but it sure gets confusing. The 6:30/6:30 schedule was SO much more convenient... but it's not about me, right? ;-)

I'm actually doing well with it, except for the days we have to change for some life something. The first few days were a difficult transition and I'm still doing a lot of counting on my fingers ;-) , but it's not any more time/effort than the 12-hr dosing and it's actually easier on my Sunday schedule.

Grayson & Lu said:
Give Hershey a nice headbutt from Auntie Lu (and tell him the kids are cruisin at IHOP if he wants to join them!) :lol:

Thanks for the invite, but he was at (145) at +4.5, don't think I'll tell him he could've joined his friends there. ;-) :smile:

Grayson & Lu said:
I didn't realize Joseph's visit was going to be so short-lived! Nice you got the room all ready for him - even if it's just for a short while!

I KNOW!! This seems wayyy shorter than last summer. :cry: Seems like we had about 2 wks between the end of school and camp training. And, he's working a week longer, so we'll only have about a week in Aug. :YMSIGH: :cry: But, it was good to have him home, anyway...even if I was washing clothes the WHOLE time! :roll:
 
Re: 5/15-5/16 Hershey MDPS(245)

05/16/12
AMPS (342) +8 - Shot .6u at 12:00 am
+2.5 (306)
+6 (193)

MDPS (245) +8 - Shot .5u at 8:05 am
 
Re: 5/15-5/16 Hershey MDPS(245) +6(249)

Kim - I'm definitely liking the NO REDS!

Sue - I think I'm getting a better grasp on TID. But sometimes the more I think I'm understanding, the more questions I have. ;-)

+6 (249)
 
Re: 5/15-5/16 Hershey PMPS(397) gave .7u will test and see

Haven't gotten feedback either way about thoughts on increasing his dose.

PMPS (397) +8 - Shot .7u at 4:05pm

(397) was so close to (400) - probably would've been had I retested - that I decided to increase to .7u, test more often and see what it looks like. My only concern is this is often his lowest cycle of the day. But, it's the one I'm around for the entire 8 hrs, so seemed to make the most sense.

We'll see....
 
Re: 5/15-5/16 Hershey PMPS(397) gave .7u will test and see

I think an increase is fine. You will test and you know what to do if the numbers go low. Just be aware that if you increase every cycle by .1, that you will actually be increasing your daily total by .3. I think you are seeing what I did with Kitty-- It is taking about the same per cycle on tid as bid, because the insulin is GONE at +8. The duration is not there! But, by shooting early (tid) you are staying out of the higher preshots. His numbes look better on tid and they will continue to improve as you experiment and find out what doses work best!

You are doing Great!
 
Re: 5/15-5/16 Hershey PMPS(397) gave .7u will test and see

Thanks, Kim. I kept staring at his SS and thinking...okay, maybe I should up the dose if over 350...but, then saw that the higher PS sometimes had the lowest number I caught. Trying to figure out how to match it up, you know? Then thought, well maybe I should just choose a cycle and increase that one cycle. If that's the case and the PM cycle is often lowest, then maybe it should be the AM cycle?? About that point, my brain would start to smoke - I don't like the smell of burning hair ;-), so I'd take a break. When drawing up this dose, I decided to just go for it.


+2.5 (260)
 
Re: 5/15-5/16 Hershey Did we learn ANYTHING???

So, we increased to .7u for this cycle, but did we learn anything??? When we were dosing TID, seemed the insulin would peter out by +10. TID, sometimes seems to peter out by +6...is this some kind of practical joke Hershey is playing to keep me confused? 'cause honestly, I don't need help staying confused ;-)

+6 (325)

Trying to figure out what this means for next cycle, if anything...
 
Re: 5/15 Hershey PMPS(371) +4.5(145)

Doug N Libby said:
But, it was good to have him home, anyway...even if I was washing clothes the WHOLE time! :roll:

Here's a secret for August... and I'm on the verge of doing it right now w/ linens and some other stuff that some furry kids decided was a soft place to lay...

When I was in college, I worked part time at a full service laundermat on weekends. There was a woman who came in about 5:30 every Saturday morning and did an average of 10 loads. All of us got to know her, but I was probably the only person balsy enough to ask her why she didn't just buy a washer/dryer and save all the money she spent every week??? She was smarter than us... she told me that in two hours she can wash, dry and fold a weeks worth of laundry for herself, her husband and four teenagers. TWO HOURS! Had she done them at home, she'd have been doing laundry all the time! It also taught the kids that if they wanted to wear an outfit on Friday, they couldn't wear it and get it dirty on Tuesday. BRILLIANT! ...AND she had 2 hours to herself while she was there. It was a win-win for everyone!

I've done that a few times with comforters, but I also use old comforters for dog blankets... most take up an entire load, so it feels like I'm washing clothes all day... Two hours at the laundermat and I could "take back" my laundry room! Of course I'd still have to put them away once I got home!!! Where are those elves that do the ever-so-fun household chores??? I think they're as elusive as Mr. P sometimes! :lol:
 
Re: 5/15-5/16 Hershey Did we learn ANYTHING???

I don't have kids, but that lady is brilliant! My sister in the past would get behind on laundry she has 2 kids & a husband. She has a washer & dryer that work perfect. I use to tell her take all those clothes & fill up the machines & be done with it in a couple of hours. She thought I was crazy. She did it her way & would spend all day & the next day & have my mom over at her house helping her. They are the ones who are crazy. @-)
 
Re: 5/15-5/17 Hershey AMPS(423) Was .7u too much at PM?

I can certainly see the logic in what she did...smart lady...might try it if my kids were younger. But, with them being older, I get plenty of time to myself these days. :sad:

Speaking of sadness...

05/17/12
AMPS (423) +8 - Shot .6u at 12:05am

NOT funny...was the .7u too much at last night's PM cycle? or is there something else at play here?? :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 5/15-5/17 Hershey MDPS(331)

+2 (353)
+5 (264)

MDPS (331) +8 - Shot .6u at 8:10 am

Still thinking the increase is in order...maybe AM cycle, which would've been the last one, but the (423) PS made me question it. Figured I'd hold to the regular dose today and try an increase again tomorrow. Does that sound logical?? I don't know...maybe I should've gone for it this morning, but that's water under the bridge, huh?
 
Re: 5/15-5/17 Hershey MDPS(331)

Yes, logical! Don't be scared to increase-- you are testing!
 
Re: 5/15-5/17 Hershey MDPS(331) +3(282)

Not really scared to increase, was just afraid maybe my timing (which cycle) was off after getting the (423). I know reds happen, but I don't want to be the cause of it. You know? So, will try again, tomorrow...or might just give the PM cycle another shot if the PS is over (350)...

+3 (282)
+5.75 (288)


PMPS (353) +8 - Shot .7u at 4:10pm - Decided to go for it :-D
+2.75 (376)
 
Re: 5/15-5/17 Hershey PM(353) +2.75(376) +5.5(363)

+5.5 (363)

High and flat the whole cycle...maybe .7u too much for (350) range? Or should I give it another go in the morning (which is actually less than 3 hrs from now)? :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 5/15-5/18 Hershey AMPS(328)

05/18/12
AMPS (318)
:10 retest (328) Almost +8.25 - Shot .6u at 12:20am

Didn't think I could hold shot to wait for another retest b/c miscommunication led to him being fed during the :10 wait for retest

Think I'll reserve the .7u for (360)+ and see how that works. Seems a little questionable in the (350)'s...idk...
 
Re: 5/15-5/18 Hershey AMPS(328)

Hi Libby,
I didn't know you went TID!
good luck, when did you start?
The numbers areoking pretty good, glad the reds have been reduced...
Depending on when you started , in my mind, would be when you should increase....
If you just started I think I would wait maybe a week to let Hershey settle into the new dosing schedule
Just my thoughts...
Good luck and I hope it works for you!
 
Denise - We started TID 5/2/12. Went to a sliding scale 5/4.
300-349 .6u
250-299 .5u
200-249 .4u

Thanks, Denise. It looks like it may be right for Hershey. And, we're starting to get the hang of it, too.

I think Hershey must have read the calendar for today. Jessica has prom tonight and we're going out with friends to celebrate our (tomorrow) anniversary. Learning we HAD to stay on schedule for tonight, this was Hershey concocted for our anniversary present -

MDPS (185) +8
:20 (184)
:20 (179) +9
:20 (192)
:20 (207) +9.5
:30 (226) +10 - Shot .4u at 10:10am

So much for staying on schedule, but the numbers are nice ones! Means he'll have a delayed BID cycle, hope that doesn't mean a really high PS...
 
:lol: :lol: Lu, wish Hershey's numbers were this good all the time! Like I said, I think it's his anniversary present to us :lol:

+2 (238)
 
We're now at +7...shame we don't have one more hour, so we could shoot before leaving...but, we don't...

+4 (149)
+6 (223)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top