Suzanne & Darcy
Member Since 2020
@tiffmaxee what do you think?
I am so sorry that you are in tears. I feel awful about that. The thing is that the TR rules say you can shoot the full dose; however, he is newer to the lower numbers and you are newer to them as well -- so I was trying to take that into consideration as well as factors like the fact that you said you needed to get some sleep tonight.Had to do something which I am 100% sure is incorrect but I did not feel like I could withhold the drug this would be no different than withholding drugs to a drug addict which could kill them.
So I have given him 2 units against my better judgement. I am assuming that the 2.75 is too stronger a dose for him based on the last few days and that this amount needs to be reduced but I am also guessing that 2 is way too low.
I do not have a plan as to what In am supposed to now do in the morning as I was expecting someone to tell me what I am supposed to do. Asking me my opinion does not help as I don't know what to do if I did I wouldn't be here for help.
I do know that I don't want to be sitting in my house in floods of tears feeling completely helpless
I am so sorry that you are in tears. I feel awful about that. The thing is that the TR rules say you can shoot the full dose; however, he is newer to the lower numbers and you are newer to them as well -- so I was trying to take that into consideration as well as factors like the fact that you said you needed to get some sleep tonight.
You haven't done anything wrong at all in shooting 2 units. You can always go back up again. It's just a temporary reduction. You have not hurt Kaz. You are protecting him and gathering data.

Sorry I was not around today. I know this is all confusing and scary at first. I think it will help you when you see that you can control the bg with high carb food and honey or karo if necessary. Remember on a human meter 50-100 is normal. Some cats that are diet controlled regularly go down under 40 bg 3-4 hours after they eat. It might be helpful to look at other peoples’ spreadsheets and what happens when the bg is under 100. Cats often have a flat all green cycle when regulated. This will get easier. I remember so well crying when I first started dealing with fd. I had cats with much worse diseases such as lymphoma and ckd but this was so confusing. Now I’ll here helping others long after I lost Max too quickly to CHF.
![]()
Hi Claire, I’m sorry I wasn’t around for you earlier……a bit early in the morning for me.
But you have had lots of support which is great. I know how much Kaz means to you and how you worry about hurting him….but you are doing a really really good job managing him. I know a lot of your anxiety is coming from the fact you have to go away in a June for 3 weeks. So all these different BG numbers are giving us really good data for when you are away.
Remember any number over 50 on the human meter is safe. And shooting lower numbers usually gives you a flatter cycle than when you shoot a higher number. And when you are home testing you are in control.
Is Kaz eating all his food that you leave in the Meow feeder when you go to work?
I’m glad Kaz is fine. You actually do have a lot of control when you are testing the BG. I think the issue is you are frightened of the lower numbers …..which we all are at first. And this is why I wanted you to swap to the human meter now and not just see the lower numbers on the day you were leaving for the trip. But the lower numbers are the normal numbers that we need to get Kaz into. The higher numbers he’s been in are too high and are not doing him any good. And compounding all this is the fact you have to go away for 3 weeks soon and I think that is affecting how you are coping with it all.Things not going so well for us for the past 24 hours. Kaz is feeling fine. I think my problem is that I have no control, and I don't know what to do
Yes initially you were told not to shoot under 200 as all the preshots were all much higher than that. Then the BGs started to lower and you got a preshot of 177 and you shot the full dose which was great! And we saw that Kaz did well in that cycle and didn’t drop too low.But now the numbers are coming down and I'm told not to shoot if the numbers are below 200 which they were today. I waited 20 minutes tested again and the # was 202 but by now I was so panicked I did not know what to do.
know that these numbers are going to be under 200 again within the next couple days and I need a set plan on what I am supposed to do For EG
HI Claire, I can see you have taken the preshot and it is 278.
I think you would be fine to give the full dose of 2.75 units.
What I would do, for your peace of mind, is to put some higher carb food (maybe a couple of teaspoons of the 15%) into the feeder for the +4 snack as you will be away all day. And the usual carb food for the other snacks.
How does that sound?
Sorry..stay with the times you have +3 and +6 and put the higher carb food into the +6
If you leave some of the higher carb food in the feeder for him, that will help the BGs if they drop at all. he is looking great by the way.
Have a great day and let us know how Kaz goes. You and he are a great team!Thanks I will do that.
Have a great day and let us know how Kaz goes. You and he are a great team!
Anything 10% or less is considered acceptable as low carb. Then there is mid carb and high carb.High carb to me is 9-10%