5/15/22 - Kaz -AMPS 277 - Numbers Continue Drop

Status
Not open for further replies.
Started new post as other getting too long

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/kaz-amps-533-pmps241.262834/page-2#post-2949601

I'm getting worried about how quickly Kaz's numbers are now dropping. My fear is that he will go into the green over the next 24-48 hours and I am now back at work.

Should we be thinking of reducing the dose by .25 to help with this?

Claire
Aren’t you off today?
Remember the numbers are lower because you are using the human meter.
I would stay with the same dose for now and see how he goes.
If you can monitor today, I would not give him the 15% carb food but just what you are going to be giving him when you will be away.
 
Yes I am off just worried about tomorrow as I have to leave him.

I will stay away from the high carb even though it scares me to. My original plan was to introduce higher carbs while I was away not really sure what we are doing here yet.

I'll get his normal 2.75 dose ready.
 
Yes I am off just worried about tomorrow as I have to leave him.

I will stay away from the high carb even though it scares me to. My original plan was to introduce higher carbs while I was away not really sure what we are doing here yet.

I'll get his normal 2.75 dose ready.
Well done sticking with the same dose. Let’s see how he goes over the next 24 hours. I would just feed him the times you are going to feed while you are away, but use the lower carb foods…the ones that are 10% or less.
If you monitor this cycle, you will be able to see if he is dropping too low. Keep posting for us to see. I will be around for about 3 hours then @Bandit's Mom will be around for you to tag.
If he is going to drop too low on this dose, we need to see it while you are testing and feeding the normal low carb food.
The higher carb food just keeps him up artificially. It’s fine to feed the higher carb food if he drops too low but during a normal cycle, we need him to be eating low carb…does that make sense.?
 
It makes sense I’m just so scarred something bad is going to happen when I am not around.
I saw you wanted me to feed at +3 and +6 so will wait for those times. I can also feed him today at +8 but not tomorrow as I don’t get home till 4pm which is +10
 
It makes sense I’m just so scarred something bad is going to happen when I am not around.
I saw you wanted me to feed at +3 and +6 so will wait for those times. I can also feed him today at +8 but not tomorrow as I don’t get home till 4pm which is +10
Ok that sounds like a good plan.

makes sense I’m just so scarred something bad is going to happen when I am not around.
I totally understand this.
I think when you are away all day, it is fine to leave some higher carb food out for him in the feeder.
But when you are at home I would like you to feed him the low carb food so we can see if the dose you are giving him is the safest dose.
If the BG drops too low you will be there to give him some higher carb food.
Remember while you are testing, you are in control
 
How many meals can the timed feeder do in the meow space?

I was saying on your other thread that I will try to check up on you during the day since we are in the same time zone.
 
I’m really proud of you for shooting the 2.75 this morning. He is having such lovely blue numbers. With the Meow Space and the timed feeder, you will be able to support his numbers and keep him safe. It will be nerve wracking at first because it’s new, but when you come home and check him and see that he is well, you will gain confidence.

I have another thought. Some people have cameras set up to monitor their pets while they aren’t at home. Have you ever looked into this? Of course, if Kaz likes to go sleep somewhere hidden away all day it may not work. It’s just a thought.
 
Tried camera once before did not work well and my upstairs neighbor had theirs hacked and someone was watching them. This kind of gave me the creeps.
 
So like yesterday his numbers continue to drop but now he is in the green for the people monitor and low blues for animal monitor.
 
Hi Suzanne

I may check in with you in about 2 1/2 hours as this would be his preshot check in case Bron is not around as I know it will be very early morning for her at that time. If that's ok. All depends on what the number is the last number I got would be to hold the shot. My gut says he's going to be border line again but this time I think hes going to be more on the low side.

Kaz has been more hungry over the past 24/48 hours and then goes straight to sleep after eating but he's fine. I've woken him a couple times and hes very alert when I do it.
 
Sure. I’ll be around. I’ll set an alarm for myself on my phone too for about two hours from now. I need to check in on a couple of other people as well so no problem at all.
 
Because of the lower numbers I have been ear pricking at 5.30pm and then feeding at 5.40pm and then insulin at 6.15pm (same process in the morning.) Doing earlier in case I can't give the insulin and need help this gives me 30-45 minutes to get the help we may need.

USUALLY I ear prick at 5.45am/pm then feed at 5.50pm and then insulin at 6.15am/pm (no issue it's usually quick easy process Kaz is extremely good I just show him the needle and he jumps straight onto the bed and waits patiently for the injection.)
 
Looks like he bounced no real idea why this happened as I was expecting much lower numbers and I kept him on the low carb food as instructed? Find this a bit odd.
He's still really hungry think he would eat anything I gave him right now. This was how he was when first diagnosed but as I started giving him the insulin this and the huge thirst seemed to have subsided. Should I be worried that he's suddenly really hungry again? Does this signify something.
 
Looks like he bounced no real idea why this happened as I was expecting much lower numbers and I kept him on the low carb food as instructed? Find this a bit odd.
He's still really hungry think he would eat anything I gave him right now. This was how he was when first diagnosed but as I started giving him the insulin this and the huge thirst seemed to have subsided. Should I be worried that he's suddenly really hungry again? Does this signify something.
I don’t think it necessarily means anything except that his BG is high right now. My cat was always more hungry in higher numbers and less hungry in lower numbers. What I actually worried about was when he started eating less when he started having lower numbers. I was so used to him being ravenous all the time.
 
Ok thanks. He's getting a bit fat but I'll have to deal with that after my trip. As long as it does not signify something I should be on the look out for.
Thanks for checking in.
 
Ok thanks. He's getting a bit fat but I'll have to deal with that after my trip. As long as it does not signify something I should be on the look out for.
Thanks for checking in.
I see on his spreadsheet that he’s eating 1/2 can of FF several times a day, but probably needs only about a Tablespoon of food to keep his numbers up. But yes, for now you may not want to rock the boat - and you can worry about his weight when you return.
 
I am sure it’s back to work for you this morning, Claire. I see the AMPS on your spreadsheet for today, but I don’t see anything in the units column. I hope all is well and you’ve got your auto feeder set up in the Meow Space for today. I hope you got some rest last night and will have a good day at work.
 
Hi Claire,

I know you don't know me, but I wanted to offer my insight for whatever it is worth to you. I was a nervous wreck in the beginning (I still am some days), and especially when Kitty's numbers started dropping. I was very nervous when I began shooting blue preshot numbers, and even moreso when I shot my first green number! I've seen some of your threads and I know your job does not provide much flexibility. I found immense comfort in having a camera set up so that I can check in on Kitty throughout the day. In the beginning I was obsessively checking the camera while I was at work (sometimes every 5 minutes it felt like). I set it up to point at her favorite napping spot and I also have her feeder within view. My camera records the previous 24 hours so I can review footage and see that she is eating. They even make some cameras that you can pan around the room if Kaz has a room that he spends most of his time in but not in one particular spot. If privacy is of concern to you, you can always unplug the camera when you are home and just plug it back in when you are leaving.

I know you're very nervous now that Kaz is seeing some lower numbers. Just know that so many of us have felt the same way so your feelings are perfectly valid, normal, and expected. I know it doesn't feel this way now but it does get a bit easier once you get used to the lower numbers.
 
Last edited:
Hi Bron

Kaz's numbers are below the threshold for the shot (200 with AT2 and he's at 192) hes only slightly under but not sure if I should reduce shot to 1 unit.
Going to tag Suzanne for help as I am not sure if you are up yet.
.
@Suzanne & Darcy
 
I am sure it’s back to work for you this morning, Claire. I see the AMPS on your spreadsheet for today, but I don’t see anything in the units column. I hope all is well and you’ve got your auto feeder set up in the Meow Space for today. I hope you got some rest last night and will have a good day at work.

I thought I input this before I left this morning along with the two meals I left but I must have forgotten? Sorry I'm overly tired but no excuse you can't help me if I don't do this.
 
So I retested 20 minutes later and the results are as follows:-

Human Meter 136
AT2 - 204 ---- this is now just above the threshold so I am assuming I can feed him and dose as usual?

Do I change the PMPS number to the higher number in the spreadsheet or make note in the comments section as to what I did.

Does this also mean his numbers are likely to drop this evening?
 
Unless you tell me otherwise I am going to give him his normal 2.75 is this too high???

I can monitor him for the next 5 hours but I have to get at least 4-5 hours sleep I have huge meetings and I am already exhausted from no sleep on Saturday and most Sunday.
 
This preshot is lower though so some consideration needs to be given to that. If you can monitor, then I think you will be able to keep him safe. His nadirs are kind of late (today) so what do you think? You hold the syringe and it's important for you to be comfortable with what you are doing.
 
I don't know what I am supposed to be doing that's why I am asking Im having a bit of a meltdown right now and the clock just keeps ticking I need you to tell me what I am supposed to do
 
I don't know what I am supposed to be doing that's why I am asking Im having a bit of a meltdown right now and the clock just keeps ticking I need you to tell me what I am supposed to do
I'm worried that you will not be able to monitor him tonight as long as may be necessary. If it were my cat, I might consider reducing by .25 units and then monitoring closely. There will still be influence from the other cycle/dose. I don't think I would go as low as one unit. I might even shoot 2 units. It's just that he's so borderline right now... it's kind of a judgment call. Technically, you can shoot the whole dose if he's over 50.. and he may bounce, we don't know (although he has in the past.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top