? 5/14 Prince dosing advice

Prince’s Mom

Member Since 2020
Please take a look at his spreadsheet. I don’t understand how he can be so high at AMPS and PMPS most times and then be so low at this morning’s AMPS.
I was brave enough to shoot the full dose at today’s 135, but look at us now! Almost 400!
Am I missing something?
 
Here is the link to your previous post here, which we ask be included for continuity: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-3-prince-dosing-advice.246937/

I rather suspect Prince was lower than 135 overnight, and is now bouncing. You had a no shot the night of the 10th, which disrupts the depot. It can take up to six cycles to build it back again. That sixth cycle was last night, depot was full and the you can see the full effects of this dose. And since all but one of Prince's nadirs are above 150, I suspect he could use an increase to 3.0 units.
 
If he did go lower than this morning’s 135, wouldn’t increasing his dose cause him to keep going lower and bouncing?
 
wouldn’t increasing his dose cause him to keep going lower and bouncing?
Your goal is to get his numbers lower over all. More insulin will do that, and help get rid of those pinks. Bouncing isn't a problem, it's a normal part of the process with most cats as we get them better regulated. Only once he becomes used to lower (normal) BG numbers will he get regulated.
 
Back
Top