5/14 Latte AMPS-434, PMPS-560

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Member Since 2009
Last Night:
PMPS-143 (pred 2.5mg)
+2.75-166
+4-229
+5.5-264
AMPS-434 (pred 5mg)
+2-298

yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=14432

Latte ate kibble over night and I just had to open a second 3oz can of food for her after +2 because she finished the first one and was showing interest in wanting more. Dont expect her to eat much of it. But, it was worth opening it just because of her interest. So glad she is eating today - with enthusiasm.

She really wanted to get on an old, favorite chair by the couch this a.m. She has stairs by it but wont use them. She moved over to the other side of the couch and stared like she wanted to jump onto it but knew she couldnt. I picked her up and put her on so she could look out the window. Of course as soon as I did that she wanted down (and couldnt figure out how). I helped her down. It was nice to see. I miss her in the window. Used to come home from work and see her sitting there. Or, as soon as I went to bed she would go sit in the window and watch all the night time happenings. Her throne is next to a window, so she looks out at that sometimes.

She is walking pretty good this a.m. She really wanted to go outside and eat grass first thing, but I had to hold off because I didnt want her to vomit her medicine. Now she is content being inside. It should be a nice weekend, so if she continues to feel well maybe she will want to go out again?

Interesting to see she could go down to a perfect set of numbers around ps last night despite the dose decrease. I really wish I had not needed to leave right after her shot, because Im certain she was continuing to drop. Maybe the small amount of pred I reduced helped. depending on how the next few days go, I *may* consider reducing another drop to a 1.75. She bounced pretty high this a.m., which is what we are trying to avoid. Higher flat at this point for her is better than 300-400pt swings every cycle or two. Obviously thats not the overall goal, but it would be a start in the right direction.

She has enjoyed being out in the hall this a.m. (which I consider social). This friday is much better than the last few fridays we have had...at the vet for emergencies. Despite getting three day weekends, Im completely exhausted with the amount of work I am putting into 4 days. Add Latte's care on top of that and....well, lets just say there are plenty of naps in store for us this weekend! (anti jinx) Some important personal business that has been lingering for quite some time should be cleared up after ONE more errand later today. A huge black cloud will suddenly be lifted from our skies.

I am cautiously optimistic today.
 
Re: 5/14 Latte AMPS-434, +2-298, +3~263

Well, cautiously optimistic is acceptable. HUGS Carolyn!!! SO pleased to read your report this morning! Latte sounds so really really good....after what you two have been through..YIPES! Her being in the hallway made me smile...and trying to get up on the chair...aw....once you helped her she said "Nah...this isn't where I wanna be right now...thanks but no thanks..." LOL.

Hope you get that stuff done today and come home to enjoy a relaxing and nap-filled weekend with your girl!!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/14 Latte AMPS-434, +2-298, +3~263

What great news - she sounds like she is doing so much better - eating is awesome... and the outdoor interest? Fantastic! Wonderful isn't it to feel optimistic?

I do hope Latte, and you, continue to have a great day! What a wonderful start!
 
Re: 5/14 Latte AMPS-434, +2-298, +3~263

Its so nice to hear such a good report on Latte today. It sounds like she's feeling pretty good today. I hope you and Latte have a really great weekend.
 
Re: 5/14 Latte AMPS-434, +2-298, +3~263

Oh how I understand "cautiously optimistic"! We're thinking of you both today and wishing you a great day! Enjoy your three day weekend, you certainly deserve some rest. I'm sure caring for Latte is a full time job in addition to your actual job. It gets exhausting but you're doing a great job, Carolyn.
 
Re: 5/14 Latte AMPS-434, +2-298, +3~263,+4~195

She is really flying down.
I have had a hard time adding karo to her a.m. food when getting these pre shots in the 4-500's. But maybe I need to go back to tthat old trick to slow these drops.

She is purring up a storm and making lots of funny old cat noises under the piano as she is about to zzzzzzzzz (laying on top of her new pink cat nip pillow).
 
Re: 5/14 Latte AMPS-434, +3~263,+4~195,+5~113,+5.5~88

Is this what I have been missing the last few weeks?!

Feeding babyfood. She never needs to be this low.

200's to 400's to 80's in 12 hrs.
Poor thing!
 
Re: 5/14 Latte AMPS-434, +3~263,+4~195,+5~113,+5.5~88

HI Carolyn and Latte, so happy to hear she is doing better! Sorry about the quick drop! Nice to see you a little less stressed! Hope you can catch up on your naps this weekend!
 
Re: 5/14 Latte AMPS-434, +3~263,+4~195,+5~113,+5.5~88

carolynandlatte said:
Is this what I have been missing the last few weeks?!

Feeding babyfood. She never needs to be this low.

200's to 400's to 80's in 12 hrs.
Poor thing!

Yep...I'd say lose another drop tonight. Seems to be feeling good despite the drops, and sounds as if she's eating - so Victory! Take them where you can get them! Hoping you errand works out eaily and that you 2 can have a realxing day....and Napping!!! My favorite...

Talk to you later!
 
Re: 5/14 Latte AMPS-434, +4~195,+5~113,+5.5~88,+6~109,+7~216

I have a smile on my face reading about Latte today Carolyn.
After last weeks stress (okay and many othe weeks of stress) this is wonderful to hear
how Latte is doing.
What a lady she is.
max send slots and lots of hugs to her.
Enjoy a relaxing weekend. :-D
 
Re: 5/14 Latte AMPS-434, +4~195,+5~113,+5.5~88,+6~109,+7~216

Given how much you've had on your hands the last couple of weeks, Jill has been coaching me and Miriam to use food to manage the curve. It's a lot like what you were doing with the Karo early in the cycle. The idea is that if there is a drop like between your AMPS and +2 today, to give some HC. We're tying to flatten out the cycle, as well.
 
Re: 5/14 Latte AMPS-434,+5~113,+5.5~88,+6~109,+7~216,+9~553

THAT string of numbers just BREAKS my heart for her.

How can the sugar Gods be THAT cruel?

She has been hiding out in the bathroom the last few hrs....can you blame her?
 
Re: 5/14 Latte AMPS-434,+5~113,+5.5~88,+6~109,+7~216,+9~553

No, we certainly can't blame Latte for hiding on that bounce! Let's hope she returns to acceptable territory soon. You are home now, and that's what matters to your girl. We hope you will both have a weekend of relaxation and good numbers. Hugs from Stu and me,

Ella
 
Re: 5/14 Latte AMPS-434,+5~113,+5.5~88,+6~109,+7~216,+9~553

Poor Latta, she's gone through every single color today and so quickly. However, your WCR sounded so good that I can't help but smile! It sounds like Latte is getting better and better as the days go by and that just warms my heart!

I hope you guys have a wonderful wonderful three day weekend filled with lots of snuggles and nice nummers!!
 
Re: 5/14 Latte AMPS-434,+5~113,+5.5~88,+6~109,+7~216,+9~553

And now for the quasi-positive spin...

We know Latte's liver is working just fine, thank you.

And please let your lady know that she is in serious competition for the gold medal in pole vaulting.
 
And the truth is revealed! (note how quickly she can go down AND up...how easy it would be to miss in just a few hours, let alone if gone all day)

AMPS-434
+2-298 (136pt drop, 1 3oz can wellness finished by +1.75)
*this is usually when I leave for work*
+3-263 (35pt drop, 1/4 can wellness)
+4-195 (68pt drop)
+5-113 (82pt drop, 1/3 jar baby food)
+5.5-88 (25pt drop, 1/3 jar baby food)
+6-109 (21pt rise)
+7-216 (107pt rise)
+9-553 (337pt rise in 2hrs!)
*this is around the time I get home from work*
+11-577 (24pt rise)
PMPS-560 (14pt drop) REDUCED TO 1.75U from sk2.0

WOW! :shock:

As I said earlier, its really HARD to wrap my head around putting karo in her food when she is in the 400-500 range at ps. But, I guess I need to start considering it and deal,if she is not going to drop that day. I *could* have tested +1, but knew I would be doing a lot of testing today and figured that would be the one to skip. I also *could* have and thought about feeding @ +4, but she was resting pretty comfortably and ate much more than normal already. I also assumed she would either surf or bounce pretty quickly. On top of that, I figured it might be good to let her do what she needs to do on her own, as if Im not here, so I could really see what was going on this last month. I feel bad it was at her expense. I hope it benefits her in the very near future, however. I am quite surprised she did not choose to eat any kibble during some of those drops. Im guessing she was full from such a big breakfast.

She does not feel great (understandably so). She is back to hiding out in the bathroom after a short appearance under the piano - just in time for shot. Im surpised she is not drinking a lot. I tried not to disturb her after +9 in hopes she wouldnt notice how high she was going and head toward the water bowl. I think it worked! I dont expect her to show any interest in food, let alone MOVE, unless she starts dropping. I need to run an errand, but will be back by +2 for a test and feed some baby food just in case.

I DID skinny her dose again...now 1.75. She does not need to go as low as she was. And if THAT is what is causing such horrendous bounces, its definately not worth it. I hope Im doing the right thing. If she can just flatten out in the high 100-300 range, that would be amazing (and yes, that would be flat for her!). If she sticks in a 300 range too long, then we can reconsider increasing a drop again. Her pred will stay the same, as long as she is symptom free, until next weekend. I will then reduce her dose once more.

Any thoughts are welcome!
 
I wish I could help you out, just don't think I'm the one with a viable opinion. I think it was good on your part to see what she would do while there on her own. Invaluable data, truly. I think that in regards to that, you did her a service, as bad as it made you feel. I would too. I wish the best for you both, hope she brings those numbers down. I know how yucky she feels when they are that high. It is the same for my guy.

Best wishes, i hope you have a good weekend together. Latte couldn't have a better bean.
 
Carolyn,

You are doing such an amazing job for Latte. Although I know it's stressful on you, I'm happy that you'll be with her this weekend to see what's been going on with her. Even though it's not an ideal situation, you probably have your answer as to why she seems to be doing so well one minute and not the next. Makes me feel like she'll be fine once she stabilizes.

Jason
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top