Jazzy has switched to Lantus on 5/11. He has been getting .5 units 2x/day. His BG was 12.0 this AM. It's not been that low for pre shot. It's time for his insulin. Do I give him any this morning?
Yes, I gave him his insulin after reading a bit of information. I didn't have enough time to wait for advice. I will be checking him again for sure. Thanks for your input.
I am glad you shot this morning. Although I am Canadian and understand mmoL/l, the majority of people who help out here are American and they use mg/dl for blood glucose numbers. If you post with those mg/dl numbers, you might get more help. For example, 12.0 is 216. We tell new people that they are safe to shoot when numbers are over 200. Over time, and as you collect more data and are able to monitor, you will find you can lower the number at which you feel comfortable shooting the full dose.