5/13 Vesta AMPS~173 +2~78 +3~60 +4~107 +5~170 PMPS~408

Status
Not open for further replies.

Weather Girl

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=14372

And to think we were doing so well.... Back to slightly scary low numbers. And our internet was down for the morning! Bad combo!

So last night I tested at +6 from the pmps 165. Not bad, not bad. This morning we were going to move her dose up by 15 minutes (shoot at +11.45), but with an AMPS of 173, I figured I'd feed, then give her the shot at +12 instead. Vesta ate about 1/3 of her bowl of food then. I tested again at +2, and got a bg of 78... so started to get a little nervous. Made her eat another 1/3 of her breakfast. Tested again at +3 and got 60. Wholeheartedly nervous now, so I gave her about 1/3 tsp of maple syrup with the last 1/3 of her breakfast. She only ate about 1/2 of that mixture (guess she's just not a pancake kind of girl, like her mom ;-) ) I'll test again soon. Oh, and we're still at my parents, but get to go back home before pmps. (driving back to our house between +6 and +8)

She's (like the other night) not exhibiting any hypo symptoms- totally acting normal, alert, jumping up on the cat tree and stuff. She drank some water. She did her morning business in the LB. Should I just try and keep controlling her BGs with food for the time being? Then tonight, do we do our first real doseage decrease? I'm thinking 2 units bid may be a bit high for her... We 1/2 unit marked syringes and can make that switch.

On a personal note- I'm supposed to be sleeping the day away to prepare my body to work a graveyard shift tonight. This sucks. But you gotta do what you gotta do, right?
 
Re: 5/13 Vesta AMPS~173 +2~78 +3~60 ADVICE PLZ

+4 was 107. Guess the syrup did the trick.

Any thoughts on PM dose?

By the way- had to snap this shot :) Vesta got very interested in what I was typing as I updated her spreadsheet- She seemed pleased!
 

Attachments

  • photo.jpg
    photo.jpg
    102.9 KB · Views: 546
Re: 5/13 Vesta AMPS~173 +2~78 +3~60 ADVICE PLZ

Hi Jamie
Looks like Vesta is giving you a fun time. 60 is a very nice number and is not considered hypo. Yes it is a bit early in the cycle a 100 point drop but here is what I was taught to do and kept a list.

Numbers above 50 - feed LC (2 tsp and test 30 minutes)
Numbers between 40-50 feed MC (medium carb which is the regular food and a little gravy on it) test 15-30 minutes,
Numbers under 40 - Feed HC - 2 tsp of gravy only, restest in 15 until you see numbers wise.

The hope is to keep Vesta in a nice green surf as long as possible, with numbers over 50.
 
Re: 5/13 Vesta AMPS~173 +2~78 +3~60 ADVICE PLZ

Randi & Max said:
Hi Jamie
Looks like Vesta is giving you a fun time. 60 is a very nice number and is not considered hypo. Yes it is a bit early in the cycle a 100 point drop but here is what I was taught to do and kept a list.

Numbers above 50 - feed LC (2 tsp and test 30 minutes)
Numbers between 40-50 feed MC (medium carb which is the regular food and a little gravy on it) test 15-30 minutes,
Numbers under 40 - Feed HC - 2 tsp of gravy only, restest in 15 until you see numbers wise.

The hope is to keep Vesta in a nice green surf as long as possible, with numbers over 50.

Thanks, Randi and Max... I'm going to grab some cans of MC and HC today to have on hand, since Vesta obviously is enjoying her greens much quicker than I expected her to. What carb %age would qualify for each? Suggestions? Thanks.
 
Re: 5/13 Vesta AMPS~173 +2~78 +3~60 +4 107 ADVICE PLZ

Jamie
I keopt 2 kinds of cans. Regular Fancy Feast LC and then some grilled/marinated flavours.
Gavy is jey, usually 16-18% carbs.
For the "MC" I just used his regular LC food and out a little gravy on it.
Please make sure to have these on hand. Very important.

When Max started to drop a lot I always kept "gravy" in a little tuppy in teh fridge cuz I too used to panic and it is nt easy seperating the gravy ad the food. So I would dumped a can over a little strainer and strain out all of the gravy. Weighted it down so the gravy would come out and a touch of water.
And the reason you only give a little amount of food at a time is tat if you need to keep feeding her to get numbers up you don't want her getting too full.

BTW, love the pic!
 
Re: 5/13 Vesta AMPS~173 +2~78 +3~60 +4 107 ADVICE PLZ

Randi & Max said:
Regular Fancy Feast LC and then some grilled/marinated flavours.
Gavy is jey, usually 16-18% carbs.
For the "MC" I just used his regular LC food and out a little gravy on it.
Please make sure to have these on hand. Very important.

Forgive my ignorance in advance... When you say regular Fancy Feast LC, you just mean any ol' fancy feast flavor that is low in carbs, right? And the grilled/marinated flavors are the more high carb ones, right? Because the marinade/gravy ups the carb count? Just checking...


I'm frustrated with myself for flipping the syrup switch at 60- especially not that she's back up to 170 at+5. Very very irked. It's really re-training my brain for what to WANT to see.
 
Re: 5/13 Vesta AMPS~173 +2~78 +3~60 +4~107 +5~170

What do you mean when you said last night you
Shot a +6?


jamie don't beat yourself over the syrup.
It is natural to panic the first time.
That is why you are here on the board.
We learn all the time.

Yes you are correct about the food.
I am sorry I did not check what you feed vesta.
We only use fancy feast so that's why I said it.
Do you have the Janet and binky food list?
 
Re: 5/13 Vesta AMPS~173 +2~78 +3~60 +4~107 +5~170

Randi & Max said:
What do you mean when you said last night you
Shot a +6?

Meant to say I tested at +6. Big difference, huh? Yeah, I need to get my lingo strait.

Yep, I use Binky's list. We're using EVO 5% and FF right now, some of the grilled flavors. All 3-6% carbs or so. Which mc and hc foods does Max enjoy?
 
Re: 5/13 Vesta AMPS~173 +2~78 +3~60 +4~107 +5~170

Yup you gave me a bit of a heart attack when I saw "shot at +6" :lol: :lol:
Big difference.

I only use the Low Carb FF for Max. EVO has too much fat in it. He weighs 18.5 pounds.
I am lucky that he likes them all so I have all the flavours. I really don't use the fish ones, not a favourite here and beef I keep to a minimum cuz some beans here feel BG's show a little higher with beef.
The classic chicken, chopped grill (it is not gravy, I never knew) turkey & giblets, beef & chicken.
The HC ones were just either grilled chicke, beef, turkey. He only ate the gravy, not the chunk parts. He never liked chunks.
 
Re: 5/13 Vesta AMPS~173 +2~78 +3~60 +4~107 +5~170

You're correct - it's the gravy that contains the bulk of the carbs.

I want to encourage you to look at numbers in the 50s and 60s as your friends! Those are very safe numbers. You will not see hypo symptoms there. In fact, it's rare to see hypo symptoms with numbers in the 30s -- you just don't want to let your kitty hang out there for overly long. Having a cat surf in the 50 - 60 range is a great place for the pancreas to heal as well as a range for the liver to get used to so it doesn't panic and cause a big bounce. The next time you get numbers in the 60s or so, do exactly what you did with the 78 -- feed some LC. See if the LC food will keep Vesta surfing. What you did was fine -- you kept numbers in a good range and, no doubt, you felt confident that she was safe -- and she was. My concern is that you don't panic with lower numbers and feel like you need to start yanking out the big guns because these numbers are too low. If you follow some of the cats who are going through or recently completed an OTJ trial, you'll see that numbers are often lower than 60 with no insulin.
 
Re: 5/13 Vesta AMPS~173 +2~78 +3~60 +4~107 +5~170

I swear, if you guys had a dollar for every time I thanked you...

I really do need to train myself to be good with double digits- My reaction almost certainly caused her pmps to be back up to 408. Of course, some of it was an hour in the car and another hour sitting in the kennel waiting for the movers to put everything back in the house... Then ANOTHER hour sitting on the hot water heater because she was mad at me for making her sit in the kennel. Hopefully having things back to normal in the house will allow her to settle into a more flat curve.

I've got some designated "MC" and "HC" cans so we can address any future borderline situations and have some fun times surfing. (I mean, she is a California girl- surfing should be natural!) I am so mad I missed an opportunity to help her pancreas have some healing time... but we (DH and I) learned from it and won't make that mistake again.

Here's to a good blue-green day tomorrow!

Oh, and once things got settled in the house, Vesta wanted to show me what she'd prefer to eat for dinner. Thought ya'll might like to see...
 

Attachments

  • photo(3).jpg
    photo(3).jpg
    103.2 KB · Views: 548
Re: 5/13 Vesta AMPS~173 +2~78 +3~60 +4~107 +5~170

Weather Girl said:
Yep, I use Binky's list. We're using EVO 5% and FF right now, some of the grilled flavors. All 3-6% carbs or so. Which mc and hc foods does Max enjoy?

This is from J&B's chart... the only grilled I could find listed. (This could also explain her high numbers if you are feeding her 18% carbs thinking it's under 6%)

Grilled Beef Feast = 18

Grilled Chicken Feast =18

Grilled Turkey Feast=18

I feed Tugger FF Classic Chicken Feast, Turkey and Giblets Feast, Tender Liver and Chicken Feast, Chunky Chicken Feast and Chunky Turkey Feast mostly. We avoid beef flavors because the kitten hoarks 'em up. Those flavors I just listed are all 3-5% I also feed some of the seafood flavors but those I try to limit to once a week or so. They're the lowest carbs but it's not good to feed fish all the time so we give it as a special treat. I don't feed him over 5% if I can help it because he seems to run higher numbers if he eats over 5% so for Tugger 0-5% is LC 6-10 is MC and over 10% is HC.

I feed the grilled, marinated morsels, roasted and sliced ones only to the civvies on the counter where Tugger can't get (unless hubby screws up and feeds 18% to the floor feeders and 3% to the counter feeders... three dang times! ugh.) When he was moving down the dosing ladder I used the gravy from those foods poured over his usual food to bring his numbers back up and fed the rest of the can to the civvies.I don't really have to give him gravy from 18% food to bring him up, I could give him a spoon of FF Elegant Medley's White Meat Chicken Florentine w/ GardenGreens (11%) and do the job but the grilled is what I have on hand most often. I just used a little drizzle of it, not a lot.
 
Thanks for the advice Marvie- having another cat's #s is really helpful... I can use it as a loose starting point.

I actually just typed incorrectly what canned FF I use- It's actually Tender Beef Feast, Tender Beef and Chicken Feast, and Chopped Grill Feast. According to J&B's old charts, the first 2 are 3% and the last is 2%. I can't find any regular FF on the new charts- is this old info still good?

And to be honest, she's been getting all EVO for the last week or so... the only FF is when she snacks on her civvie sister's food, which we've been pretty good about policing recently.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top