wombat88
Member Since 2010
My friend picked her up at the clinic tonight, dropped her off at the house and then came back a bit later to retest glucose and feed. She was down to 72 and emailed me to ask what to do but I was asleep so she decided to give it anyway since the vet indicated it would be okay to give even if she was lower (yikes). When I woke up and saw her email I panicked and emailed her. Thankfully she was still up and drove over at midnight to check on her as it had been a few hours since the last shot. Surprisingly she was doing fine and up to 183 confused_cat
I have absolute NO idea what is going on with her glucose levels at this point. If I heard my vet correctly, it took four or five units of insulin yesterday on top of the 2.8 units she got in the AM. And even with a BG of 72, she gets another two units (a lower dose my vet had told her to give) and 4.5 hours later she's up to 183??? The only thing I can think is that she is not capable for whatever reason of processing the PZI that well, or she just really got out of whack and now the liver and pancreas don't know what to do.
She will recheck her early in the AM and if she's over 600 return her to the vet's office per his instructions. He thought it would take a few days to get her regulated and told me not to worry, but it is hard to do that from thousands of miles away. Wish I could be there to comfort her. My vet still thinks that it is primarily stress causing this. Lots of changes for her the past few weeks, so it just may be the case that on top of being sick as well just has made it tough.
Very confused mama bean here. My friend has given her food so in case she drops lower again she will have something to ward off hypos but this is a really weird puzzle.
I have absolute NO idea what is going on with her glucose levels at this point. If I heard my vet correctly, it took four or five units of insulin yesterday on top of the 2.8 units she got in the AM. And even with a BG of 72, she gets another two units (a lower dose my vet had told her to give) and 4.5 hours later she's up to 183??? The only thing I can think is that she is not capable for whatever reason of processing the PZI that well, or she just really got out of whack and now the liver and pancreas don't know what to do.
She will recheck her early in the AM and if she's over 600 return her to the vet's office per his instructions. He thought it would take a few days to get her regulated and told me not to worry, but it is hard to do that from thousands of miles away. Wish I could be there to comfort her. My vet still thinks that it is primarily stress causing this. Lots of changes for her the past few weeks, so it just may be the case that on top of being sick as well just has made it tough.
Very confused mama bean here. My friend has given her food so in case she drops lower again she will have something to ward off hypos but this is a really weird puzzle.