5/13 update on Shaikha

Status
Not open for further replies.

wombat88

Active Member
My friend picked her up at the clinic tonight, dropped her off at the house and then came back a bit later to retest glucose and feed. She was down to 72 and emailed me to ask what to do but I was asleep so she decided to give it anyway since the vet indicated it would be okay to give even if she was lower (yikes). When I woke up and saw her email I panicked and emailed her. Thankfully she was still up and drove over at midnight to check on her as it had been a few hours since the last shot. Surprisingly she was doing fine and up to 183 confused_cat

I have absolute NO idea what is going on with her glucose levels at this point. If I heard my vet correctly, it took four or five units of insulin yesterday on top of the 2.8 units she got in the AM. And even with a BG of 72, she gets another two units (a lower dose my vet had told her to give) and 4.5 hours later she's up to 183??? The only thing I can think is that she is not capable for whatever reason of processing the PZI that well, or she just really got out of whack and now the liver and pancreas don't know what to do.

She will recheck her early in the AM and if she's over 600 return her to the vet's office per his instructions. He thought it would take a few days to get her regulated and told me not to worry, but it is hard to do that from thousands of miles away. Wish I could be there to comfort her. My vet still thinks that it is primarily stress causing this. Lots of changes for her the past few weeks, so it just may be the case that on top of being sick as well just has made it tough.

Very confused mama bean here. My friend has given her food so in case she drops lower again she will have something to ward off hypos but this is a really weird puzzle.
 
It's certainly a stressful situation for both of you, but how fortunate that you have such a great friend and vet as part of your support team. I'm sure this is all going to smooth out soon.
 
this friend is wonderful...would she be willing to check in here if she has a question and you are not available? we would love to help her.
that is likely a big old rebound # she got at midnight.
now since it will be a bit confusing as to hypersensitivy...it would be great if we could work it out with her.
you could always give one of our numbers to her in the case of shoot/no shoot what to do scenario if she does not want to get on-line
 
Latest update: She was up above 600 again this morning, so my friend took her back to my vet and has asked him to keep her at least overnight because her condition is scaring her. I can't blame her at all. She was scared to give the insulin last night, and with my not being available and her not being able to reach me, she wasn't sure what to do (I'd told her never to shoot under 200). She told me that my vet is going to try to get her regulated today and will come in tomorrow so he can continue to monitor her. I am sure what we have seen is a big rebound effect as you all said, but at this point it is all a guess as to how she'll react to insulin and how much to give. He seemed to be monitoring things pretty tightly yesterday and thought she'd be okay but we haven't had her on PZI long enough I think to even be able to predict when and how long it will take to nadir, or how much. Haven't heard from him this morning yet, but will email him after posting this to get an update. I do think the clinic is the best place for her though, at least until we can get her regulated in some manner. My friend is scared she'll come there to a cat collapsed on the floor, and I don't blame her. I'd be afraid to take that responsibility too if our positions were switched.

So here's hoping that they can get her regulated and quickly so we can get her back home. :sad:
 
Dearest Wendy,,,,,so sorry this is all happening with you away. Wish I could make it all better.
Your Ketone Meter and strips are going out today...with no less than 3 of my favorite toys for Shaikha.
I hope she finds some joy and comfort in them.
Lori
and Lord Thomas.
 
lori and tom said:
Dearest Wendy,,,,,so sorry this is all happening with you away. Wish I could make it all better.
Your Ketone Meter and strips are going out today...with no less than 3 of my favorite toys for Shaikha.
I hope she finds some joy and comfort in them.
Lori
and Lord Thomas.

Thanks, Lori. Apparently my vet plans to take her home with him overnight so he can monitor her. I think that will be quieter for her than at the clinic, where dogs, etc. will make her more nervous. I plan to call him later this evening to see how things are going. Hopefully we are getting closer, but I imagine that she's going to be tough to get regulated as off as she's been. I'm sure she will appreciate the toys. :)
 
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Your vet sounds great, and I am glad your friend was able to take her in. I would be freaked out I am sure, it is scary not to understand what is going on or what to do. Sending good thoughts! Hopefully when you come home she will be nicely regulated, wouldn't that be great!!!
 
What a great vet! I'm sure this eases your mind from far away that she is with your vet tonight under supervision.
I hope she will start to regulate soon; sending more prayers.
 
Got several updates from my vet. Yesterday started off badly with her over 600, which is why she went to the vet. He had to give insulin several times, but less than the day before. Though there was a little rebound between noon and 3pm, he gave another small dose and she then went down nicely after that from 348 to 148. He kept monitoring her and by this AM she was only up to 294!!!. He gave 2.8 units and is monitoring her again today. Hopefully she won't need interim doses and she'll start doing a more normal curve once again. Will keep you posted, and yes, he's a wonderful vet. I'm glad he got her out of the clinic and into a quieter setting where she can be monitored carefully.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top