Re: 5/13 punkin amps 164 +3/184 +6/147
Very nice numbers, Punkin. Good work, Julie. I'll see if I can answer your question about R. When Gus is off the charts, Lantus is too gentle an insulin to lower his #s to any noticeable degree. The meter (as I'm sure you know) only reads 'HI', but if it showed a number, just say, it would read out '730'. So, the Lantus would be given and the nadir might be '680'. Still too high for the insulin to do any good. It (Lantus) can't pull him down that much when he's so high. The R is super stron and really fast. The dose is so small and it gives big result. .25U of R lowers Gus about 100 points when given in the 350-450 range. It gets him low so that Lantus can work better. Also, the Lantus can only be given every 12 hours and that is plenty of time for a cat to shoot right off the chart. If I see that Gus is starting a bounce, I can shoot a little R and not stop the bounce, but keep the bounce lower. He might only reach 550 on the bounce instead of 800. The Lantus is increased according to protocol even when R is used. Did I help at all?