5/13 AMPS 369 Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

heidi and doodles

Member Since 2010
Not sure what happened posted and dont's see it now.
My question... with numbers like this in the morning I understand that Lantus is a 12/12 but does it matter if you are 30 minutes early with the shot?
Doodles shot times are at 6:30. >"<
 
Heidi - it is okay here and there but you don't want to do it on a regular basis. When we have to adjust our shooting times we adjust 15 minutes a time per cycle or 30 minutes per cycle. Does that make sense? As I am typing I feel like it doesn't :?

ETA - what did you shoot this morning?

ETA - I am adding the link to yesterday' condo here. We like to see the link from the day before so it is easy to review if there are any questions about what went on yesterday. :mrgreen:
Doodles Yesterday Condo
 
If you shoot early, it's like a dose increase.
If you shoot late, it's like a dose decrease.

Think of a gas tank and having to fill up every 12hrs.
If you try to put in more before then, you will have some extra in the tank, so it will be an increase. The same goes for shooting late - by that 12hour mark, it's used up its allotment for the day and in order to keep going, it goes to the spare tank you have, that 'shed', and pulls out a bit.
When you shoot late, the next shot will have to put a bit back into the shed to keep it topped up.

Now, when there was the time changes, clock ahead or back, we shoot 15min off for 4 shots, just to keep with our chosen time, so it is done. You just need to know that it does have a wee bit of an effect.
 
Housekeeping item first: Could you edit your first post to include Doodles' name?

Paige and Gayle laid out the general recommendation (although I think Paige meant 15 min per cycle or 30 min per day).

D's point is well taken -- a lot depends on where Doodle's (or any cat's) numbers are. If numbers are high, you have more wiggle room around moving a shot time. It's not unusual for someone who has stalled giving a shot due to an unexpectedly low pre-shot number, to be able to make up some or most of the time when their next pre-shot number is high.

If you need to adjust shot times, you can always post and we can help you with the time shift. If you are wanting to break through a "pink" barrier, I'd discuss the issue of using early shots with D. It's a dosing strategy that she is helping some people with BUT it requires a great deal of flexibility with your schedule and you have to test a great deal and it's not something that I would undertake without having someone with D's experience at this looking over my shoulder.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Paige and Gayle laid out the general recommendation (although I think Paige meant 15 min per cycle or 30 min per day).

I did Sienne - thank you. Need some ~O)
 
We are here to help you, but as a newbie, i strongly recommend that you read and re-read the stickies at the top of the page. Your new best friend will be consistency - keeping things same same will slightly simplify your life at the beginning and give you a little time to take in all the information.

i also second everything Sienne said.

Welcome to lantus land!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top