5/12 Latte AMPS-457, PMPS~338,+2.5~378, +4~312

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Member Since 2009
Last Night:
PMPS-504 (pred reduced in half, insulin reduced from 2.0 to s2.0)
+2.5-517
+5.5-485
+6.5-454
AMPS-457

yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=14250

For those who did not catch our pm check in, I took a drop out of Latte's dose, AND decreased her pm steroid dose in half. As I look at her ss this morning, I notice that when her pred was initially increased I also increased her insulin BEFORE a bounce cleared. We did a little juggling of drops (up/down...mostly down) a few cycles after the increase (before getting a clear picture) because of my work schedule and less ability to monitor. Once I increased it back to 2.0 is when you seeing red and black on a daily basis. At the lower dose more yellow and pink...with an occassional red that cleared quickly.

She is not eating great so far this a.m., but did take a few licks of her wet food....which is an improvement in interest over the last few days. There was a little kibble gone over night. She also used her LB in the hallways this morning! She probably should not be, and I may need to take it away (its a higher step in). BUT...this is the first time since friday when she realized it was too hard or hurt too much that she has tried. To me, that is a sign she may be feeling a little better...at least today.

She is on her throne rather than under the piano this a.m. and seemed excited to see me when I woke up.

We go to the vet soon, for a recheck of her urine. I will have to drop her off at home afterwards and will be back just in time for pmps.
 
Re: 5/12 Latte AMPS-457

It sounds like Latte is feeling a little better - I am really glad to hear this. Good luck at the vet today. I hope you and Latte have a really good day today.
 
Re: 5/12 Latte AMPS-457

I'm glad to hear that Latte is feeling a little better. Baby steps are good steps. I'll be thinking of you for the vet visit, I hope it goes well.
 
Re: 5/12 Latte AMPS-457, +2.5~333, +3.5~233, +4.5~276

I certainly hope she is not on her way back up already. Staying put would be a vast improvement.

Vet just did urine culture to make sure the uti is gone.

Noticed a few seconds of sideways walking when she got up a bit ago and my heart stopped. Then she pulled it together. I could only give bupe 2x's today, so she had to go longer w/o this a.m. I cant afford this pain med, so I either have to switch to tramadol or give nothing as soon as I run out (probably by the weekend). Im pretty nervous about it.

She ate 3/4 can wet, some treats, then a small snack of kibble after vet.

I think she had a better a.m. overall, until she had to go to the vet. She is becoming very naughty there. Cant blame her tho.
 
Re: 5/12 Latte AMPS-457, +2.5~333, +3.5~233, +4.5~276

Carolyn,

I don't know if they are available for home use, but you may want to ask about Fentanyl patches. I don't know what they cost, but from what I've read they are long lasting so she would have constant relief. Belle was on Fentanyl at the vet, and she did much better on it than the buprenorphine.

Jason
 
Re: 5/12 Latte AMPS-457, +2.5~333, +3.5~233, +4.5~276

HI Carolyn
Stopping by to check on Latte. Glad you are back from the vet and I hope the results
are good.
 
Re: 5/12 Latte AMPS-457, PMPS~338

AMPS~457 (5mg pred)
*1.5~398
+2.75~332
+3.75~233
+4.5~276
PMPS~338 (2.5mg pred)

Well, if she does not go up much higher OR she stays same/drops than I might feel a little bit of hope.

She finished the rest of her wet food while I was gone, and ther is evidence of maybe a few pieces of kibble gone...but not sure. Water bowls are good, which indicates flat day.

She was sound asleep when I got home, head laying on her pink cat nip pillow. Very excited to see me when she woke. Under cover cuddle time was requested (its been a number of days ). She did have a hard time getting off my bed... off balance and kinda fell over.

bupe is wearing off, but I cant give another dose for a while because of both timing and $.

She is resting very peacefully at the moment.
 
Re: 5/12 Latte AMPS-457, PMPS~338

Sounds like she's had a pretty good day, overall. We're always thinking of you both, Carolyn. You're an amazing mom and an inspiration to us all! We used the Tramadol with Logan after both of his surgeries - we used the bupe for the first couple of days. He did ok on it. It wasn't as strong as the bupe so it didn't make him as woozy but you could tell it at least took the edge off and made him more comfortable.
 
Re: 5/12 Latte AMPS-457, PMPS~338

Sounds like a much better day. Nice appetite, decent numbers, cuddle time, exploring, LB. Glad she's feeling better.
 
Re: 5/12 Latte AMPS-457, PMPS~338

I wonder if you can order bupe via one of the on-line pharmacies where we order insulin from. Obviously, you vet wouldn't have a problem writing the script. If the cost is discounted comparably with Lantus, you'd be paying half the US cost.
 
I had to chuckle a bit ago when Latte was sound asleep and jumped up, ate a little kibble (6 inches from her) and was back in a deep sleep the second she laid back down. This process was under 3 minutes.

Im going to try and remain hopeful here. I know it will take a number of cycles to see how things will play out. We may not find success. But forthe first time in quite a while she has made it over 12hrs w/o dropping or rising 300+ points. She is not getting up every 20 minutes to cry at her water bowl. She is peacefully sleeping.
 
I'm so glad that your little fighter is having a better day. She never ceases to amaze me. Mind you, you never cease to amaze me too. I lovve that she's having such a good sleep. Rest is so important for both of you. Keep it up you guys!
 
can't remember if you are injecting or using bup orally.

do you have this discount card? can get it much cheaper with card:

http://www.petdrugcard.com/index.php

It has been very hard to get around here this winter. my vet had the compounding pharm make some up for oral use ( they have to do some extra steps to make it sterile for injection and that means more $)

anyways...... the real cost is in the compounding. so she had them make me up a bottle of it and is way cheaper than otherwise ( more upfront but long term much much less)
you can get it flavored... but it seems to not have much taste anyways.
pm me if you want the details.

happy to hear she is getting around better.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top