Re: 5/11 Gus AMPS HI;R.25;+2R=599;+3R=HI/R.25;+2R=420;+3R=31
Bev, just wanted to stop by to offer some support. One look at Gus' spreadsheet is enough to tip anyone off to the amount of frustration you must be feeling. Those of us who have been around for years have watched kitties reach higher doses many, many times. Dental problems can certainly cause numbers to rise. No doubt about it. Some diabetic cats do require that much insulin before reaching a breakthrough dose, but it is often a sign that something else is going on. Although we may discover that Gus is just a diabetic requiring more insulin than others, it is time to prepare for other possibilities.
One possibility is that Gus does have acromegaly. Acromegaly is a tumor of the pituitary gland that produces excess growth hormone. It causes growth to the body and internal organs. The hormone also binds with the insulin the cat produces (acrocats have a normal functioning pancreas) and causes the same high bgs seen in a diabetic cat.
The only way to be sure if a cat has acro is to test IGF-1. Your vet would draw a blood sample and send it to Michigan State University. We recommend that the cat be tested for insulin auto antibodies (IAA) at the same time. The tests can be done on the same blood sample and you save shipping and handling charges. MSU charges about $50 for the IGF-1 and around $15 for the IAA test, but each vet adds his own processing and shipping charge. One of the caregivers mentioned her vet charging $100 to draw blood and ship the sample. Obviously these fees will vary from vet to vet.
In the past, acro was considered very rare and most vets don't think of it. Current research shows that as many as 30% of cats diagnosed with diabetes actually have acromegaly. Because it isn't on the list of possibilities in the minds of most vets, you would need to ask him to have the test done. Most vets look at you like you're crazy when you ask to have your kitty tested. Just tell him to just humor you and do it. Here's some links to more information:
Acromegaly and Other High Dose Conditions: What We Know
Acromegaly-- The Basics
There is no need to rush any of this. The insulin plan is the same whether Gus has acro or not. We still work up the dosing scale for lantus just as we have been as well as using R to give a boost as needed. The goal of treatment is different with an acrocat - you are striving for a well regulated cat with bgs below the renal threshold, not a tightly regulated cat heading for OTJ. Regulation is a very realistic goal with acros. Once you get to a dose giving good numbers, it is relatively easy to keep them there using
some of the same principles used in the TR protocol. Acrocats vary considerably in how much insulin they need - some do well at 6-7 units. Some need much, much more. The goal is to give Gus as much insulin as he needs... however much that might be... whether he has a High Dose condition or not.
In case you missed it, a couple weeks ago Libby posted some thoughts on acromegaly in Jazzy's condo along with links to some very well regulated acro kitties spreadsheets. Here's the link:
4/30 Jazzy AMPS 241, PMPS 234 PLUS thoughts on Acromegaly
Please remember that Gus is the same sweet boy today that he was yesterday and will be tomorrow. He can't read bg numbers and could care less what his diagnosis is. He just expects you to love him and care for him like you have always done.